Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
hillcountrybass, Linda Robert, Gnhattien, Robert black, Calexander
102726 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 82883
hopalong 74403
Pilothawk 73443
JDavis7873® 67377
FattyMcButterpants 60518
John175 ® 59904
Tritonman 56835
Derek 56432
SkeeterRonnie 52463
LoneStarSon® 52225
facebook
Forum Stats
102726 Members
61 Forums
859239 Topics
11272313 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Topic Options
#11693202 - 06/28/16 08:37 AM Spiderwire line breaks?
bigstack Offline
Green Horn

Registered: 06/25/16
Posts: 5
I am new to fishing... ok well I fished when i was a kid but am 39 now... I am definitely new to braided line.(at anyrate I want to state that I am not some veteran with all kinds of experience/knowledge to draw from)

I watched videos on tying knots etc etc... palomar , uni/doubleuni etc etc.

So I have gone out a few times in the last week with my baitcaster Abu garcia Revo SX and St croix rod( 6'6" medium heavy fast action 2-peice).
I bought and put on Spiderwire 10 pound braid.

I have tried with and without a leader of fluorocarbon 10 pound and monofilament 10 pound lines.... in the three trips that I have taken I have had the lures go flying off 6 times resulting in lost lures... is this common? I look at the end of the string and it appear that the line was broke/frayed.
at first i thought maybe the leaders were not tied on properly so i tried without a leader and it still happened.

is this defective line? am I casting to hard?

just frustrating to see a $1-8 lure go flying off into the distance never to be seen again.....only to do it again 30 minutes later.

I think I'm going to buy a different brand of line and i guess up it to 20 pound braid? (just pond bass fishing)

any other suggestions/thoughts?

(first post so if this is the wrong place for this then please move at your discretion)


Edited by bigstack (06/28/16 08:38 AM)

Top
#11693457 - 06/28/16 10:19 AM Re: Spiderwire line breaks? [Re: bigstack]
Cast Offline
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 07/31/12
Posts: 4773
Loc: North Texas - God's Country
Spider wire requires a special knot. It doesn't just break but I use fifty pound braid.
_________________________
Cast



Top
#11693825 - 06/28/16 12:50 PM Re: Spiderwire line breaks? [Re: bigstack]
bigstack Offline
Green Horn

Registered: 06/25/16
Posts: 5
what are you talking about a special knot?... their own website mentions the palomar and uni knots...

Top
#11693836 - 06/28/16 12:58 PM Re: Spiderwire line breaks? [Re: bigstack]
Cast Offline
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 07/31/12
Posts: 4773
Loc: North Texas - God's Country
There was text on the box describing the spider wire knot back when I spooled it up. But it's not the only knot that works.
_________________________
Cast



Top
#11694694 - 06/28/16 07:44 PM Re: Spiderwire line breaks? [Re: bigstack]
bigstack Offline
Green Horn

Registered: 06/25/16
Posts: 5
ya... this did not have it(on my box)...you got me excited for a second thinking there was an easy solution to the problem smile...

i think i am going to go waste some money on heavier line....see if that fixes the problem... cheaper than losing lures.

Top



© 1998-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide