Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
yeepyeep, bfb, Kcid, B-Rock, Bassgirl81
104842 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 84917
hopalong 77286
Pilothawk 74632
JDavis7873® 67382
John175 ® 63174
FattyMcButterpants 60665
Derek 🐝 57570
Tritonman 57450
SkeeterRonnie 52889
LoneStarSon® 52814
facebook
Forum Stats
104842 Members
60 Forums
841494 Topics
12005243 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Topic Options
#11996086 - 12/20/16 10:32 PM Lowrance down scan question
johnnlucky Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 07/17/05
Posts: 1312
Loc: Lewisville
This question may have been answered before. Just can't find the answer. I have a Lowrance Elite -7 HDI. The down scan is not working. The screen is 95% black with a line of another color at the top. Would the High Definition Transducer be broken? My GPS works and the regular sonar works correctly. Anyone have a suggestion? My thoughts, power shortage or broken transducer??? I added a picture. It looks like a line around 15 feet but i could not see that. I think it is a shadow. Just the red / pink line at the top of graph.
Thank you for your help.
_________________________
Johnnlucky




Top
#11996090 - 12/20/16 10:37 PM Re: Lowrance down scan question [Re: johnnlucky]
johnnlucky Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 07/17/05
Posts: 1312
Loc: Lewisville
I called Lowrance today. It was suggested that I save my waypoints and then do a hard restart or reset. And was given several options to send my unit in and get a new unit. But it would not include a new transducer. I the new units would be at a reduced cost. Has anyone done this? Lowrance Hook 9 for $275, TI for $325,HDS 7 gen 3 but i think i would need a different transducer. Any help and suggestions would be appreciated. thank you, John
_________________________
Johnnlucky




Top
#11996227 - 12/21/16 06:56 AM Re: Lowrance down scan question [Re: johnnlucky]
javelin150 Online   content
Pro Angler

Registered: 03/19/06
Posts: 796
Loc: Waco, TX
I would try the reset first. Your HDI transducer would work with any of those graphs listed.

Top
#11996349 - 12/21/16 08:24 AM Re: Lowrance down scan question [Re: johnnlucky]
shut-up-and-fish Online   content
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 02/08/10
Posts: 9431
Loc: Coppell Tx.

Try the factory reset 1st.

If you go with the upgrade keep in mind that it will be a re-manufactured unit, not brand new....
_________________________


It's all coming together and we have you covered @ Shut-Up-And-Fish LLC
for all your Humminbird, Minn Kota & Motorguide needs.
We install & educate as well!!! 972 822 9285


Top
#11996380 - 12/21/16 08:36 AM Re: Lowrance down scan question [Re: johnnlucky]
BBGmarine.com Offline
Angler

Registered: 07/21/10
Posts: 488
Loc: USA
Do the hard reset as instructed. If there's no change, it may be the transducer is the issue so upgrading the head unit only will not solve that problem. The HDI transducer sells for around $100.

Brian
_________________________
At BBG Marine Electronics we carry All major brands of GPS/Fishfinders, Minn Kota and MotorGuide trolling motors, battery chargers and all the other accessories you may need.



www.BBGMARINE.COM


Top
#11996764 - 12/21/16 12:24 PM Re: Lowrance down scan question [Re: johnnlucky]
snowyriver6 Online   content
Extreme Angler

Registered: 02/19/08
Posts: 2264
Loc: austin
I may have an extra elite 7 hdi transducer you can have if you want it. Just pay me the shippingThe bracket broke on mine and I repalced it with a new one and the boat mechanic said to hold on to the old one as he saw you could change out the bracket so I really didnt need a new one. So I believe I still have it in the garage

Top
#11997557 - 12/21/16 07:19 PM Re: Lowrance down scan question [Re: snowyriver6]
TxRanger1 Offline
Angler

Registered: 12/31/15
Posts: 266
Loc: Humble,Tx
Originally Posted By: snowyriver6
I may have an extra elite 7 hdi transducer you can have if you want it. Just pay me the shippingThe bracket broke on mine and I repalced it with a new one and the boat mechanic said to hold on to the old one as he saw you could change out the bracket so I really didnt need a new one. So I believe I still have it in the garage

There's a good man right there.

Top
#11998517 - 12/22/16 11:55 AM Re: Lowrance down scan question [Re: johnnlucky]
johnnlucky Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 07/17/05
Posts: 1312
Loc: Lewisville
Wow, that you for the advice. I really enjoy the great people I meet and (talk to ) on TFF. SnowyRiver6. I would take you up on the offer. I will PM you my address and pay for Shipping. ++ cash. I plan on doing the hard restart this weekend but might be tough with Christmas. I didn't know the unit offered would be re-conditioned. So great info there. Again thank you. JOhn
_________________________
Johnnlucky




Top
#12013771 - 01/01/17 01:40 AM Re: Lowrance down scan question [Re: johnnlucky]
johnnlucky Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 07/17/05
Posts: 1312
Loc: Lewisville
Thank you everyone. I tested the new transducer with great results. Thank you. I owe you money and will be mailing you a check. This Transducer is very valuable. I sent a PM. Thank you Snowyriver6. But I will pay more than postage. thank you. Happy New year.

_________________________
Johnnlucky




Top



© 1998-2017 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide