Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
ladyangler125, AHS Basser, MoJoMorris, suhil has, Jr baiter
106516 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 87125
hopalong 78812
Pilothawk 75784
JDavis7873® 67386
John175 ® 65888
FattyMcButterpants 60793
Derek 🐝 59024
Tritonman 57763
LoneStarSon® 53818
SkeeterRonnie 53123
facebook
Forum Stats
106516 Members
61 Forums
863940 Topics
12277638 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Topic Options
#11894869 - 10/22/16 09:02 PM Second transducer went out
HaulinBass02 Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 06/30/05
Posts: 573
Loc: Springtown, TX
My HB 596c DI just ate another transducer today. I dropped the TM into the water at just about the same place at Ray Bob that the first transducer went out. Lo and behold, the head unit said transducer not connected. After some fiddling with it I got it to read depth but the 2D sonar was unreadable and the DI didn't show much detail. It had been working all day until then. Cable is intact and I didn't hit the 'ducer on anything. I seem to have bad luck with HB transducers.
On that note, since my 998 HDSI needs to be factory repaired, I'm highly considering a switch to Lowrance or Garmin. Are their transducers and units any beefier or less prone to failure? I've had a Lowrance in the past that had zero issues. All the 'Birds I've had I've had problems with. Not sure if I want to stick with them.
Does Lowrance have a SI unit that doesn't require a separate structure scan box?
_________________________
'99 Skeeter 186SX SC, 150 Yamaha VMax
'99 Chevrolet Silverado 2500 4x4

Top
#11894913 - 10/22/16 09:30 PM Re: Second transducer went out [Re: HaulinBass02]
Gamblinman Online   content
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 11/26/02
Posts: 3047
Loc: Yantis, TX
Originally Posted By: HaulinBass02
My HB 596c DI just ate another transducer today. I dropped the TM into the water at just about the same place at Ray Bob that the first transducer went out. Lo and behold, the head unit said transducer not connected. After some fiddling with it I got it to read depth but the 2D sonar was unreadable and the DI didn't show much detail. It had been working all day until then. Cable is intact and I didn't hit the 'ducer on anything. I seem to have bad luck with HB transducers.
On that note, since my 998 HDSI needs to be factory repaired, I'm highly considering a switch to Lowrance or Garmin. Are their transducers and units any beefier or less prone to failure? I've had a Lowrance in the past that had zero issues. All the 'Birds I've had I've had problems with. Not sure if I want to stick with them.
Does Lowrance have a SI unit that doesn't require a separate structure scan box?


Yes. Either a Gen2 Touch or Gen 3 unit can run side imaging. Transducer cable connects directly to the unit itself.
_________________________
Texas Crappie Posse

Top
#11894932 - 10/22/16 09:40 PM Re: Second transducer went out [Re: HaulinBass02]
HaulinBass02 Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 06/30/05
Posts: 573
Loc: Springtown, TX
Ok correct me if I'm wrong, I seem to remember that the Lowrance units required 2 transducers? One was strictly for side imaging and the primary was 2D and down imaging?
_________________________
'99 Skeeter 186SX SC, 150 Yamaha VMax
'99 Chevrolet Silverado 2500 4x4

Top
#11894945 - 10/22/16 09:50 PM Re: Second transducer went out [Re: HaulinBass02]
grout-scout Offline
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 12/08/08
Posts: 6395
Loc: Boerne, Texas
You can buy an elite model that comes with a transducer that does all 3 in 1, called a totalscan. The Hds lineup has several different options and i don't feel like typing them all out.

Top
#11896144 - 10/23/16 08:16 PM Re: Second transducer went out [Re: HaulinBass02]
HaulinBass02 Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 06/30/05
Posts: 573
Loc: Springtown, TX
Ok so I'm still trying to sort out all that Lowrance has to offer. My main point at this time is how many 'ducers am I going to have to install to get structure scan on the console. I'm thinking at this point about an HDS 9" Gen 2 at the console and an Elite 7TI at the bow. I typically only use DI at the front BUT if I can network the two I'd like to be able to look at the SI image every once in a while.......tell me how to do this?
_________________________
'99 Skeeter 186SX SC, 150 Yamaha VMax
'99 Chevrolet Silverado 2500 4x4

Top



© 1998-2017 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide