Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Jstdad, Lakesniper, Coach Blalock, Colt_haus, fritzcallier
104780 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 84851
hopalong 77212
Pilothawk 74577
JDavis7873® 67382
John175 ® 63062
FattyMcButterpants 60663
Derek 🐝 57534
Tritonman 57445
SkeeterRonnie 52884
LoneStarSon® 52768
facebook
Forum Stats
104780 Members
60 Forums
840793 Topics
11996663 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#12026878 - 01/07/17 09:13 PM Lowrance Point 1 GPS and HDS GPS
j791 Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 03/07/12
Posts: 170
Loc: Georgetown Texas
Question, If I am using an HDS unit with a Point 1 antenna from the center console...when I set a waypoint is the waypoint location at the Point 1 location/center console or the transducer location at the back of the boat? I am marking brush piles but when I use my bow mounted HDS with a trolling motor transducer the brush does not show up on the waypoint. I am thinking this is because the waypoint location is from either the Point 1 location at the center of the boat or the transom transducer location at the rear of the boat. If so, does this mean my bow mounted HDS unit should be set to "This Unit" for GPS...as opposed to Point 1? I have the bow mounted HDS trolling motor transducer set to "This unit" but not the GPS.



Edited by j791 (01/07/17 09:43 PM)
_________________________

Top
#12026930 - 01/07/17 09:38 PM Re: Lowrance Point 1 GPS and HDS GPS [Re: j791]
shut-up-and-fish Online   content
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 02/08/10
Posts: 9422
Loc: Coppell Tx.

At the antenna
_________________________


It's all coming together and we have you covered @ Shut-Up-And-Fish LLC
for all your Humminbird, Minn Kota & Motorguide needs.
We install & educate as well!!! 972 822 9285


Top
#12026945 - 01/07/17 09:48 PM Re: Lowrance Point 1 GPS and HDS GPS [Re: j791]
j791 Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 03/07/12
Posts: 170
Loc: Georgetown Texas
Ok, if my waypoints are at the antenna then when I pull up the waypoints on my bow mounted HDS that means the brush I marked is several feet behind me...at the center console/Point 1 location. If I change my bow mounted HDS GPS setting to "This Unit", will the waypoint location adjust to the trolling motor transducer location?
_________________________

Top
#12026966 - 01/07/17 10:05 PM Re: Lowrance Point 1 GPS and HDS GPS [Re: j791]
SLABmeSILLY Offline
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 05/31/06
Posts: 6752
Loc: Arlington
I used to have 2 Point One antennas. Each is basically above the transducer respectively. Although I only use the Gen3 head unit antenna at my bow, I still use the Point One at transom above my transducer for the console unit. Pretty accurate no matter which unit I found the brushpile from.
_________________________


Top
#12026973 - 01/07/17 10:14 PM Re: Lowrance Point 1 GPS and HDS GPS [Re: j791]
j791 Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 03/07/12
Posts: 170
Loc: Georgetown Texas
Thank you for the replies, that is what I needed to know. I will make sure and set my bow HDS unit to "This unit" to ensure I am using the HDS GPS as opposed to the center console Point 1.
_________________________

Top
#12026983 - 01/07/17 10:22 PM Re: Lowrance Point 1 GPS and HDS GPS [Re: j791]
UJC Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 01/12/07
Posts: 1911
Loc: Plano, TX
You are correct to mark the bow unit 'This Unit' for GPS - just confirming for you.

Top
#12026998 - 01/07/17 10:31 PM Re: Lowrance Point 1 GPS and HDS GPS [Re: UJC]
j791 Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 03/07/12
Posts: 170
Loc: Georgetown Texas
Originally Posted By: UJC
You are correct to mark the bow unit 'This Unit' for GPS - just confirming for you.


Thanks, I appreciate it.
_________________________

Top
#12027369 - 01/08/17 09:34 AM Re: Lowrance Point 1 GPS and HDS GPS [Re: j791]
DPDALAN Offline
Angler

Registered: 10/22/09
Posts: 253
Loc: LAKE ATHENS TX
i have a point 1 at the rear over my transducer. I am thinking about adding another to the front, just for compass feature. Anybody had any trouble with their network with two point 1's installed?
_________________________

Top
#12027396 - 01/08/17 09:58 AM Re: Lowrance Point 1 GPS and HDS GPS [Re: j791]
Buz Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 02/26/14
Posts: 94
Loc: Frisco, Texas
Maybe I'm missing something here, but worse case accuracy error of where the brush pile is actually located would be the full length of the boat based of the location of the antenna, in the bow or stern, or roughly half the length of the boat if the antenna is mounted in or around the console.

Top
#12027429 - 01/08/17 10:19 AM Re: Lowrance Point 1 GPS and HDS GPS [Re: DPDALAN]
SLABmeSILLY Offline
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 05/31/06
Posts: 6752
Loc: Arlington
Originally Posted By: DPDALAN
i have a point 1 at the rear over my transducer. I am thinking about adding another to the front, just for compass feature. Anybody had any trouble with their network with two point 1's installed?

I had two Point One antennas on a single NMEA 2000 system for a long time. I feel as though the Gen3 (or later which is the Carbon) is a bit more accurate. However the Point One is better when you need to reverse as the direction of your boat icon won't change (this is also known as "Heading Sensor"). I would be nice if there is a economical add-on to the head unit so that it would have heading sensor without the installation of the POINT One antenna.

If you are to install two Point One antennas on a single system (which is recommended, and make sure there is only ONE power supply to the NMEA 2000 network), Here are must do settings:

1) Name your antennas...ie. FRONT POINT1 & REAR POINT1
2) Go to Network, select "Data Source", select GPS, select the assigned POINT1 antenna to that HDS unit, change setting to "LOCAL", not GLOBAL.
3) Set Instance of both Heading Sensors to "1" (meaning within each settings of the POINT1 antenna)

Next, calibrate both antennas...
NOTE:...don't forget to update your POINT One antenna to the latest update from LOWRANCE website. While you are at it, don't forget to also update your HDS units to the latest software as well.

This should keep the assigned antenna to its respect HDS head unit, but make sure that the head unit are located in the same location everytime (assuming you have two of the same size HDS units for front and back. It is a recommended to rename your HDS unit to something with FRONT and REAR as well).
To check if your HDS is assigned to the correct Point One antenna, go back to "Network", "Data Source", GPS. Checking this info periodically is a good idea to have accurate GPS waypoints assign and go to!
_________________________


Top
#12027496 - 01/08/17 11:00 AM Re: Lowrance Point 1 GPS and HDS GPS [Re: j791]
DPDALAN Offline
Angler

Registered: 10/22/09
Posts: 253
Loc: LAKE ATHENS TX
Great info thanks.
_________________________

Top
#12028390 - 01/08/17 06:18 PM Re: Lowrance Point 1 GPS and HDS GPS [Re: DPDALAN]
akaslyguy Offline
Green Horn

Registered: 05/20/14
Posts: 11
Originally Posted By: DPDALAN
i have a point 1 at the rear over my transducer. I am thinking about adding another to the front, just for compass feature. Anybody had any trouble with their network with two point 1's installed?


Don't bother installing another point-1 at the bow. As long as the bow unit is connected to the NMEA network, you only have to turn on the "heading extention line" on the bow unit. You can share the heading sensor of the point 1 to more than one unit.

Top
#12029036 - 01/09/17 04:55 AM Re: Lowrance Point 1 GPS and HDS GPS [Re: akaslyguy]
j791 Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 03/07/12
Posts: 170
Loc: Georgetown Texas
Originally Posted By: akaslyguy
Originally Posted By: DPDALAN
i have a point 1 at the rear over my transducer. I am thinking about adding another to the front, just for compass feature. Anybody had any trouble with their network with two point 1's installed?


Don't bother installing another point-1 at the bow. As long as the bow unit is connected to the NMEA network, you only have to turn on the "heading extention line" on the bow unit. You can share the heading sensor of the point 1 to more than one unit.


So does this mean you can set the bow to "This Unit" for GPS purposes but separately use the Point 1 heading sensor as long as it's connected to the NEMA system?
_________________________

Top
#12029063 - 01/09/17 05:58 AM Re: Lowrance Point 1 GPS and HDS GPS [Re: j791]
Gamblinman Online   content
Extreme Angler

Registered: 11/26/02
Posts: 2354
Loc: Yantis, TX
Originally Posted By: j791
Originally Posted By: akaslyguy
Originally Posted By: DPDALAN
i have a point 1 at the rear over my transducer. I am thinking about adding another to the front, just for compass feature. Anybody had any trouble with their network with two point 1's installed?


Don't bother installing another point-1 at the bow. As long as the bow unit is connected to the NMEA network, you only have to turn on the "heading extention line" on the bow unit. You can share the heading sensor of the point 1 to more than one unit.


So does this mean you can set the bow to "This Unit" for GPS purposes but separately use the Point 1 heading sensor as long as it's connected to the NEMA system?



exactly
_________________________


Top
#12029253 - 01/09/17 08:31 AM Re: Lowrance Point 1 GPS and HDS GPS [Re: Gamblinman]
SLABmeSILLY Offline
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 05/31/06
Posts: 6752
Loc: Arlington
Originally Posted By: Gamblinman
Originally Posted By: j791
Originally Posted By: akaslyguy
Originally Posted By: DPDALAN
i have a point 1 at the rear over my transducer. I am thinking about adding another to the front, just for compass feature. Anybody had any trouble with their network with two point 1's installed?


Don't bother installing another point-1 at the bow. As long as the bow unit is connected to the NMEA network, you only have to turn on the "heading extention line" on the bow unit. You can share the heading sensor of the point 1 to more than one unit.


So does this mean you can set the bow to "This Unit" for GPS purposes but separately use the Point 1 heading sensor as long as it's connected to the NEMA system?



exactly

geat point!
_________________________


Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >



© 1998-2017 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide