Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Midland RV & Boat Storage, GoHappy Fishing, Griffs, Rob Campbell, Thomas101
102715 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 82862
hopalong 74389
Pilothawk 73427
JDavis7873® 67377
FattyMcButterpants 60518
John175 ® 59877
Tritonman 56823
Derek 56401
SkeeterRonnie 52453
LoneStarSon® 52221
facebook
Forum Stats
102715 Members
61 Forums
858984 Topics
11268602 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Topic Options
#11937296 - 11/16/16 02:20 PM Just got my first kayak and having a little trouble
Crappie_king Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 02/01/15
Posts: 24
Loc: Pilot point
So I picked up my first kayak this weekend and bought a lowrance 4x chirp fish finder. Well I had been watching YouTube videos of how to mount the transducer in hull but took it out today and I couldn't get any reading my 2d gave some but wasn't picking up the bottom I got home and realized the sealant I used was cover a lot of the bottom of the transducer so I figured that's why I wasn't getting anything do y'all have a different way of mounting it inside the hull?
This is my rig
_________________________
"Give a man a fish and he will eat for a day, teach a him to fish and he will sit on a boat a drink beer all day"

Top
#11937297 - 11/16/16 02:20 PM Re: Just got my first kayak and having a little trouble [Re: Crappie_king]
Crappie_king Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 02/01/15
Posts: 24
Loc: Pilot point
I guess my picture didn't load lol
_________________________
"Give a man a fish and he will eat for a day, teach a him to fish and he will sit on a boat a drink beer all day"

Top
#11937400 - 11/16/16 03:29 PM Re: Just got my first kayak and having a little trouble [Re: Crappie_king]
Green Fish Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 07/18/14
Posts: 39
Sounds like you may have air bubbles in the goop between the transducer and the kayak. Any air bubbles will compromise your reading. Might be worth a trip to a kayak store, like AC&K, and let them look at it or do it for you.

Top
#11937587 - 11/16/16 05:47 PM Re: Just got my first kayak and having a little trouble [Re: Green Fish]
JJ4MEL Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 01/21/09
Posts: 959
Loc: McKinney, TX
Originally Posted By: Green Fish
Sounds like you may have air bubbles in the goop between the transducer and the kayak. Any air bubbles will compromise your reading. Might be worth a trip to a kayak store, like AC&K, and let them look at it or do it for you.


My thoughts too, but we do not have any ACK in North Texas. I would suggest clean it all up and try again, or take it by Mariner Sails or another kayak shop for help.

Top
#11937908 - 11/16/16 09:09 PM Re: Just got my first kayak and having a little trouble [Re: Crappie_king]
lostinthewoods Offline
Green Horn

Registered: 09/02/12
Posts: 17
Loc: Ft Worth, Texas
Try the flowable silicone they sell for fixing windshield leaks, no air bubbles.

Top
#11941310 - 11/19/16 04:59 AM Re: Just got my first kayak and having a little trouble [Re: Crappie_king]
kickingback Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 08/13/13
Posts: 807
Loc: Texas
If you have to mount inside use a tube of Goop and a piece of cardboard curled into a circle. Place your ducer where you want it. Put the cardboard circle around the ducer and empty the Goop around the ducer until it fills the circle around the ducer and the level of Goop is about half way covering your ducer. Make sure no bubbles when applying if you get bubbles use a toothpick to pick them out but you shouldn't have any if you squeeze the tube slowly.
Let it dry and your done.
The best bet is to get a telescoping arm to mount to side of yak and you can move the sonar between other yaks as needed.
_________________________
USAF Retired and Fishing!


Top
#11941573 - 11/19/16 10:20 AM Re: Just got my first kayak and having a little trouble [Re: Crappie_king]
Crazy4oldcars Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 08/15/08
Posts: 1082
Loc: Silsbee (Southeast Texas)
Lexel makes a clear sealant that is thinner and more transparent than goop or silicone sealer. I found it on Amazon.
I built a box shape just a little bigger than my transducer, and contoured to the bottom of my kayak. I glued that down with goop and let it dry. Then I gently squirted enough Lexel in the box to about half fill the box and pushed the transducer into it down to about the mid-line. Make sure the cable isn't pulling it around, and give it at least a day to cure. Check on it every couple of hours at first to make sure the 'ducer didn't shift.
From my research, the Lexel gives less degradation of signal than silicone. Goop shrinks way too much as it dries to be a good media for this purpose.
Good luck!

Kirk B.
_________________________


"The cheese in the mousetrap is ALWAYS free"

Top
#11942390 - 11/19/16 09:45 PM Re: Just got my first kayak and having a little trouble [Re: Crappie_king]
doctorliver Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 10/10/10
Posts: 80
Loc: Cypress, Texas
I had the same issue. I finally went ahead and rigged up the transducer to go directly into the water rather than through the hull. Problem solved.
_________________________
Tom

Top
#11942394 - 11/19/16 09:47 PM Re: Just got my first kayak and having a little trouble [Re: Crappie_king]
Tallgrass05 Online   content
bill maher's protege

Registered: 03/02/05
Posts: 39932
Loc: Kansas
Transducer arm over the side. No muss, no fuss.
_________________________

Top
#11942636 - 11/20/16 07:47 AM Re: Just got my first kayak and having a little trouble [Re: Crappie_king]
JCG57 Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 05/08/02
Posts: 847
Loc: DFW
I cut out a section of an old flip flop in the shape of the transducer, only about an inch larger in diameter. Then, cut a cavity in the piece in same shape and size as transducer so that the transducer would fit snuggly inside. Glued the piece to the bottom of the kayak. When I want to use my sonar, I just put a little bit of water in the cavity then push the transduced down into it until water starts to squirt up the side. Works great, and I can remove the transducer anytime I want to.

Top
#11943083 - 11/20/16 12:20 PM Re: Just got my first kayak and having a little trouble [Re: Crappie_king]
YAKnIT Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 08/26/12
Posts: 134
As other have said, it's probably air bubbles. After you've poured the glue into place, get a bright flashlight and check it for air bubbles. If there are any bubbles visible you have to get them out. I stuck a sewing needle into the glue and got rid the few bubbles. My transducer has been glued in place for about 2 years with o trouble. I would also recommend picking a spot in the hull that's strong and won't flex. If the hull flexes then the glue may separate and it will stop working.

Top
#11947019 - 11/22/16 06:30 PM Re: Just got my first kayak and having a little trouble [Re: Crappie_king]
Captain Yakker Online   content
Outdoorsman

Registered: 05/22/04
Posts: 28
Loc: The Colony, TX
When updating the shoot through hull in the back of my bass boat, I used epoxy. The one trick I was given for eliminating bubbles is to apply the adhesive, place the transducer and give it a slight twist right and left. I had no problems with my install.
_________________________
fishin to stock Lake Crisco

Top



© 1998-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide