Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Drewski81, Tucker01, Bigfish117, Crappie Hound, Bass_elite
103168 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 83695
hopalong 74991
Pilothawk 73819
JDavis7873® 67378
John175 ® 61101
FattyMcButterpants 60593
Tritonman 57174
Derek 56843
SkeeterRonnie 52571
LoneStarSon® 52419
facebook
Forum Stats
103168 Members
62 Forums
865569 Topics
11362474 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
#11910313 - 10/31/16 03:43 PM Tie to Bridge Pillions
Sirjet Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 09/14/09
Posts: 908
Loc: Duncanville
I went out Saturday on my tube. I was wondering if any of you guys tie to the bridge pillions? I had a great time jigging for crappie. But spent a lot of time fighting the wind.
_________________________
Marine 4 Life



"#1 God #2 Family #3 Fishing #4 Fishing #5 Fishing
JET



Top
#11911804 - 11/01/16 04:16 PM Re: Tie to Bridge Pillions [Re: Sirjet]
MulGogiHunter Offline
Angler

Registered: 01/24/14
Posts: 290
Loc: Grand Prairie, TX
Sorry I couldn't join you. I tie up on them with just a length of rope, piece of pipe insulation and a carabiner.

I'm sure others have a much better method/setup but this works for me considering I don't go much. Plus it didn't cost me anything but 5 minutes to make.
_________________________
-John

Top
#11911810 - 11/01/16 04:19 PM Re: Tie to Bridge Pillions [Re: Sirjet]
MulGogiHunter Offline
Angler

Registered: 01/24/14
Posts: 290
Loc: Grand Prairie, TX
And you could use two carbiners (one on each side of float) if you don't want to fish sideways.
_________________________
-John

Top
#11911863 - 11/01/16 04:37 PM Re: Tie to Bridge Pillions [Re: Sirjet]
Sirjet Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 09/14/09
Posts: 908
Loc: Duncanville
Good deal. I was thinking of how to do it. I have cardiners on my tube that would work perfectly. Hoping to go saturday afternoon.
_________________________
Marine 4 Life



"#1 God #2 Family #3 Fishing #4 Fishing #5 Fishing
JET



Top
#11912625 - 11/01/16 09:51 PM Re: Tie to Bridge Pillions [Re: Sirjet]
MulGogiHunter Offline
Angler

Registered: 01/24/14
Posts: 290
Loc: Grand Prairie, TX
This is all it is really. Poor man's accessory but works for me. With a few mods, you can use as a marker buoy also.

_________________________
-John

Top
#11913074 - 11/02/16 09:54 AM Re: Tie to Bridge Pillions [Re: Sirjet]
Sirjet Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 09/14/09
Posts: 908
Loc: Duncanville
Cool. I like that
_________________________
Marine 4 Life



"#1 God #2 Family #3 Fishing #4 Fishing #5 Fishing
JET



Top
#11914318 - 11/02/16 11:14 PM Re: Tie to Bridge Pillions [Re: MulGogiHunter]
Fishbonz Online   content
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 12/30/08
Posts: 3899
Loc: Desoto,Tx. Dallas county
Originally Posted By: MulGogiHunter
This is all it is really. Poor man's accessory but works for me. With a few mods, you can use as a marker buoy also.


So how do you make it work? hmmm I`m assuming The carabiners hooks to your tube right? how do you tie the rope around the pillar?


Edited by Fishbonz (11/02/16 11:15 PM)
_________________________

Horace aka Fishbonz

Top
#11914863 - 11/03/16 10:45 AM Re: Tie to Bridge Pillions [Re: Sirjet]
Sirjet Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 09/14/09
Posts: 908
Loc: Duncanville
If I am looking at it correct. He has a floater on the line. On my tube after the line goes around the pillow. I would be able to hook into two hooks on my tube. It really sounds like it would work. I will be trying it out very soon.
_________________________
Marine 4 Life



"#1 God #2 Family #3 Fishing #4 Fishing #5 Fishing
JET



Top
#11915062 - 11/03/16 12:16 PM Re: Tie to Bridge Pillions [Re: Sirjet]
MulGogiHunter Offline
Angler

Registered: 01/24/14
Posts: 290
Loc: Grand Prairie, TX
Correct.

It's just a rope with a carbiner on one end and a float on the other. Carabiner is attached to one of the rings on my tube. Toss the float end upwind and around the pylon - you can have it drift back to you or just go get it. I then just grab the float end, cinch up the slack and tie it off.

I get turned sideways because I end up having everything hooked on one side. I'll have to re-arrange the stuff on my tube, so that I can be hooked on both sides (so that I end up facing the pylon directly).

Or one can simply accomplish the same thing with just a single piece of floating rope and a few knots. But I have junk in the garage that I like re-use.

smile
_________________________
-John

Top
#11915199 - 11/03/16 01:04 PM Re: Tie to Bridge Pillions [Re: Sirjet]
Sirjet Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 09/14/09
Posts: 908
Loc: Duncanville
I have clips on my tube where I can either be facing the pillows or I can put the pillow to my back.
_________________________
Marine 4 Life



"#1 God #2 Family #3 Fishing #4 Fishing #5 Fishing
JET



Top
#11915553 - 11/03/16 04:33 PM Re: Tie to Bridge Pillions [Re: Sirjet]
porta Offline
Angler

Registered: 09/25/09
Posts: 345
Won't you need 2 anchors (piling plus anchor) because there will be a big range of the swing movement as you get buffeted around? If the wind is strong won't waves pour over and splash all over your tube, equipment, self, plus be bumpy and uncomfortable. If you get a hookup with a big fish, it can break off because you are in a fixed position and can't get loose fast enough to chase when anchored. I would rig a spring quick release clip within easy reach for safety, if I were to tie up. One technique I have used is to hover or drift along bridge pilings, depending on what the wind allows. But I don't know the specific situation for your bridge, as you may get enough protection from wind and waves being downwind from the pilings- which is not what I have experienced.

This is just my opinion and experience, I know a lot of tubers that seem to tie up, to each his own....

Porta

Top
#11915599 - 11/03/16 04:59 PM Re: Tie to Bridge Pillions [Re: Sirjet]
Sirjet Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 09/14/09
Posts: 908
Loc: Duncanville
I put this out here so that I can get different points of view. Thanks porta. I do see what you have brought out. I just know when i went out last week the wind was a big issue. but I still wanted to fish.
_________________________
Marine 4 Life



"#1 God #2 Family #3 Fishing #4 Fishing #5 Fishing
JET



Top
#11915622 - 11/03/16 05:14 PM Re: Tie to Bridge Pillions [Re: Sirjet]
Sirjet Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 09/14/09
Posts: 908
Loc: Duncanville
OK. I need everyone to think with me. Would this work.

Let's say the wind is coming from the south. The bridge runs east and west. You have two pillons at each set. You run a string around the pillon to the south that leaves the pillon to the north. You position your tube where you back is towards the south pillon facing the north pillon. Tie the string both sides of the tube. and jig or minnow the north pillon. What do you think?
_________________________
Marine 4 Life



"#1 God #2 Family #3 Fishing #4 Fishing #5 Fishing
JET



Top
#11916420 - 11/04/16 07:44 AM Re: Tie to Bridge Pillions [Re: Sirjet]
Longeye Offline
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 05/10/05
Posts: 9799
Loc: Little Elm
Aggie Engineer

Top
#11916452 - 11/04/16 08:16 AM Re: Tie to Bridge Pillions [Re: Sirjet]
Fish Chaser Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 06/29/12
Posts: 835
Why would you want to tie up to one pylon? Usually there are only 1-4 crappie on any particular pylon, so by tying up to one you limit yourself severely. I fish all around each pylon then move to another one if I don't get a hit or catch a fish. If I do get a hit or catch a crappie then I fish for a few more minutes around that particular pylon then move to another one.

Top
#11916532 - 11/04/16 09:00 AM Re: Tie to Bridge Pillions [Re: Sirjet]
Sirjet Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 09/14/09
Posts: 908
Loc: Duncanville
This why the question is out here. I want to know the pro's and con's.
_________________________
Marine 4 Life



"#1 God #2 Family #3 Fishing #4 Fishing #5 Fishing
JET



Top
#11916719 - 11/04/16 10:35 AM Re: Tie to Bridge Pillions [Re: Sirjet]
Fishbonz Online   content
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 12/30/08
Posts: 3899
Loc: Desoto,Tx. Dallas county
I`ve only been out a few times in my tube but that`s how I`ve done it and seen others do it.I don`t spend very much time on one pillar under a bridge in my tube unless I have electronics on it and it shows a structure with a lot of pop corn/white dots on the screen.Even then I wont anchor to the pillar I`ll just use my fins to maintain my position and if it`s to windy for me to maintain well I don`t need to be out there anyway. sarcastic I will tie up however if I`m in my 18 fter given the same scenario 2cents


Edited by Fishbonz (11/04/16 10:46 AM)
_________________________

Horace aka Fishbonz

Top
#11916810 - 11/04/16 11:38 AM Re: Tie to Bridge Pillions [Re: Sirjet]
Sirjet Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 09/14/09
Posts: 908
Loc: Duncanville
Good deal Fishbonz. i am just getting into this. I have only fished Pillons one time and loved it. But I am just looking at all options. Thank You. Plus I am working on getting a fish finder installed on my tube. I almost got it. It is in my head now. I am so close. LOL
_________________________
Marine 4 Life



"#1 God #2 Family #3 Fishing #4 Fishing #5 Fishing
JET



Top
#11916917 - 11/04/16 12:42 PM Re: Tie to Bridge Pillions [Re: porta]
MulGogiHunter Offline
Angler

Registered: 01/24/14
Posts: 290
Loc: Grand Prairie, TX
Originally Posted By: porta
Won't you need 2 anchors (piling plus anchor) because there will be a big range of the swing movement as you get buffeted around? If the wind is strong won't waves pour over and splash all over your tube, equipment, self, plus be bumpy and uncomfortable. If you get a hookup with a big fish, it can break off because you are in a fixed position and can't get loose fast enough to chase when anchored. I would rig a spring quick release clip within easy reach for safety, if I were to tie up. One technique I have used is to hover or drift along bridge pilings, depending on what the wind allows. But I don't know the specific situation for your bridge, as you may get enough protection from wind and waves being downwind from the pilings- which is not what I have experienced.

This is just my opinion and experience, I know a lot of tubers that seem to tie up, to each his own....

Porta


If it's that windy, I don't even bother going. I mostly tie up when I'm tired or just feel like soaking it all in. You know, like relaxing.
_________________________
-John

Top
#11917065 - 11/04/16 02:18 PM Re: Tie to Bridge Pillions [Re: MulGogiHunter]
Fishbonz Online   content
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 12/30/08
Posts: 3899
Loc: Desoto,Tx. Dallas county
Originally Posted By: MulGogiHunter
Originally Posted By: porta
Won't you need 2 anchors (piling plus anchor) because there will be a big range of the swing movement as you get buffeted around? If the wind is strong won't waves pour over and splash all over your tube, equipment, self, plus be bumpy and uncomfortable. If you get a hookup with a big fish, it can break off because you are in a fixed position and can't get loose fast enough to chase when anchored. I would rig a spring quick release clip within easy reach for safety, if I were to tie up. One technique I have used is to hover or drift along bridge pilings, depending on what the wind allows. But I don't know the specific situation for your bridge, as you may get enough protection from wind and waves being downwind from the pilings- which is not what I have experienced.

This is just my opinion and experience, I know a lot of tubers that seem to tie up, to each his own....

Porta


If it's that windy, I don't even bother going. I mostly tie up when I'm tired or just feel like soaking it all in. You know, like relaxing.
I hear ya Captn coolio
_________________________

Horace aka Fishbonz

Top
#11917122 - 11/04/16 02:54 PM Re: Tie to Bridge Pillions [Re: Sirjet]
Sirjet Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 09/14/09
Posts: 908
Loc: Duncanville
I do understand the wind situation. But when I got the fever. I must be on the water somewhere. Thanks Guys
_________________________
Marine 4 Life



"#1 God #2 Family #3 Fishing #4 Fishing #5 Fishing
JET



Top
#11917413 - 11/04/16 06:22 PM Re: Tie to Bridge Pillions [Re: Sirjet]
porta Offline
Angler

Registered: 09/25/09
Posts: 345
Originally Posted By: Sirjet
OK. I need everyone to think with me. Would this work.

Let's say the wind is coming from the south. The bridge runs east and west. You have two pillons at each set. You run a string around the pillon to the south that leaves the pillon to the north. You position your tube where you back is towards the south pillon facing the north pillon. Tie the string both sides of the tube. and jig or minnow the north pillon. What do you think?



So are you are boxed in between 2 pylons with open sides? That might protect you from the south wind but maybe not the up and down of the waves (unless the waves are small even in high winds?). Tie ups have not worked that well in wind and waves for me, and I don't need them in calm waters, because I can hover wherever I want in low winds.

I prefer to paddle to the protected side shallows wherever there is shade- then hold with my feet while sitting, when I want to relax. That way I still have to option to chase a hooked fish to deeper waters.

If I have the urge to be on water in high winds, I will go to protected (away from rapids) areas of the Guadalupe. Protected areas often block the wind with high banks or tree lines (avoid possible dead limb falling hazards) which give shade as a bonus. Usually, I can stand up and cast in the tube if I am tired of sitting or if there is discomfort or hazards. Same idea can be used on lakes that have protected shorelines, so long as you stay in close to the protection. Also I like to launch into the resistance (wind, waves, or river current) and get as far as I can- then use the resistance to power me back to launch at the end of the day, when I am tired.

Hope this helps.

PC


Edited by porta (11/04/16 06:26 PM)

Top
#11918283 - 11/05/16 11:41 AM Re: Tie to Bridge Pillions [Re: Sirjet]
Epic Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 09/16/11
Posts: 240
Loc: Mansfield
The wind has to be really up there for me not to go. About a month ago Where's my Bobber and I tubed in 23 mph with gusts up to 30. It was really rough but manageable. It's not something I would want to do on my own.

15 to 18 would probably be the max alone. With a good pair of fins you can manage your positioning rather easily.
_________________________


Top
#11981787 - 12/13/16 10:04 AM Re: Tie to Bridge Pillions [Re: Sirjet]
jiggin el Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 11/25/12
Posts: 2845
Loc: Cedar Hiil,Tx
That's exactly how I fish,u increase your odds of catching more fish by sticking and moving..
Just my 2 cents..
_________________________
Quit Wishin Go Fishin

Top
#11982012 - 12/13/16 11:34 AM Re: Tie to Bridge Pillions [Re: Sirjet]
Sirjet Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 09/14/09
Posts: 908
Loc: Duncanville
it has been some time since i posted the question. And i have both tied up and held my position with my fins. I had some luck with both ways. I am surprised at How I have lived near J.P. for over 22 years and this has been the first time I have actually caught some keeper crappie.

When I tied up I didn't truly tie up. I put a rod floater on the end of my tie up line and just zipped it up in the pouch. When i was ready to move i just un-zipped and moved.

Thank's to everyone for keeping me in line. LOL
_________________________
Marine 4 Life



"#1 God #2 Family #3 Fishing #4 Fishing #5 Fishing
JET



Top
#11993840 - 12/19/16 05:55 PM Re: Tie to Bridge Pillions [Re: Sirjet]
porta Offline
Angler

Registered: 09/25/09
Posts: 345
Sirjet said: I put a rod floater on the end of my tie up line and just zipped it up in the pouch.

Good idea! Simple to make, easy to grab and operate, fast to release, and fast to hook up.

Thanks,

PC

Top
#11993901 - 12/19/16 06:42 PM Re: Tie to Bridge Pillions [Re: Sirjet]
bowfin Online   content
Extreme Angler

Registered: 08/17/07
Posts: 1592
Loc: - east tx. wood co.
Hula hoop with 1 side cut and a rope tied to it.
pull up to pylon,spresd hoop and push it around the pylon.
add a second one to another pylon.

Top
#11993909 - 12/19/16 06:45 PM Re: Tie to Bridge Pillions [Re: porta]
Fishbonz Online   content
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 12/30/08
Posts: 3899
Loc: Desoto,Tx. Dallas county
Originally Posted By: porta
Sirjet said: I put a rod floater on the end of my tie up line and just zipped it up in the pouch.

Good idea! Simple to make, easy to grab and operate, fast to release, and fast to hook up.

Thanks,

PC
Could you post a pic?
_________________________

Horace aka Fishbonz

Top
#11998145 - 12/22/16 08:54 AM Re: Tie to Bridge Pillions [Re: Sirjet]
Sirjet Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 09/14/09
Posts: 908
Loc: Duncanville
I will get you a pic as soon as I get a chance. I haven't post a pic in so long. I have to refresh myself.
_________________________
Marine 4 Life



"#1 God #2 Family #3 Fishing #4 Fishing #5 Fishing
JET



Top
#11998147 - 12/22/16 08:57 AM Re: Tie to Bridge Pillions [Re: Sirjet]
Sirjet Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 09/14/09
Posts: 908
Loc: Duncanville
Mine is just like Mulgogihunter. I just put all of the extra line in the pounch on my tube. 20 seconds to tie and 10 to release.
_________________________
Marine 4 Life



"#1 God #2 Family #3 Fishing #4 Fishing #5 Fishing
JET



Top
#11998781 - 12/22/16 02:04 PM Re: Tie to Bridge Pillions [Re: Sirjet]
porta Offline
Angler

Registered: 09/25/09
Posts: 345
I just like the idea of using a rigid foam float at the end of the line instead of a carabiner. The float part should be big enough to slightly hang up in smallish pocket even if it unzips. You just grab the float, stuff and zip in the pocket to hook up (maybe 5 seconds), then unzip and toss out the float to release (maybe 3 seconds). You can also instantly adjust the length of line quickly by making the float out of an scrap wooden yard stick or lath (that floats) in the shape of a cord winder (cut to length so it just hangs up inside of a designated pocket). Lots of possibilities...

PC


Edited by porta (12/22/16 02:06 PM)

Top
#11999165 - 12/22/16 05:57 PM Re: Tie to Bridge Pillions [Re: Sirjet]
Fishbonz Online   content
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 12/30/08
Posts: 3899
Loc: Desoto,Tx. Dallas county
So you tye the foam to the end of the line and wrap the line around the pillion & back into a pocket on your tube and zip it back up?
_________________________

Horace aka Fishbonz

Top
#11999402 - 12/22/16 08:10 PM Re: Tie to Bridge Pillions [Re: Sirjet]
porta Offline
Angler

Registered: 09/25/09
Posts: 345
Fishbonz,

Yes, basically I like the idea of an instant hook up and release station that can tell you where you have been or will be hovering. Hook to the pylon throwing the float- as previously described, but cinch the hook end around the pylon. Usually there is at least a light wind, so the float will be downwind from the pylon. Also, wind the rope length if you want to work from a position closer or further away from the pylon. Then, add a second lightweight snap hook on the float itself to quickly hook up, if you don't want to zip up the float itself into a pocket. I haven't tested it yet, but seems like an idea to try.

PC

Top
#11999440 - 12/22/16 08:35 PM Re: Tie to Bridge Pillions [Re: Sirjet]
Fishbonz Online   content
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 12/30/08
Posts: 3899
Loc: Desoto,Tx. Dallas county
thumbGot IT!
_________________________

Horace aka Fishbonz

Top
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >



© 1998-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide