Print Thread
Cupboard Ant How To #11908794 10/31/16 01:09 AM
R
RexW Online Content OP
TFF Team Angler
OP Online Content
TFF Team Angler
R

I put this together for another reason, but I thought some of you might find it interesting. This is my first attempt at a fly tying "how to".

Cupboard Ant Fly Pattern

Black ants covered the shoreline, my feet, and pretty much everything else along the Big Thompson River in Rocky Mountain National Park one day this summer. Even a bass fisherman like me could match the hatch that day. The Cupboard Ant was the perfect choice and produced my first Greenback Cutthroat trout.

This pattern is from Schweitzer’s book “A Fly Fishing Guide to Rocky Mountain National Park” on page 205. The body of this fly is made from foam shelf liner material. The “antenna” look is created by slowly pulling the foam “pillows’ apart. OK, the antennas look cool, but do they really make any difference? Well, they did that day. I mangled one of the antenna while re-tying and the fish stopped biting until I fixed the error. They would not eat an ant with one antenna. The key to fishing this ant pattern was to drift it as close to the shoreline’s rocks and vegetation as possible for an aggressive strike. The fly needed to be within 6 inches of the rocks or fish ignored the fly.

Cupboard Ant

Hook: Standard dry fly hook size 14 to 16
Body: Two “pillow” segments from shelf lining; pull apart to create antennas
Legs: Black or other dark hackle
Thread: 70 denier color to match the foam

Photo 1: Detail of shelf liner material used:

Photo 2: View of the “antenna” affect that is created when the shelf liner is pulled slowly apart: