Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Fisherman954, Mud Liger, Joe111, EL Mike, onecoolguyhere
102701 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 82841
hopalong 74353
Pilothawk 73405
JDavis7873® 67377
FattyMcButterpants 60518
John175 ® 59858
Tritonman 56791
Derek 56400
SkeeterRonnie 52446
LoneStarSon® 52203
facebook
Forum Stats
102700 Members
61 Forums
858643 Topics
11263908 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Topic Options
#11681011 - 06/21/16 07:47 PM Have iPilot w/Link...should I get 5 port switch or just connect to one HB unit?
ThyWillBeDone Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 04/05/16
Posts: 54
The 5 port switch is almost $270 and not really sure how I am going to be using the iPilot w/Link system. Hummingbird customer service did confirm that if I want to network more than one unit, I'd have to go with a 5 port switch and run cables from the iPilot w/Link and both HB units to the waterproof switch (plus get electric to the switch).

I have a Humminbird 899ci at the console (going to trade in the compact ducer for the HD ducer for the extra $85) and a 999ci at the bow (that comes with the HD ducer). I was thinkin' of just connecting the iPilot to the bow unit.

Anyone network two HB units using the 5 port switch? If so, which unit do you use more with the iPilot w/Link...the bow or the console unit? Are you running just DI on the bow or do you occasionally switch to SI on the bow unit (if your unit has both capabilities)?

I am a newbie and just wondering if I want to run power to a 5 port switch and go the extra mile and extra expense, or if I will be just fine with connecting just the bow or just the console unit to the iPilot w/Link. Any feedback as to which one would be most helpful, if I only connect one with an ethernet cord and the adapter/dongle?

Lastly, what features do you find yourself using with the iPilot w/Link the most when you are at the bow versus when you are at the console (again, let me know if you are using DI or SI)? I imagine I will be using the spot lock/anchor feature the most. Have LakeMaster version 3.0 micro card so I will try and figure out "follow the contour" eventually. Anything that gets frustrating with these setups?

***Feel free to answer any of the questions (no need to answer every single one - I know I threw a lot out there). Any feedback is appreciated. Thank you in advance!


Edited by ThyWillBeDone (06/21/16 08:01 PM)
Edit Reason: spelling

Top
#11681026 - 06/21/16 07:56 PM Re: Have iPilot w/Link...should I get 5 port switch or just connect to one HB unit? [Re: ThyWillBeDone]
44 Diesel Online   content
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 12/25/12
Posts: 3418
Loc: Burleson,TX
I run 2 helix units along with the I pilot link. The main reason for this is so my 2 helix units can network with each other. The only way to do this along with link system is with the 5 port switch. I can control the Link from either unit. You can get that 5 port switch for closer to $200

Top
#11681031 - 06/21/16 08:00 PM Re: Have iPilot w/Link...should I get 5 port switch or just connect to one HB unit? [Re: 44 Diesel]
ThyWillBeDone Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 04/05/16
Posts: 54
Thanks man! I'll look around for better pricing.

***Keep all the info. rolling...I need to learn from those with experience to cut down my learning curve as much as possible. Truly appreciated.

Top



© 1998-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide