Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Lilleyj7, D.RODGERS, mikyfran, SaltwaterGospel, Nicholas Moudy
102741 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 82901
hopalong 74411
Pilothawk 73458
JDavis7873® 67377
FattyMcButterpants 60518
John175 ® 59945
Tritonman 56844
Derek 56448
SkeeterRonnie 52467
LoneStarSon® 52229
facebook
Forum Stats
102741 Members
61 Forums
859438 Topics
11275283 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#11910313 - 10/31/16 03:43 PM Tie to Bridge Pillions
Sirjet Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 09/14/09
Posts: 888
Loc: Duncanville
I went out Saturday on my tube. I was wondering if any of you guys tie to the bridge pillions? I had a great time jigging for crappie. But spent a lot of time fighting the wind.
_________________________
Marine 4 Life



"#1 God #2 Family #3 Fishing #4 Fishing #5 Fishing
JET



Top
#11911804 - 11/01/16 04:16 PM Re: Tie to Bridge Pillions [Re: Sirjet]
MulGogiHunter Offline
Angler

Registered: 01/24/14
Posts: 281
Loc: Grand Prairie, TX
Sorry I couldn't join you. I tie up on them with just a length of rope, piece of pipe insulation and a carabiner.

I'm sure others have a much better method/setup but this works for me considering I don't go much. Plus it didn't cost me anything but 5 minutes to make.
_________________________
-John

Top
#11911810 - 11/01/16 04:19 PM Re: Tie to Bridge Pillions [Re: Sirjet]
MulGogiHunter Offline
Angler

Registered: 01/24/14
Posts: 281
Loc: Grand Prairie, TX
And you could use two carbiners (one on each side of float) if you don't want to fish sideways.
_________________________
-John

Top
#11911863 - 11/01/16 04:37 PM Re: Tie to Bridge Pillions [Re: Sirjet]
Sirjet Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 09/14/09
Posts: 888
Loc: Duncanville
Good deal. I was thinking of how to do it. I have cardiners on my tube that would work perfectly. Hoping to go saturday afternoon.
_________________________
Marine 4 Life



"#1 God #2 Family #3 Fishing #4 Fishing #5 Fishing
JET



Top
#11912625 - 11/01/16 09:51 PM Re: Tie to Bridge Pillions [Re: Sirjet]
MulGogiHunter Offline
Angler

Registered: 01/24/14
Posts: 281
Loc: Grand Prairie, TX
This is all it is really. Poor man's accessory but works for me. With a few mods, you can use as a marker buoy also.

_________________________
-John

Top
#11913074 - 11/02/16 09:54 AM Re: Tie to Bridge Pillions [Re: Sirjet]
Sirjet Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 09/14/09
Posts: 888
Loc: Duncanville
Cool. I like that
_________________________
Marine 4 Life



"#1 God #2 Family #3 Fishing #4 Fishing #5 Fishing
JET



Top
#11914318 - 11/02/16 11:14 PM Re: Tie to Bridge Pillions [Re: MulGogiHunter]
Fishbonz Offline
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 12/30/08
Posts: 3784
Loc: Desoto,Tx. Dallas county
Originally Posted By: MulGogiHunter
This is all it is really. Poor man's accessory but works for me. With a few mods, you can use as a marker buoy also.


So how do you make it work? hmmm I`m assuming The carabiners hooks to your tube right? how do you tie the rope around the pillar?


Edited by Fishbonz (11/02/16 11:15 PM)
_________________________

Horace aka Fishbonz

Top
#11914863 - 11/03/16 10:45 AM Re: Tie to Bridge Pillions [Re: Sirjet]
Sirjet Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 09/14/09
Posts: 888
Loc: Duncanville
If I am looking at it correct. He has a floater on the line. On my tube after the line goes around the pillow. I would be able to hook into two hooks on my tube. It really sounds like it would work. I will be trying it out very soon.
_________________________
Marine 4 Life



"#1 God #2 Family #3 Fishing #4 Fishing #5 Fishing
JET



Top
#11915062 - 11/03/16 12:16 PM Re: Tie to Bridge Pillions [Re: Sirjet]
MulGogiHunter Offline
Angler

Registered: 01/24/14
Posts: 281
Loc: Grand Prairie, TX
Correct.

It's just a rope with a carbiner on one end and a float on the other. Carabiner is attached to one of the rings on my tube. Toss the float end upwind and around the pylon - you can have it drift back to you or just go get it. I then just grab the float end, cinch up the slack and tie it off.

I get turned sideways because I end up having everything hooked on one side. I'll have to re-arrange the stuff on my tube, so that I can be hooked on both sides (so that I end up facing the pylon directly).

Or one can simply accomplish the same thing with just a single piece of floating rope and a few knots. But I have junk in the garage that I like re-use.

smile
_________________________
-John

Top
#11915199 - 11/03/16 01:04 PM Re: Tie to Bridge Pillions [Re: Sirjet]
Sirjet Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 09/14/09
Posts: 888
Loc: Duncanville
I have clips on my tube where I can either be facing the pillows or I can put the pillow to my back.
_________________________
Marine 4 Life



"#1 God #2 Family #3 Fishing #4 Fishing #5 Fishing
JET



Top
#11915553 - 11/03/16 04:33 PM Re: Tie to Bridge Pillions [Re: Sirjet]
porta Offline
Angler

Registered: 09/25/09
Posts: 340
Won't you need 2 anchors (piling plus anchor) because there will be a big range of the swing movement as you get buffeted around? If the wind is strong won't waves pour over and splash all over your tube, equipment, self, plus be bumpy and uncomfortable. If you get a hookup with a big fish, it can break off because you are in a fixed position and can't get loose fast enough to chase when anchored. I would rig a spring quick release clip within easy reach for safety, if I were to tie up. One technique I have used is to hover or drift along bridge pilings, depending on what the wind allows. But I don't know the specific situation for your bridge, as you may get enough protection from wind and waves being downwind from the pilings- which is not what I have experienced.

This is just my opinion and experience, I know a lot of tubers that seem to tie up, to each his own....

Porta

Top
#11915599 - 11/03/16 04:59 PM Re: Tie to Bridge Pillions [Re: Sirjet]
Sirjet Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 09/14/09
Posts: 888
Loc: Duncanville
I put this out here so that I can get different points of view. Thanks porta. I do see what you have brought out. I just know when i went out last week the wind was a big issue. but I still wanted to fish.
_________________________
Marine 4 Life



"#1 God #2 Family #3 Fishing #4 Fishing #5 Fishing
JET



Top
#11915622 - 11/03/16 05:14 PM Re: Tie to Bridge Pillions [Re: Sirjet]
Sirjet Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 09/14/09
Posts: 888
Loc: Duncanville
OK. I need everyone to think with me. Would this work.

Let's say the wind is coming from the south. The bridge runs east and west. You have two pillons at each set. You run a string around the pillon to the south that leaves the pillon to the north. You position your tube where you back is towards the south pillon facing the north pillon. Tie the string both sides of the tube. and jig or minnow the north pillon. What do you think?
_________________________
Marine 4 Life



"#1 God #2 Family #3 Fishing #4 Fishing #5 Fishing
JET



Top
#11916420 - 11/04/16 07:44 AM Re: Tie to Bridge Pillions [Re: Sirjet]
Longeye Offline
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 05/10/05
Posts: 9708
Loc: Little Elm
Aggie Engineer

Top
#11916452 - 11/04/16 08:16 AM Re: Tie to Bridge Pillions [Re: Sirjet]
Fish Chaser Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 06/29/12
Posts: 825
Why would you want to tie up to one pylon? Usually there are only 1-4 crappie on any particular pylon, so by tying up to one you limit yourself severely. I fish all around each pylon then move to another one if I don't get a hit or catch a fish. If I do get a hit or catch a crappie then I fish for a few more minutes around that particular pylon then move to another one.

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >



© 1998-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide