Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Monica-Henin, RattlesnakeDan, Mapchief, WhateverFloatsYourBoat, Bigfishingman2008
108032 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 88655
hopalong 78895
Pilothawk 76397
John175® 67605
JDavis7873® 67390
FattyMcButterpants 60868
Derek 🐝 60292
Tritonman 57998
LoneStarSon® 54413
SkeeterRonnie 53367
facebook
Forum Stats
108032 Members
60 Forums
811542 Topics
10277964 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Topic Options
#11780576 - 08/16/16 05:13 PM Lowrance/Bass Cat Sabre
Hogdaddy Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 05/08/02
Posts: 131
Loc: Valley View Texas, USA
I own a 2014 BC Sabre which came with and is wired for a Lowrance Elite 5 DSI. I have a slightly older HDS 5SX gen 2 unit that I would like to replace the Elite with. Unfortunately, the connectors and transducer are different. Any suggestions on how to make this as simple as possible.........for a shade tree mechanic???? Thanks in advance.

Top
#11896369 - 10/23/16 11:07 PM Re: Lowrance/Bass Cat Sabre [Re: Hogdaddy]
Arkansas_Fisherman Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 06/16/11
Posts: 37
Loc: Hot Springs, AR
I've done the swap myself. Take the exhaust cover off the rear on the starboard side, route the new transducer cables, power cables through the side of the boat. There's a hole under the console in front of the throttle handle. Take an old fishing rod, some people buy some fiberglass rods at harbor freight to do this too, but tie your new cables to the end of the Rod, push them through up to that hole. You can reach inside that hole (it's tight but can be done) and grab the new wires.
_________________________
2014 Bass Cat Sabre
2014 Mercury Pro XS 150 - 68.3 MPH @ 5,750rpms
MotorGuide 24v 75lb
Lowrance HDS 7 Touch Units
G.Loomis Rods
Abu Garcia Revo SX/STX Reels

Top
#11896645 - 10/24/16 08:43 AM Re: Lowrance/Bass Cat Sabre [Re: Hogdaddy]
Wayne P. Online   content
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 11/16/10
Posts: 4065
Loc: Charlottesville, Va
It's easier than that. Since you already have cables to where you need them, tie a string to the ones you have and pull out the cables. Use the string to pull in the new ones.
_________________________
Humminbird Helix 12 CHIRP SI, 1198c SI, 1198c SI, ONIX 10 SI NT, Helix 7 CHIRP SI GPS G2, SOLIX 12 SI, 360, RC-1

Top
#11896852 - 10/24/16 10:32 AM Re: Lowrance/Bass Cat Sabre [Re: Wayne P.]
ring fry Offline
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 10/25/02
Posts: 5696
Loc: Fort Scott, Ks.
^^^This^^^ I keep a string tied at both ends all the time. I change electronics a lot more than I change boats.

SE Kansas grass grower
_________________________
2008 NCAA Mens Basketball Champions
GO JAYHAWKS


Top
#11897180 - 10/24/16 01:23 PM Re: Lowrance/Bass Cat Sabre [Re: Hogdaddy]
Arkansas_Fisherman Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 06/16/11
Posts: 37
Loc: Hot Springs, AR
In my case I could use the original transducer (HDI with an elite series), so I needed to run the lss-2 transducer. The power cable on the elite worked for the HDS.
_________________________
2014 Bass Cat Sabre
2014 Mercury Pro XS 150 - 68.3 MPH @ 5,750rpms
MotorGuide 24v 75lb
Lowrance HDS 7 Touch Units
G.Loomis Rods
Abu Garcia Revo SX/STX Reels

Top
#11897272 - 10/24/16 02:03 PM Re: Lowrance/Bass Cat Sabre [Re: Hogdaddy]
Capt Jerry Offline
Angler

Registered: 12/22/13
Posts: 322
Loc: Cedar Creek Lake
I would think you will be best served by installing the HDS transducer as a "shoot thru the hull" setup. You will get good readings at speed and can avoid mounting it outside on the transom.

I have a Sabre. I have a 5 inch unit in the dash, and I added an HDS 7 mounted on a handrail Ram mount. You may want to consider this in the future should you want to add more capability (such as side imaging).

You have a great model of boat. Enjoy.
_________________________
________________________________________

I fish because the voices in my head tell me to.

Top
#11912806 - 11/02/16 06:42 AM Re: Lowrance/Bass Cat Sabre [Re: Hogdaddy]
Gamblinman Offline
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 11/26/02
Posts: 3443
Loc: Yantis, TX
Shoot thru hull transducers work for 2D. For down and side scan transducers, they need to be mounted outside the hull for best performance.

Gman

Top



© 1998-2018 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide