Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
killerfishcustom, Kidswift, ReidGoff, Gary Roberts, Granbry
102696 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 82836
hopalong 74347
Pilothawk 73398
JDavis7873® 67377
FattyMcButterpants 60518
John175 ® 59853
Tritonman 56789
Derek 56400
SkeeterRonnie 52444
LoneStarSon® 52203
facebook
Forum Stats
102696 Members
61 Forums
858569 Topics
11263030 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Topic Options
#11798481 - 08/26/16 12:53 PM Lowrance HDS 8 2 question
G Pope Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 07/20/15
Posts: 30
Loc: Flower Mound, TX
I have the HDS 8 Gen 2 unit at the consol. It has Down scan, but it does not have side scan. Side Scan does work on these units, but I only have the one small transducer. If I buy the LSS-2 transducer without the structure box scan, will it work? I have searched high and low on the internet but I can not find any confirmation that all I need is the transducer.

The transducer is $300, but it cost over double that to get the structure scan box. I am not wanting to connect multiple units, I just want to view side scan while trolling from the consol.

Any help is much appreciated.

Top
#11798520 - 08/26/16 01:10 PM Re: Lowrance HDS 8 2 question [Re: G Pope]
cde21 Offline
Angler

Registered: 02/28/12
Posts: 455
If the unit is running down scan, then it should be capable of running sidescan. It will not run either unless you have a LSS box. The LSS2 transducer will only work alone with the touch units in my understanding.

Top
#11798629 - 08/26/16 02:04 PM Re: Lowrance HDS 8 2 question [Re: G Pope]
G Pope Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 07/20/15
Posts: 30
Loc: Flower Mound, TX
Yes, you are correct about the down scan. I have an elite 5 inside the console which I use for the down scan. The unit is not a touch screen. The specs on the Lowrance website say it works with the 8 Gen2, but does not specify touch or not so I assumed it worked with both.

Top
#11798800 - 08/26/16 03:46 PM Re: Lowrance HDS 8 2 question [Re: G Pope]
bigbass94 Offline
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 05/27/12
Posts: 3163
Loc: San Antonio, Texas
Yes, you need a LSS box to run Structure Scan or "side scan". The new Gen 3 units have the Structure Scan built in though.
_________________________
"If people concentrated on the really important things in life, there'd be a shortage of fishing poles." - Doug Larson

"That was like watching the birth of Jesus!"-Urban Fisher

Top
#11798933 - 08/26/16 04:54 PM Re: Lowrance HDS 8 2 question [Re: bigbass94]
cde21 Offline
Angler

Registered: 02/28/12
Posts: 455
Originally Posted By: bigbass94
Yes, you need a LSS box to run Structure Scan or "side scan". The new Gen 3 units have the Structure Scan built in though.


The Gen 2 and Gen 3 touch units have Structure scan built in.

Top
#11799158 - 08/26/16 07:37 PM Re: Lowrance HDS 8 2 question [Re: G Pope]
David Burton Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 07/14/11
Posts: 1496
Loc: McKinney, TX
I don't know how you would get down scan even with that transducer without the structure scan box unless you have a gen 2 touch unit! I was certain it just wasn't possible to get any imaging!
_________________________
David Burton
2015 Skeeter FX 21


Top
#11800124 - 08/27/16 02:53 PM Re: Lowrance HDS 8 2 question [Re: G Pope]
Flippin-Out Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 02/25/15
Posts: 1564
Loc: Magnolia, TX
I do not believe that HDS 8 Gen 2 will do any StructureScan (down OR side) unless an LSS box is attached. As stated, all "Touch" models have built in StructureScan support. I have not bothered to educate myself on what Gen 3 units are capable of as I plan to stick with what I have for a while.

Regardless of which "Gen", all Touch units will support 2D + Downscan if you use the correct optional transducer in place of the standard 2D transducer. Many users choose to do with with a Touch unit mounted at the bow via a transducer on the TM, as I have done. This gets 2D = Downscan from one small transducer that costs about $130.

Touch units will also support StructureScan (down + side) if an LSS2 transducer is attached. If this is done, the downscan from the 2D + downscan transducer is disabled. In other words, you get to choose just one option to go along with the 2D.

Top
#11801887 - 08/28/16 09:25 PM Re: Lowrance HDS 8 2 question [Re: Flippin-Out]
G Pope Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 07/20/15
Posts: 30
Loc: Flower Mound, TX
Just purchased the strictest scan box and transducer new on eBay for a really nice price. Thanks for the input. Much appreciated. Will try to send an update in a few weeks once I get in installed and a n the water.

Top



© 1998-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide