Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
texasguitar903, Bassin Jim, Riverrun, Amadeomejia, Lazzyman Fishing
102091 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 81776
hopalong 72940
Pilothawk 72465
JDavis7873® 67371
FattyMcButterpants 60426
John175 ® 59617
Tritonman 56415
Derek 55944
SkeeterRonnie 52350
LoneStarSon® 51899
facebook
Forum Stats
102091 Members
60 Forums
850221 Topics
11148071 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Topic Options
#11734285 - 07/21/16 10:09 AM Mounting Transducer
Ol'geezer Offline
Green Horn

Registered: 07/15/14
Posts: 7
Loc: Sachse, Texas
I have a Nitro Savage 884 it has a step back.
There was a HB wide vision that I replaced with a Helix 7 si.
Removed old unit and components installed new in same place old transducer was mounted has an "L" bracket on right side about 2' from motor (looks like good spot smooth water no rib).
1st time out broke plastic mount, emailed HB about it (asked for pictures - sent)
Placed screws into sides of mount Plastic broke even more.
HB asked for more pictures said looked like was mounted in wrong spot.
Bought a new mount (plastic only one you can buy)replaced went out to lake when on plane hole mount came off and lost transducer.
HB responded with not a good mounting place ( didn't say where it needed to go )
Bought a new transducer.
Looking for any one with info on good location for transducer, where it doesn't break.
Thanks for any feed back

Top
#11734535 - 07/21/16 12:05 PM Re: Mounting Transducer [Re: Ol'geezer]
44 Diesel Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 12/25/12
Posts: 2790
Loc: Burleson,TX

Top
#11735726 - 07/21/16 10:20 PM Re: Mounting Transducer [Re: Ol'geezer]
Bobby Milam Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 07/13/14
Posts: 1794
Loc: Arlington
do you have a picture of the transom?

Top
#11735943 - 07/22/16 06:56 AM Re: Mounting Transducer [Re: Ol'geezer]
SteezMacQueen Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 11/02/14
Posts: 2772
Loc: Red Oak, Galveston, and Pagosa...
I did the same thing with my Nitro. Wound up using a stainless steel trolling motor mount in the rear. I bolted it through the bottom of the hull, just behind the "step". It skims the water just right when on pad, so it still works up to about 30mph GPS. It's also tucked in tight enough that I haven't managed to damage it, yet, due to shallow water or backing into stumps. grin

IMO....the plastic mounts are JUNK! The first go around, they would "kick up" out of the mounts at around 10mph, making them useless for the rest of the trip. I would have to pull the boat and snap them back into place. Sucked.
_________________________
Daiwa
Megabass
Lews



Top
#11736690 - 07/22/16 01:18 PM Re: Mounting Transducer [Re: 44 Diesel]
mikemtx Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 11/07/10
Posts: 45
This^^

Top
#11736742 - 07/22/16 01:44 PM Re: Mounting Transducer [Re: Ol'geezer]
Ol'geezer Offline
Green Horn

Registered: 07/15/14
Posts: 7
Loc: Sachse, Texas



This is the mount on transom. I had it mounted where transducer a inch below bracket. thinking if I lifted transducer where bottom of mount and trans were level might work

Top
#11736746 - 07/22/16 01:45 PM Re: Mounting Transducer [Re: Ol'geezer]
Ol'geezer Offline
Green Horn

Registered: 07/15/14
Posts: 7
Loc: Sachse, Texas



This is the mount on transom. I had it mounted where transducer a inch below bracket. thinking if I lifted transducer where bottom of mount and trans were level might work

Top
#11736799 - 07/22/16 02:10 PM Re: Mounting Transducer [Re: Ol'geezer]
lipjerk Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 03/04/09
Posts: 1554
Loc: Lantana,Tx
Here is how I have mine mounted, 2000 Nitro 929cdx, I can get on plane and still have a reading. It is about a eighth inch under, no problems hitting anything, but I am heading to Roberts in the morning, and that may change nuts





Edited by lipjerk (07/22/16 02:14 PM)

Top
#11736805 - 07/22/16 02:12 PM Re: Mounting Transducer [Re: 44 Diesel]
Corey Stanley Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 10/26/09
Posts: 792
Loc: Tx
Originally Posted By: 44 Diesel



Only way I go anymore, I have not broken or knocked a transducer out of place since using them. Just make a call, tell them your setup and they will fit you with the parts you need.
_________________________
www.navionics.com

Top
#11737454 - 07/22/16 09:35 PM Re: Mounting Transducer [Re: Ol'geezer]
West Tex fishman Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 01/06/11
Posts: 116
Loc: Lubbock, Texas & Lake AH
Went to Cabela's and bought a pastic mounting board (maybe some type of polyethylene) that's designed for mounting of trolling motor brackets. 4"x12" and easily cut with skill saw. Mounted the bracket to the board with screws and then glued board to transom of my Ranger, with marine adhesive. Works like a charm and no holes drilled in hull. Should you need to remove it, just slide a stiff putty knife under the board and it'll come loose. Mounted it in the spring and fished heavy brush since, no problems and getting perfect read when on plane. $20 for mounting board and about $10 for the adhesive. I used about half the board, in order to have a good glueing surface area.

Top



© 1998-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide