Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
gottaloveit, Plumbassin, Contra, Jph, Jeremyconnor
104824 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 84910
hopalong 77279
Pilothawk 74632
JDavis7873® 67382
John175 ® 63159
FattyMcButterpants 60665
Derek 🐝 57569
Tritonman 57449
SkeeterRonnie 52889
LoneStarSon® 52808
facebook
Forum Stats
104824 Members
60 Forums
841404 Topics
12004260 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Topic Options
#12028069 - 01/08/17 04:21 PM 110V AC to 12V DC transformer to use Lowrance HDS indoors
jroush Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 12/05/16
Posts: 23
I was wondering if anyone has ever tried to use a 110V AC to 12V DC transformer to power a depth finder for use indoors? I was thinking you could just cut and strip the output and connect the Lowrance power source connector. Thoughts?

Top
#12028077 - 01/08/17 04:24 PM Re: 110V AC to 12V DC transformer to use Lowrance HDS indoors [Re: jroush]
joebass2 Online   content
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 12/11/04
Posts: 3732
Loc: Lewisville, texas
I use my motorcycle battery charger.

Top
#12028167 - 01/08/17 05:08 PM Re: 110V AC to 12V DC transformer to use Lowrance HDS indoors [Re: jroush]
LittleGazoo Online   content
Pro Angler

Registered: 10/22/10
Posts: 828
Loc: Big Sandy, TX
I have a Burton 12v 15amp converter and it does not seem compatible with my HDS 12's. Still debugging. Meter indicates voltage and amps good. Screen touch response is random to non functional. Currently running off small battery with a charger.

Also I use a male/female cigarette plugs on wiring.

Top
#12028197 - 01/08/17 05:15 PM Re: 110V AC to 12V DC transformer to use Lowrance HDS indoors [Re: jroush]
Andy W Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 01/13/11
Posts: 582
Loc: Royse City, Texas
I use one that I got from radio shack. You need one that is rated for more than 2amps. I also recommend installing a fuse for protection.
_________________________
When I go fishing, I keep it reel

Entech Sales & Services- www.entechsales.com
World Tech Automotive- www.worldtechautomotive.com
Grubbs Motorsports- www.grubbsmotorsports.com

Top
#12028285 - 01/08/17 05:44 PM Re: 110V AC to 12V DC transformer to use Lowrance HDS indoors [Re: jroush]
Clark Reehm Offline
Angler

Registered: 11/18/09
Posts: 449
Loc: East Texas
Lowrance makes a cable that plugs into a cigarette lighter. It is called a CA-8 cable. You can buy that cable and an inverter to plug into an outlet for about $60 on Amazon. I usually show most of my clients this trick. It works perfectly for those wanting to manage waypoints on weekends like this without having to sit out in the elements.
_________________________

Top
#12028293 - 01/08/17 05:47 PM Re: 110V AC to 12V DC transformer to use Lowrance HDS indoors [Re: jroush]
mbalb61 Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 01/25/12
Posts: 62
Loc: Illinois
These are the items I purchased thru Amazon. Works for Lowrance HDS units.


Wagan 5 Amp AC to 12V DC Power Adapter

Lowrance CA-8 Cigarette Plug Power Cable

Top
#12028534 - 01/08/17 07:01 PM Re: 110V AC to 12V DC transformer to use Lowrance HDS indoors [Re: jroush]
Fishspanker Online   content
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 01/19/08
Posts: 6825
Loc: Island of Jeff (Humble)
I use one that came from radio shack and the standard HB power cord.
_________________________
A Nation of Sheep will soon have a government of Wolves.

Top
#12028559 - 01/08/17 07:12 PM Re: 110V AC to 12V DC transformer to use Lowrance HDS indoors [Re: jroush]
bowfin Online   content
Extreme Angler

Registered: 08/17/07
Posts: 1617
Loc: - east tx. wood co.
Would any of the power adapters work on 12 volt led lights ?

Top
#12029108 - 01/09/17 07:05 AM Re: 110V AC to 12V DC transformer to use Lowrance HDS indoors [Re: Andy W]
ring fry Offline
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 10/25/02
Posts: 5580
Loc: Fort Scott, Ks.
Originally Posted By: Andy W
I use one that I got from radio shack. You need one that is rated for more than 2amps. I also recommend installing a fuse for protection.


^^^This^^^

SE Kansas grass grower
_________________________
2008 NCAA Mens Basketball Champions
GO JAYHAWKS


Top
#12029188 - 01/09/17 08:01 AM Re: 110V AC to 12V DC transformer to use Lowrance HDS indoors [Re: jroush]
lipjerk Online   content
Extreme Angler

Registered: 03/04/09
Posts: 2014
Loc: Lantana,Tx
I got a power cable, stripped the ends, put alligator clips on it, and hooked it up to the Polaris Ranger battery. I sit on my azz and mark waypoints, and adjust all settings as needed, pretty cool. I was going to do mine like you want, but this seemed easier for me.

Top
#12029330 - 01/09/17 09:13 AM Re: 110V AC to 12V DC transformer to use Lowrance HDS indoors [Re: lipjerk]
stringwise Online   content
Outdoorsman

Registered: 04/10/16
Posts: 116
Originally Posted By: lipjerk
I got a power cable, stripped the ends, put alligator clips on it, and hooked it up to the Polaris Ranger battery. I sit on my azz and mark waypoints, and adjust all settings as needed, pretty cool. I was going to do mine like you want, but this seemed easier for me.


This!

Just buy a $14 12v battery like the ones used in Mojo duck decoys. Stip the ends of your power plug on your Lowrance and game on. Used all the time by kayak fisherman. Depending on the size of your Lowrance, it should run for days without needing a charge.

Battery

Top



© 1998-2017 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide