Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Texancharm, TNRiver, Jason Daniel Outdoors, Globo Kayaker, C.Brown
106754 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 87505
hopalong 78846
Pilothawk 75968
JDavis7873® 67386
John175 � 66147
FattyMcButterpants 60834
Derek 🐝 59257
Tritonman 57841
LoneStarSon® 53996
SkeeterRonnie 53170
facebook
Forum Stats
106754 Members
61 Forums
867022 Topics
12320616 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Topic Options
#12112593 - 02/26/17 08:49 AM Fish Finder Wiring Management ???
Insayn Offline
Green Horn

Registered: 04/10/16
Posts: 2
Loc: Arlington, TX
How do you all manage all the excess wiring from the transducer to the fish finder? I'm running a scupper mount setup for the transducer and the Lowrance is off a center rail right next to the scupper hole. I didn't want to attempt to splice the wiring because I didn't know if that was feasible.


Edited by Insayn (02/26/17 09:03 AM)

Top
#12114718 - 02/27/17 01:46 PM Re: Fish Finder Wiring Management ??? [Re: Insayn]
Searsay Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 07/26/12
Posts: 238
Loc: Lewisville TX
velcro smile

Top
#12114850 - 02/27/17 03:01 PM Re: Fish Finder Wiring Management ??? [Re: Insayn]
Flippin-Out Online   content
Extreme Angler

Registered: 02/25/15
Posts: 2107
Loc: Magnolia, TX
Never ever cut a transducer cable. You ruin it if you do. 1) the signal voltage is only a tiny tiny fraction of a volt that will be wrecked by a splice. 2) A splice causes an impedance discontinuity, resulting in signal reflection that becomes "noise" to the system.

When you bundle the cable, try to do it in fewer long loops instead of a lot of short ones. The cable is shielded but it is still better to not push the limit by creating a high signal noise environment from wadding a lot of cable up in a tight bundle.

I have fished a long slender cable bundle into a section of inexpensive flex bilge hose ( 1 1/8 or 1 1/4 inch, looks similar to vacuum cleaner hose).

Top
#12238233 - 05/09/17 03:26 PM Re: Fish Finder Wiring Management ??? [Re: Insayn]
BankBassin Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 02/14/11
Posts: 1187
Loc: Allen, Texas 75002
I have my cable looped and then velcro'd. I have tie down bungee cord that came on the kayak in the very front. I use that to strap the looped cable down and it keeps it from going all over the place.
_________________________
~You won't catch any fish if you don't try!

http://bankbassin.weebly.com/

Top
#12238266 - 05/09/17 03:52 PM Re: Fish Finder Wiring Management ??? [Re: Insayn]
Tallgrass05 Online   content
bill maher's protege

Registered: 03/02/05
Posts: 41887
Loc: Kansas
Looped and out of the way in the bow.


Top
#12298067 - 06/16/17 09:27 PM Re: Fish Finder Wiring Management ??? [Re: Insayn]
BigDozer66 Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 03/20/12
Posts: 1479
Loc: Lufkin, Texas USA
I used a Yak Attack CelBlock to mount mine and wrapped the cord around the built in wire holders and then ty-wrapped them to keep them tight.

The fish finder folks need to make shorter transducer cables for Yak fishers as we don't need 30' of cord! noidea
_________________________
"...one Nation under God, indivisible, with liberty and justice for all."


Top



© 1998-2017 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide