Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Jbuhrk, Mason S., WesTex47, NYTexan, RichConroe
106363 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 86922
hopalong 78792
Pilothawk 75572
JDavis7873® 67385
John175 ® 65729
FattyMcButterpants 60793
Derek 🐝 58859
Tritonman 57721
LoneStarSon® 53707
SkeeterRonnie 53103
facebook
Forum Stats
106363 Members
61 Forums
861948 Topics
12251096 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Topic Options
#12028069 - 01/08/17 04:21 PM 110V AC to 12V DC transformer to use Lowrance HDS indoors
jroush Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 12/05/16
Posts: 30
I was wondering if anyone has ever tried to use a 110V AC to 12V DC transformer to power a depth finder for use indoors? I was thinking you could just cut and strip the output and connect the Lowrance power source connector. Thoughts?

Top
#12028077 - 01/08/17 04:24 PM Re: 110V AC to 12V DC transformer to use Lowrance HDS indoors [Re: jroush]
joebass2 Offline
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 12/11/04
Posts: 3926
Loc: Lewisville, texas
I use my motorcycle battery charger.

Top
#12028167 - 01/08/17 05:08 PM Re: 110V AC to 12V DC transformer to use Lowrance HDS indoors [Re: jroush]
LittleGazoo Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 10/22/10
Posts: 856
Loc: Big Sandy, TX
I have a Burton 12v 15amp converter and it does not seem compatible with my HDS 12's. Still debugging. Meter indicates voltage and amps good. Screen touch response is random to non functional. Currently running off small battery with a charger.

Also I use a male/female cigarette plugs on wiring.

Top
#12028197 - 01/08/17 05:15 PM Re: 110V AC to 12V DC transformer to use Lowrance HDS indoors [Re: jroush]
Andy W Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 01/13/11
Posts: 587
Loc: Royse City, Texas
I use one that I got from radio shack. You need one that is rated for more than 2amps. I also recommend installing a fuse for protection.
_________________________
When I go fishing, I keep it reel

Entech Sales & Services- www.entechsales.com
World Tech Automotive- www.worldtechautomotive.com
Grubbs Motorsports- www.grubbsmotorsports.com

Top
#12028285 - 01/08/17 05:44 PM Re: 110V AC to 12V DC transformer to use Lowrance HDS indoors [Re: jroush]
Clark Reehm Offline
Angler

Registered: 11/18/09
Posts: 453
Loc: East Texas/West Louisiana
Lowrance makes a cable that plugs into a cigarette lighter. It is called a CA-8 cable. You can buy that cable and an inverter to plug into an outlet for about $60 on Amazon. I usually show most of my clients this trick. It works perfectly for those wanting to manage waypoints on weekends like this without having to sit out in the elements.

Top
#12028293 - 01/08/17 05:47 PM Re: 110V AC to 12V DC transformer to use Lowrance HDS indoors [Re: jroush]
mbalb61 Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 01/25/12
Posts: 63
Loc: Illinois
These are the items I purchased thru Amazon. Works for Lowrance HDS units.


Wagan 5 Amp AC to 12V DC Power Adapter

Lowrance CA-8 Cigarette Plug Power Cable

Top
#12028534 - 01/08/17 07:01 PM Re: 110V AC to 12V DC transformer to use Lowrance HDS indoors [Re: jroush]
Fishspanker Offline
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 01/19/08
Posts: 6916
Loc: Island of Jeff (Humble)
I use one that came from radio shack and the standard HB power cord.
_________________________
A Nation of Sheep will soon have a government of Wolves.

Top
#12028559 - 01/08/17 07:12 PM Re: 110V AC to 12V DC transformer to use Lowrance HDS indoors [Re: jroush]
bowfin Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 08/17/07
Posts: 1670
Loc: - east tx. wood co.
Would any of the power adapters work on 12 volt led lights ?

Top
#12029108 - 01/09/17 07:05 AM Re: 110V AC to 12V DC transformer to use Lowrance HDS indoors [Re: Andy W]
ring fry Online   content
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 10/25/02
Posts: 5621
Loc: Fort Scott, Ks.
Originally Posted By: Andy W
I use one that I got from radio shack. You need one that is rated for more than 2amps. I also recommend installing a fuse for protection.


^^^This^^^

SE Kansas grass grower
_________________________
2008 NCAA Mens Basketball Champions
GO JAYHAWKS


Top
#12029188 - 01/09/17 08:01 AM Re: 110V AC to 12V DC transformer to use Lowrance HDS indoors [Re: jroush]
lipjerk Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 03/04/09
Posts: 2274
Loc: Lantana,Tx
I got a power cable, stripped the ends, put alligator clips on it, and hooked it up to the Polaris Ranger battery. I sit on my azz and mark waypoints, and adjust all settings as needed, pretty cool. I was going to do mine like you want, but this seemed easier for me.

Top
#12029330 - 01/09/17 09:13 AM Re: 110V AC to 12V DC transformer to use Lowrance HDS indoors [Re: lipjerk]
stringwise Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 04/10/16
Posts: 178
Originally Posted By: lipjerk
I got a power cable, stripped the ends, put alligator clips on it, and hooked it up to the Polaris Ranger battery. I sit on my azz and mark waypoints, and adjust all settings as needed, pretty cool. I was going to do mine like you want, but this seemed easier for me.


This!

Just buy a $14 12v battery like the ones used in Mojo duck decoys. Stip the ends of your power plug on your Lowrance and game on. Used all the time by kayak fisherman. Depending on the size of your Lowrance, it should run for days without needing a charge.

Battery

Top



© 1998-2017 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide