Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
k333c333, steph5800, jimkyle, Mofishin1990, kdjb
102109 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 81796
hopalong 72965
Pilothawk 72480
JDavis7873® 67371
FattyMcButterpants 60426
John175 ® 59617
Tritonman 56432
Derek 55946
SkeeterRonnie 52350
LoneStarSon® 51901
facebook
Forum Stats
102109 Members
60 Forums
850413 Topics
11150908 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#11744289 - 07/27/16 05:54 AM New MK Fortrex with or without Universal Sonar?
DuctsZ7 Online   content
Angler

Registered: 05/23/12
Posts: 341
My MG bit the dust yesterday.

Going to replace with a MK Fortrex. Should I go with or without sonar?



Edited by DuctsZ7 (07/27/16 05:55 AM)

Top
#11744291 - 07/27/16 05:57 AM Re: New MK Fotrex with or without Universal Sonar? [Re: DuctsZ7]
McKinneyMike Online   content
Outdoorsman

Registered: 06/01/16
Posts: 146
Loc: McKinney, Texas
I would go without and use the one that comes with your FF/graph unit.

Top
#11744293 - 07/27/16 06:00 AM Re: New MK Fotrex with or without Universal Sonar? [Re: McKinneyMike]
Rickmb Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 07/07/12
Posts: 680
Loc: San Antonio
Originally Posted By: McKinneyMike
I would go without and use the one that comes with your FF/graph unit.

+1
_________________________
2012 Skeeter ZX190
2012 Yamaha 175 HPDI

Top
#11744310 - 07/27/16 06:18 AM Re: New MK Fotrex with or without Universal Sonar? [Re: DuctsZ7]
John175 ® Offline
Super Freak

Registered: 10/21/05
Posts: 59617
Loc: Computer
Without. I just bought one and put a Humminbird side imaging transducer on it connected to a 998.
_________________________


Top
#11744329 - 07/27/16 06:43 AM Re: New MK Fotrex with or without Universal Sonar? [Re: DuctsZ7]
dimitri Online   content
Extreme Angler

Registered: 08/12/09
Posts: 2060
Loc: Arlington TX
with

Top
#11744337 - 07/27/16 06:51 AM Re: New MK Fotrex with or without Universal Sonar? [Re: DuctsZ7]
SteezMacQueen Online   happy
Extreme Angler

Registered: 11/02/14
Posts: 2774
Loc: Red Oak, Galveston, and Pagosa...
Without....more guys are using DI/Sonar HD transducers anyways. So....it is mostly obsolete. Nice if you only plan on regular sonar.
_________________________
Daiwa
Megabass
Lews



Top
#11744371 - 07/27/16 07:27 AM Re: New MK Fotrex with or without Universal Sonar? [Re: DuctsZ7]
Neal G Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 11/06/09
Posts: 598
Loc: Texas
I was a guy going the "without" route but have had success going the "with" universal sonar for the last 5 years or so. I went from busting a transducer or two every year, carrying a spare and changing transducers out on the water to never having a problem.

I did experiment with the extra equipment that you can mount on your TM to protect the transducers but had mixed results with that - especially fishing grass. I prefer a clean with nothing attached to the motor.

Regardless either way will work equally well with Lowrance 2D or flashers.



Edited by Neal G (07/27/16 09:54 AM)
_________________________
Jocko 2016

Top
#11744394 - 07/27/16 07:40 AM Re: New MK Fotrex with or without Universal Sonar? [Re: DuctsZ7]
Classic Used Boats Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 01/07/04
Posts: 1189
Loc: Dallas, TX
Probably depends fishing style. If fishing shallow all the time, go with built in transducer. If you.like fishing deep, use transducer that matches your graph.
_________________________
www.MikeKernan.com

Top
#11744397 - 07/27/16 07:43 AM Re: New MK Fotrex with or without Universal Sonar? [Re: DuctsZ7]
PowPowOl'Son Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 05/03/16
Posts: 111
With. If nothing else, use it as an extra when you break yours off because you know you will.

Top
#11744475 - 07/27/16 08:33 AM Re: New MK Fotrex with or without Universal Sonar? [Re: PowPowOl'Son]
Happykamper Offline
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 01/20/07
Posts: 7196
Loc: Southlake, Texas
I went without because you cannot mount the total scan transducer otherwise.

Top
#11744485 - 07/27/16 08:41 AM Re: New MK Fotrex with or without Universal Sonar? [Re: DuctsZ7]
Bass N Beer Online   content
Pro Angler

Registered: 09/18/11
Posts: 606
Loc: Springtown, Texas
I went with. My front graph is linked thru the console graph, so I can still have side imaging. Although what I'm seeing on side imaging is 20' behind me. Ha.

Top
#11744566 - 07/27/16 09:21 AM Re: New MK Fotrex with or without Universal Sonar? [Re: PowPowOl'Son]
Fish AKA Jerry Offline
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 12/01/05
Posts: 6604
Loc: Happy Place
Originally Posted By: PowPowOl'Son
With. If nothing else, use it as an extra when you break yours off because you know you will.


This
_________________________


FREYED KNOT


Top
#11744695 - 07/27/16 10:13 AM Re: New MK Fotrex with or without Universal Sonar? [Re: DuctsZ7]
Trickster Online   content
TFF Guru

Registered: 07/27/07
Posts: 32606
Loc: Plano TX
I just bought one want went with the transducer. I use an external transducer but as a backup I got the adapter cable in case something happens to the external transducer.
_________________________

Top
#11744805 - 07/27/16 11:20 AM Re: New MK Fotrex with or without Universal Sonar? [Re: DuctsZ7]
plasma800 Offline
Angler

Registered: 10/13/14
Posts: 361
Loc: Montgomery Texas
I use my "with"

Top
#11744850 - 07/27/16 11:43 AM Re: New MK Fotrex with or without Universal Sonar? [Re: DuctsZ7]
LinkLowrance Online   content
Outdoorsman

Registered: 07/06/15
Posts: 181
Loc: Cisco, TX
Without. The one on my MK is junk and wouldn't even pick up a 1oz jig. Switched to the transducer that came with my unit and all is good.
_________________________


Screwy Lewy Lures
PB 13.01

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >



© 1998-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide