Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Justin Pongratz, Fishrmen16, 75TH RANGER, retiredfire, FishingForFish
102081 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 81768
hopalong 72922
Pilothawk 72450
JDavis7873® 67371
FattyMcButterpants 60426
John175 ® 59617
Tritonman 56360
Derek 55939
SkeeterRonnie 52349
LoneStarSon® 51898
facebook
Forum Stats
102081 Members
60 Forums
850105 Topics
11146292 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#11803130 - 08/29/16 03:54 PM Side image needed on bow or console only?
TerribleTwos Offline
Angler

Registered: 12/09/10
Posts: 394
So I plan on using our boat almost exclusively for crappie with an occasional sand bass outing. I have a Garmin 73SV on our console and I'm selling our HDI5 on the bow in favor of a larger screen unit. My question is: should my bow unit have side view or is down scan and traditional sonar really all I need? I will mainly be fishing timber or brush piles. Since I already have side scan on the console, just wondering if it makes sense to have it up front as well. Thanks guys!
_________________________

Top
#11803169 - 08/29/16 04:27 PM Re: Side image needed on bow or console only? [Re: TerribleTwos]
Ranger-188-2007 Offline
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 01/03/04
Posts: 3536
Loc: Nacogdoches Tx. USA
Down scan is what I use on the bow. Side scan works better when going 3-5 mph.
_________________________
All fishermen are legends in their own minds! Ranger Boats, Yamaha Outboards, Humminbird Electronics,Motor guide, and all the tackle in the world.

https://gallery.mailchimp.com/365bb712f56bc9c214b076b68/images/151584f3190d220.JPG

Top
#11803367 - 08/29/16 06:10 PM Re: Side image needed on bow or console only? [Re: TerribleTwos]
shut-up-and-fish Offline
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 02/08/10
Posts: 8886
Loc: Coppell Tx.

Side image works on the bow. Keep in mind that when ever the trolling motor head turns/moves the side image will become skewed and and start over. By then you have turned/moved the trolling motor head again. If you keep the motor straight or even with a slight slow turn it works very well.

99.9% of fisherman that have side image at the bow are 99% on down image.

Side image for certain on the console.


_________________________


It's all coming together and we have you covered @ Shut-Up-And-Fish LLC
for all your Humminbird, Minn Kota & Motorguide needs.
We do Installs!!! 972 737 8161


Top
#11803379 - 08/29/16 06:18 PM Re: Side image needed on bow or console only? [Re: TerribleTwos]
bronco71 Online   content
Pro Angler

Registered: 02/05/06
Posts: 944
Loc: Farmers Branch/Sulphur Bluff
I like a side image on the bow with the transducer on the transom......

Top
#11803411 - 08/29/16 06:41 PM Re: Side image needed on bow or console only? [Re: TerribleTwos]
TerribleTwos Offline
Angler

Registered: 12/09/10
Posts: 394
Thanks guys! I appreciate the feedback. I suspected I would primarily use down scan but figured I would ask the group if anyone really uses sidescan on the bow. I guess you could link the units to the transom transducer if you wanted to use side scan but I'll be using a trolling motor mount on it.
_________________________

Top
#11803414 - 08/29/16 06:47 PM Re: Side image needed on bow or console only? [Re: TerribleTwos]
Bobcat1 Offline
TFF Guru

Registered: 01/15/07
Posts: 17702
Loc: Sanger,Texas
I used to have side image on the bow and miss it. It works very similar to 360. That is if you learn its capabilities. I call it a poor man's 360. Get the motor going forward Take your foot off the button and turn he head sideways or at an angle and you can see what is in front or behind you. Easy brushpile locator when you are close. This worked with cable Drive. Not sure of exactly how it would work with electronic steer like my new MG Xi5 so I use DI on it.
_________________________
LiftSaver Trolling Motor Mounting Bracket - Patent Pending
www.liftsavertmmount.com



Top
#11803694 - 08/29/16 09:23 PM Re: Side image needed on bow or console only? [Re: TerribleTwos]
IKELEVI Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 04/23/13
Posts: 186
Loc: Lavon, Tx
Shut up and Fish has got it right. Personally I thinks it's more effective at the console.

Top
#11804079 - 08/30/16 08:13 AM Re: Side image needed on bow or console only? [Re: Bobcat1]
red snappa Offline
Angler

Registered: 04/15/12
Posts: 328
Loc: Diana,TX
Originally Posted By: Bobcat1
I used to have side image on the bow and miss it. It works very similar to 360. That is if you learn its capabilities. I call it a poor man's 360. Get the motor going forward Take your foot off the button and turn he head sideways or at an angle and you can see what is in front or behind you. Easy brushpile locator when you are close. This worked with cable Drive. Not sure of exactly how it would work with electronic steer like my new MG Xi5 so I use DI on it.


Bobcat1 this is exactly how I use mine up front. If you pay enough attention to how your streaks are and the bright streaks in the middle being the fish you want, then your description is prefect. Poor man's 360! At least I'm not the only one using mine this way! I also have sonar split on screen to help decipher the image and learn what I am seeing on the side scan.
_________________________
I like my fishing like a whino likes his wine!
http://thermoclinelures.com
http://advancedtaxidermy.com

Top
#11804094 - 08/30/16 08:18 AM Re: Side image needed on bow or console only? [Re: TerribleTwos]
BlueNitro Offline
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 06/08/10
Posts: 4004
Loc: Lewisville
Twos - I had one on my bow/tm and used it occasionally with moderate success. I used the DS more often and got tired of switching between the two so when a friend needed a LSS-2 transducer I was more than happy to help him out and I went to a DS only transducer. I don't think I've missed it once since I made the switch. I do have the sidescan on the console.

Top
#11804127 - 08/30/16 08:34 AM Re: Side image needed on bow or console only? [Re: TerribleTwos]
Slewfoot Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 03/27/02
Posts: 2065
Loc: E Texas
Heck. I don't even have down scan up front! Left in the dust again!!! roflmao

Top
#11804263 - 08/30/16 09:48 AM Re: Side image needed on bow or console only? [Re: TerribleTwos]
flogORfish Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 08/01/07
Posts: 215
Loc: Prosper, Tx
I just made a portable transducer mount for my Helix 10 SI for the bow. Only used it once, but it really helped me finding piles, fish on timber, etc. I can't say how much a pain it is taking up the transducer and putting it down when moving. My Helix are linked so I could switch to the transom transducer if I wanted. I had the Helix 10 transducer on the TM too, before I built the portable transducer mount.

Bottom line is I like it on the bow since I took it off the TM.

Top
#11804496 - 08/30/16 12:03 PM Re: Side image needed on bow or console only? [Re: Slewfoot]
BlueNitro Offline
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 06/08/10
Posts: 4004
Loc: Lewisville
Originally Posted By: Slewfoot
Heck. I don't even have down scan up front! Left in the dust again!!! roflmao


I bet the boys in D1 won't be buying you Down Scan for Christmas this year.

Just a hunch!!! roflmao

Top
#11804543 - 08/30/16 12:21 PM Re: Side image needed on bow or console only? [Re: bronco71]
bronco71 Online   content
Pro Angler

Registered: 02/05/06
Posts: 944
Loc: Farmers Branch/Sulphur Bluff
Originally Posted By: bronco71
I like a side image on the bow with the transducer on the transom......


Actually my side image transducer is on the transom and my 2D ducer is on the trolling motor connected with a y cable. My old unit automatically switches between them....

Top
#11804554 - 08/30/16 12:27 PM Re: Side image needed on bow or console only? [Re: TerribleTwos]
Fishbonz Online   content
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 12/30/08
Posts: 3617
Loc: Desoto,Tx. Dallas county
I use my side scan on my console to locate structure, drop a buoy then use my DI on the TM to zero in.I have Sidescan upfront also but don`t use it that much since I went out with Forkfish.
_________________________

Top
#11804583 - 08/30/16 12:46 PM Re: Side image needed on bow or console only? [Re: TerribleTwos]
Tommy Ezell Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 10/05/11
Posts: 1375
Loc: Rockwall,Tx.
We built a TM bracket to hold the lss ducer. I've ran di and si on tm for years. Absolutely priceless.

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >



© 1998-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide