Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
gatorleg, Padaniel, tulsashooter, bbutler, Zaylie
104472 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 84511
hopalong 76607
Pilothawk 74377
JDavis7873® 67382
John175 ® 62525
FattyMcButterpants 60659
Tritonman 57370
Derek 57347
SkeeterRonnie 52796
LoneStarSon® 52663
facebook
Forum Stats
104472 Members
60 Forums
787279 Topics
9952918 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Topic Options
#11783794 - 08/18/16 08:59 AM HDS 12 Gen 3 Issue
jgf131/tx Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 09/20/11
Posts: 182
Loc: Hemphill, Tx
Just installed 2 new HDS 12s on my boat. Took it out today and works .....but. It seems that the down and side imaging stops, then starts back up. When going up a ridge for example it will look like stair steps.

any help will be appreciated
_________________________
jgf131/tx

Top
#11783994 - 08/18/16 10:52 AM Re: HDS 12 Gen 3 Issue [Re: jgf131/tx]
Basser4$ Offline
Green Horn

Registered: 03/07/16
Posts: 2
The only time I see Stair steps on mine is when I adjust the range. Check to see if your range is set on automatic. Auto is ok in Downscan, but I always adjust my side image to about 3 times the depth usually on 50 or 60. There is also a software update available.

Top
#11784255 - 08/18/16 01:06 PM Re: HDS 12 Gen 3 Issue [Re: jgf131/tx]
the skipper Online   content
Extreme Angler

Registered: 07/04/11
Posts: 2101
Loc: nederland, TX
Make sure your ping rates aren't maxed out. Just what I've heard.

Top
#11784516 - 08/18/16 03:08 PM Re: HDS 12 Gen 3 Issue [Re: jgf131/tx]
jgf131/tx Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 09/20/11
Posts: 182
Loc: Hemphill, Tx
Thanks guys
Anyone know how to reset to factory settings?
_________________________
jgf131/tx

Top
#11784657 - 08/18/16 04:36 PM Re: HDS 12 Gen 3 Issue [Re: jgf131/tx]
OzzieFish Online   content
Extreme Angler

Registered: 02/24/03
Posts: 2938
Loc: Carrollton, TX USA
Slade Dougharty sure does...

Top
#11784702 - 08/18/16 05:07 PM Re: HDS 12 Gen 3 Issue [Re: jgf131/tx]
JacksonBean Offline
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 06/23/10
Posts: 3171
Loc: Greenville, TX


When is the last time they've been on WiFi and had the latest update?

Be sure your software is current... That's step one.

Top
#11784987 - 08/18/16 08:35 PM Re: HDS 12 Gen 3 Issue [Re: jgf131/tx]
jfdawson Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 06/21/05
Posts: 872
Loc: Frisco, Texas
I think to restore to factory settings it's:

Pages/Settings/Advanced/Restore Factory default.

Top
#11789052 - 08/21/16 02:37 PM Re: HDS 12 Gen 3 Issue [Re: jgf131/tx]
Dude Lebowski Offline
Angler

Registered: 01/04/11
Posts: 481
Loc: Spring, TX
Just send them to me. I could use some spares. roflmao
_________________________

Top
#11789949 - 08/22/16 07:57 AM Re: HDS 12 Gen 3 Issue [Re: jgf131/tx]
**TheLoneRanger** Offline
Angler

Registered: 09/29/12
Posts: 331
Loc: Palestine TX
I believe that's normal... It's just adjusting the ducer beam width that you see... If it's what I think you are describing then it's normal... You have the range set to auto?? Right??

Top
#11790075 - 08/22/16 08:57 AM Re: HDS 12 Gen 3 Issue [Re: **TheLoneRanger**]
JacksonBean Offline
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 06/23/10
Posts: 3171
Loc: Greenville, TX
Originally Posted By: **TheLoneRanger**
I believe that's normal... It's just adjusting the ducer beam width that you see... If it's what I think you are describing then it's normal... You have the range set to auto?? Right??



I don't think he's referring to the steps you see under lake floor on occasion. He mentions stopping and starting.

I've seen the steps down under the bottom on the auto depth adjust but my guess is that he's talking about the screen not registering the bottom.

Top
#11790085 - 08/22/16 09:00 AM Re: HDS 12 Gen 3 Issue [Re: jgf131/tx]
grout-scout Offline
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 12/08/08
Posts: 5783
Loc: Boerne, Texas
One quick question... Do you also have the 2d sonar transducer hooked up?

Top



© 1998-2017 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide