Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
ddossey626, FlipUm, WeBeFishin88, AJG113, jig magician
103083 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 83602
hopalong 74919
Pilothawk 73761
JDavis7873® 67378
John175 ® 60852
FattyMcButterpants 60574
Tritonman 57156
Derek 56795
SkeeterRonnie 52556
LoneStarSon® 52394
facebook
Forum Stats
103083 Members
61 Forums
864020 Topics
11340490 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Topic Options
#11697176 - 06/30/16 07:32 AM Gps screen problem
mitchmoore01 Online   content
Outdoorsman

Registered: 02/09/16
Posts: 118
Loc: North Texas
I have an Hds 12 on my bow, and lately the screen will start flashing after about an hour of use. And last night, it turned off twice. Is it just a short in the rigging? Or is it something wrong with the unit? Any help would be greatly appreciated.
_________________________
Gig'em class of '20
2005 Skeeter ZX225
Latest YouTube "wanna be"
Channel link: https://m.youtube.com/channel/UC9O-1iGW73dc27Z2NE6RCsw

Top
#11697402 - 06/30/16 09:12 AM Re: Gps screen problem [Re: mitchmoore01]
jaw116 Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 05/18/16
Posts: 49
Loc: Houston, TX
I'm having the same problem with mine. Do you use Navionics? I bought their card and am now noticing that issue. Even after updating my unit t is still giving me trouble.

Top
#11697873 - 06/30/16 12:51 PM Re: Gps screen problem [Re: jaw116]
mitchmoore01 Online   content
Outdoorsman

Registered: 02/09/16
Posts: 118
Loc: North Texas
I use navionics, but without the card but mine is linked to my other unit, which I haven't had a problem with so far.and I wouldn't think it'd be doing that because of the card, they're made to be compatible. But at this moment I'm not totally sure on what my issue is.
Here in about a week I'll probably take it in to fun-n-sun, and I'll figure it out through them. I'll post what it is on this thread. But id prefer to know/do it myself.
_________________________
Gig'em class of '20
2005 Skeeter ZX225
Latest YouTube "wanna be"
Channel link: https://m.youtube.com/channel/UC9O-1iGW73dc27Z2NE6RCsw

Top
#11698453 - 06/30/16 07:15 PM Re: Gps screen problem [Re: mitchmoore01]
grout-scout Offline
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 12/08/08
Posts: 5470
Loc: Boerne, Texas
Is your graph connected to the battery directly or is it running through the cluster "F" of a factory harness?

Top
#11699344 - 07/01/16 09:50 AM Re: Gps screen problem [Re: mitchmoore01]
T Bird Offline
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 03/07/10
Posts: 4061
Loc: Temple, Texas USA
HDS 12 requires a lot of clean power. Going straight to the start battery will solve your problem. I also added an in line rotary on-off switch to my bow panel. Shut & Fish sells a nice pre assembled, fused wiring harness just for this purpose. Easy job too do yourself.


Edited by T Bird (07/01/16 09:51 AM)
_________________________

Top
#11699433 - 07/01/16 10:27 AM Re: Gps screen problem [Re: mitchmoore01]
shut-up-and-fish Online   content
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 02/08/10
Posts: 9226
Loc: Coppell Tx.

Yes as mentioned above. Start with wiring the unit direct to the starting battery. If the problem continues you are at the mercy of Lowrance customer service.

If you already have it wired to the starting battery, check your connections and if all is well then again you are at the mercy of Lowrance customer service.

http://www.shut-up-and-fish.com/advanced...pce&submit=

David @ shut-up-and-fish
972 822 9285
_________________________


It's all coming together and we have you covered @ Shut-Up-And-Fish LLC
for all your Humminbird, Minn Kota & Motorguide needs.
We install & educate as well!!! 972 737 8161


Top
#11700251 - 07/01/16 05:59 PM Re: Gps screen problem [Re: mitchmoore01]
LittleGazoo Online   content
Pro Angler

Registered: 10/22/10
Posts: 788
Loc: Big Sandy, TX
Do a quick test by turning the screen brightness down which will reduce the amps drawn.

Top
#11701095 - 07/02/16 11:24 AM Re: Gps screen problem [Re: mitchmoore01]
mitchmoore01 Online   content
Outdoorsman

Registered: 02/09/16
Posts: 118
Loc: North Texas
Thanks, I'm going to go check in about an hour. Thank y'all so much for the input. If it isn't currently run direct, I'll re-wire it. If it is I'll adjust the connection because it's a relatively new problem.
_________________________
Gig'em class of '20
2005 Skeeter ZX225
Latest YouTube "wanna be"
Channel link: https://m.youtube.com/channel/UC9O-1iGW73dc27Z2NE6RCsw

Top



© 1998-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide