Print Thread
Page 2 of 2 1 2
Re: a noob in need of advice [Re: LSCG] #12198069 04/13/17 08:22 PM
E
erittmueller Offline
Pro Angler
Pro Angler
E
Punch bait smells just like liver does but you don't have to touch it. Much cleaner and works even better than liver.

Eric

Re: a noob in need of advice [Re: LSCG] #12200259 04/15/17 04:12 AM
M
Misha Fisha Offline
Outdoorsman
Outdoorsman
M
A lot of great advices!

Re: a noob in need of advice [Re: LSCG] #12200323 04/15/17 05:57 AM
D
Duckcreek Davy Offline
TFF Celebrity
TFF Celebrity
D
I have been fishing the area you are in for many years especially a creek that flows into the Pedernales just a mile or so downstream. Here's my thoughts. You probably won't have much luck catching shad at that area of the river. I could be wrong, but I haven't observed them there. The very best bait for bass there is a live bluegill. The bigger ones catch the bigger bass. I fish them about 3 feet under a bobber with a small pinch on weight to keep them off the top of the water. The best catfish bait I've ever used there is a big old yellow or green grasshopper. They can't resist them. The river and surrounding creeks have many spots where the water has undercut a ledge in the surrounding caliche stone. This is an excellent spot to fish next to especially in the summer when the cool shade attracts the fish. The low water dams are excellent places to catch catfish, especially at night. Go down to one at night with a flashlight and flip it on. You'll see them stacked up below it waiting for a meal to come over it. Good luck and welcome to the forum.

Dave Morris

"No free man shall ever be debarred the use of arms. The strongest reason for the people to retain the right to keep and bear arms is, as a last resort, to protect themselves against tyranny in government." --Thomas Jefferson,
Re: a noob in need of advice [Re: LSCG] #12207995 04/20/17 04:23 AM
L
LSCG Offline OP
Green Horn
OP Offline
Green Horn
L
thank you all very much!