Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
JustinStokesOutdoors, Gary D Watters, Don Dison, loop, Gadawgs
102735 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 82895
hopalong 74407
Pilothawk 73446
JDavis7873® 67377
FattyMcButterpants 60518
John175 ® 59917
Tritonman 56837
Derek 56446
SkeeterRonnie 52463
LoneStarSon® 52227
facebook
Forum Stats
102735 Members
61 Forums
859356 Topics
11274059 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#11688406 - 06/25/16 01:17 PM Do you use flourocarbon?
jp24 Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 01/09/10
Posts: 75
Loc: Texas
I searched to see if this topic was discussed here in the past year and couldn't find anything. Hoping a few of you will weigh in on both sides:

I use high-vis green Wally Marshall 4 and 6 lb. test on my crappie reels. I've been reading up on fluorocarbon, and the biggest advantage seems to be its sensitivity. Since feeling the bite is so critical -- and I know I've missed the inhale quite a few times recently, I'm thinking about switching.

I tried an inexpensive fluoro about a year ago, and didn't like it. I hear that of you use it, you should get the good stuff.

Top
#11688421 - 06/25/16 01:26 PM Re: Do you use flourocarbon? [Re: jp24]
fishin'aholic2 Offline
TFF Guru

Registered: 11/08/07
Posts: 12795
Loc: Irving, Texas
Assuming your talking about spooling up with flouro (not a leader). IMHO, Using just flouro for its sensitivity doesn't outweigh the negatives of not being able to see your line. Being able to see my line is a lot more important to me than having sensitive line (especially this time of year). If you have a good rod you should be able to feel the bite no matter what type of line you have. If you are looking for a sensitive line with visibility then I would get some hi-vis braid (nothing more sensitive).
_________________________

Text Joey at 817-897-1384 for great rod and rod repair rates!

www.youtube.com/KIDKRAPPIE

Top
#11688434 - 06/25/16 01:38 PM Re: Do you use flourocarbon? [Re: jp24]
bush hog Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 06/12/13
Posts: 1868
Loc: Beckville, TX
Flouro will not take much abrasion and will break very easily. I swore off of it back when I bass fished. For the money, I don't think Mr. Crappie Hi-Vis can be beat. Like mentioned above, if you're not watching you're line then you're probably missing bites.

Top
#11688440 - 06/25/16 01:44 PM Re: Do you use flourocarbon? [Re: jp24]
cellis Offline
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 05/15/02
Posts: 7366
Loc: Arlington
I like it for a leader.
_________________________

Top
#11688463 - 06/25/16 02:08 PM Re: Do you use flourocarbon? [Re: jp24]
Slewfoot Online   content
Extreme Angler

Registered: 03/27/02
Posts: 2199
Loc: E Texas
I like it on my baitcasters. Don't use it on spinning reels.

Top
#11688677 - 06/25/16 05:36 PM Re: Do you use flourocarbon? [Re: cellis]
Gamblinman Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 11/26/02
Posts: 2036
Loc: Yantis, TX
Originally Posted By: cellis
I like it for a leader.


+1
_________________________


Top
#11688698 - 06/25/16 05:53 PM Re: Do you use flourocarbon? [Re: jp24]
rockhopper Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 04/28/09
Posts: 888
Loc: Boyd, TX
I've tried red label seaguar and didn't like the memory problems it gives for a small spinning reel. Sunline FC Sniper is pretty good after you use it for a little bit but it is pricey.
_________________________
Lake Bridgeport Crappie Guide Service
817-223-0805

Top
#11688722 - 06/25/16 06:11 PM Re: Do you use flourocarbon? [Re: jp24]
Fishbonz Offline
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 12/30/08
Posts: 3784
Loc: Desoto,Tx. Dallas county
I have use all type`s of Crappie Line from mono to fluoro to braid and each one has their pros & cons.I think it depends on your fishing situation.Sometimes you have to be a bit flexible in my humble opinion to increase your chances of getting the crappie.I use to toss a jig and let it swing back vertical before I even thought about a bite until I was chastised by an elderly gentleman at a fishing barge.His exact words to me were "Young man How many time are you going to let that (censored) fish bite before you set a (censored)hook in him?" I was new to line watching and didn`t know what to look for. All I knew was the thump feeling.He explained to me that sometimes you don`t always get that so you have to watch while you are waiting.Since then I have become a devoted line watcher and I have fished with different high vis lines but the one line that is my all time favorite is Hi Vis Gold Crappie Mono by Stren.


Edited by Fishbonz (06/25/16 07:08 PM)
_________________________

Horace aka Fishbonz

Top
#11689102 - 06/25/16 10:33 PM Re: Do you use flourocarbon? [Re: jp24]
TroyKing Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 09/28/14
Posts: 735
Loc: Carthage Tx
I will use it for a leader...and have some 4lb on a few rigs that I use for casting and reeling a 1/32 oz jig...it's not a game changer... I like the way it sinks,and it is more sensitive... the bad thing is it has a lot of memory...also if you don't load the spool just right it will all jump off...good luck with it.
_________________________
The driving force and secret desire of every bass fisherman, is to one day be a crappie fisherman............Could it be that the good Lord just smilies and looks the other way when a fisherman tells a lie?

Top
#11689128 - 06/25/16 10:53 PM Re: Do you use flourocarbon? [Re: jp24]
Im RICK JAMES Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 02/13/09
Posts: 736
Loc: Alvord,tx
I use floro on every reel. All spinning reels have 20' leader to braid. Not sure why I don't seem to have all the issues everyone else seems to have. I catch all species and tournament fish with light floro. Maybe people tend to leave it on to long without changing it or maybe don't tie the right knots? To me the clearer line the better. Sure sometimes it doesn't matter the visibility of the line but why chance it?
_________________________
It's a dog eat dog world and I'm wearing milkbone underwear

2015 Skeeter ZX225 (Lil Mule)

Top
#11689251 - 06/26/16 04:52 AM Re: Do you use flourocarbon? [Re: jp24]
SKEETER_MAN_225 Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 10/25/07
Posts: 2908
Loc: TEXAS
I use fluorocarbon on all my bass stuff and crappie stuff until I bought a spool of the 6 pound test camo mr crappie line and I have to say I'm very impressed with how it has handled what I put it through!
Has very little memory and is very abrasion resistant. Plus you can't beat the price I paid 5$ for the 500 yard spool at the marina.
_________________________
Pete B. Hernandez
Matthew 4:19

www.tackledepot.com

Top
#11689635 - 06/26/16 11:03 AM Re: Do you use flourocarbon? [Re: jp24]
Pintail711 Offline
Angler

Registered: 08/11/15
Posts: 383
Loc: Longview, Tx
I use trilene big game 8lb hi vis and a flouro leader with jigs. I've been using a barrel swivel to help with line twist. For shooting docks, it's a tough decision between flouro and mono. You can definitely feel the bite better with flouro but the mono shoots further... Whatever you buy, don't buy anything that says Pline... That stuff is junk. Suffix Seige mono seems to be good. Very smooth and doesn't have a lot of memory...
_________________________
You think I like to duck hunt? I love to crappie fish!

Top
#11689641 - 06/26/16 11:06 AM Re: Do you use flourocarbon? [Re: jp24]
onfirecrappie Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 02/12/13
Posts: 191
Loc: Gunter,Texas
I haven't used the flouro. I almost always use braid just for the sensitivity and strength. Lately I have been using mono on occasion because I hate the way the braid wraps around everything. Plus I can buy the braid on eBay for 18 bucks ,I can get 1000 meters of line from Shanghai China and the quality seems to be as good as expensive braids I've bought here.

Top
#11689680 - 06/26/16 11:41 AM Re: Do you use flourocarbon? [Re: Pintail711]
fishin'aholic2 Offline
TFF Guru

Registered: 11/08/07
Posts: 12795
Loc: Irving, Texas
Originally Posted By: Pintail711
I use trilene big game 8lb hi vis and a flouro leader with jigs. I've been using a barrel swivel to help with line twist. For shooting docks, it's a tough decision between flouro and mono. You can definitely feel the bite better with flouro but the mono shoots further... Whatever you buy, don't buy anything that says Pline... That stuff is junk. Suffix Seige mono seems to be good. Very smooth and doesn't have a lot of memory...


IMHO, I definitely wouldn't shoot docks with Flouro. Flouro is very hard to see and you will miss bites. Not to mention Flouro sinks faster than mono and you want the jig to sink as slowly as possible.
_________________________

Text Joey at 817-897-1384 for great rod and rod repair rates!

www.youtube.com/KIDKRAPPIE

Top
#11692725 - 06/27/16 09:44 PM Re: Do you use flourocarbon? [Re: jp24]
SlabHappy Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 02/16/13
Posts: 1198
I'm use 6lb flouro. Put mono backer, tape with electrical tape, and about 100' of flouro. Works for me. Change the flouro once a year. I'm use vanish and trilene. Nothing against the rest. Like Boneheads braid with leader, but got tired of getting the barrel swivel caught on my eye. I'm built my rods, and used 1mm guide with 3mm tip.

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >



© 1998-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide