Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
RushtonGregory, Bulletman77, thereason11, Lady808, PReaux
102720 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 82868
hopalong 74391
Pilothawk 73430
JDavis7873® 67377
FattyMcButterpants 60518
John175 ® 59880
Tritonman 56823
Derek 56406
SkeeterRonnie 52453
LoneStarSon® 52223
facebook
Forum Stats
102720 Members
61 Forums
859051 Topics
11269552 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Topic Options
#11705608 - 07/05/16 02:34 PM Lowrance and XI5
bbuchanan Offline
Green Horn

Registered: 05/11/16
Posts: 18
I recently purchased a lowrance HDS GEN 2 touch screen and a motorguide XI5. Everyhing is linked together so when I select the waypoint on the lowrance and accept that I want to let it take me there the boat starts heading to waypoint in the right heading but passes right over the waypoint and keeps going. I was assuming that it would stop on the waypoint. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. I have made sure that I have the most recent software update on the lowrance.

Top
#11705619 - 07/05/16 02:38 PM Re: Lowrance and XI5 [Re: bbuchanan]
Slewfoot Online   content
Extreme Angler

Registered: 03/27/02
Posts: 2193
Loc: E Texas
I think the pinpoint is a problem with it. Mine does the same thing. I don't even try it anymore. Also it goes somewhere else when I hit anchor. I have to walk it back to the brushpile. Supposedly that's a pinpoint problem too.

Top
#11706141 - 07/05/16 07:09 PM Re: Lowrance and XI5 [Re: bbuchanan]
fe1 Offline
Angler

Registered: 12/27/14
Posts: 348
Loc: Texarkana
Look into the MG software (dongle) update at a MG service center it might help.

Top
#11706204 - 07/05/16 07:41 PM Re: Lowrance and XI5 [Re: bbuchanan]
Slewfoot Online   content
Extreme Angler

Registered: 03/27/02
Posts: 2193
Loc: E Texas
Hafta see if Greg at lake Fork can do anything with it. He installed it all along with the lowrances.

Top
#11707014 - 07/06/16 08:46 AM Re: Lowrance and XI5 [Re: bbuchanan]
C Worthy Online   content
Extreme Angler

Registered: 10/28/11
Posts: 2126
Loc: Wylie
I think that this is what needs to be done to fix it. I have had the same setup twice now and mine works perfectly. There are two settings that need to be set. One it seems like you may already have right and that would be to set the lowrance to trolling. Then there is another setting where you tell the trolling motor how to react once it reaches a waypoint. Set that to anchor. With those two settings, the Xi5 will go to your waypoint from the lowrance or to where you touched the screen or whatever and when it reaches the waypoint it will go in anchor mode. Then I use the jog (arrow) keys to move my position in 5' increments until I get positioned like I want. Hope this helps.

Here is what I found on the net....

Autopilot control of the trolling motor
Selecting an Arrival mode
The autopilot switches from navigation mode to the selected arrival
mode when your vessel reaches the destination. Arrival mode is set
to Standby by default. Before starting a navigation mode or a turn
pattern, it is important to select an arrival mode that fits your
navigation needs. Refer to "Arrival mode" on page 13.
Anchor mode
Maintains your vessel position at a selected location.
Ú Note: When in anchor mode, your vessel orientation can be
affected by wind or currents.
The following occurs when you select to anchor at:
• Waypoint
Enables anchor mode when your vessel arrives at a selected
waypoint.
• Cursor
Enables anchor mode when your vessel arrives at the cursor
position.
• Here

Arrival mode
The trolling motor autopilot switches from navigation mode to the
selected arrival mode when your vessel reaches the destination.
Ú Note: Before starting a navigation mode or a turn pattern, it
is important to select an arrival mode that fits your
navigation needs.
Arrival modes are:
• Standby
Cancels autopilot activity and returns the vessel to handheld
remote or foot pedal control.
• Heading lock
Locks and maintains the last vessel heading.
• Anchor
Anchors the vessel at the current destination.
Enables anchor mode at your current location.


From your settings menu, Select: Autopilot. this is done in the Autopilot settings


Edited by C Worthy (07/06/16 09:49 AM)
_________________________

Top
#11707675 - 07/06/16 01:41 PM Re: Lowrance and XI5 [Re: bbuchanan]
Txmedic033 Offline
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 08/13/13
Posts: 3666
Loc: Longview, Tx
Yep. Autopilot settings. Then change the destination option to anchor.

Top
#11707932 - 07/06/16 03:36 PM Re: Lowrance and XI5 [Re: Slewfoot]
Gamblinman Online   content
Extreme Angler

Registered: 11/26/02
Posts: 2019
Loc: Yantis, TX
Originally Posted By: Slewfoot
Hafta see if Greg at lake Fork can do anything with it. He installed it all along with the lowrances.


LOL...That coonass is as computer illiterate as they come. A 5 year old has a better chance.


Gman


Edited by Gamblinman (07/06/16 03:36 PM)
_________________________


Top
#11709098 - 07/07/16 06:32 AM Re: Lowrance and XI5 [Re: bbuchanan]
BlueNitro Offline
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 06/08/10
Posts: 4136
Loc: Lewisville
C-Worthy nailed it!!!!

Easy fix to get it to work like you need it.

Also, enable to pop-ups on the screen so you can just touch near the way point and a gray box with the WP number will appear. Click on the box and the waypoint info screen will appear and there will be a "Go To" bottom on the bottom of the screen which you click on and then you will get a pop-up asking if you want to engage Autopilot. Click yes and you are on your way.

PM me if you have any questions or if your are not happy with the way the Xi5 unit is mounted (hitting trailer/docks, control head sticking out from the side of the boat, worried about it breaking off due to the limited mounting surface, etc.). Click on the links below to see how I can help.
_________________________
LiftSaver Trolling Motor Mounting Bracket - Patent Pending
www.liftsavertmmount.com
http://texasfishingforum.com/forums/ubbt...nt#Post11940135
http://www.shut-up-and-fish.com/

Top
#11717098 - 07/11/16 02:18 PM Re: Lowrance and XI5 [Re: bbuchanan]
bbuchanan Offline
Green Horn

Registered: 05/11/16
Posts: 18
It was autopilot setting. Thanks for the help!!!!

Top



© 1998-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide