Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
hillcountrybass, Linda Robert, Gnhattien, Robert black, Calexander
102726 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 82883
hopalong 74403
Pilothawk 73443
JDavis7873® 67377
FattyMcButterpants 60518
John175 ® 59904
Tritonman 56835
Derek 56432
SkeeterRonnie 52463
LoneStarSon® 52225
facebook
Forum Stats
102726 Members
61 Forums
859239 Topics
11272288 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#11671095 - 06/16/16 10:20 AM Bait tank for shad?
Gonzo89 Online   content
Outdoorsman

Registered: 05/12/15
Posts: 98
Loc: North Richland hills, TX
I'm looking to buy a bait tank to put in my little 16.5ft boat. I was looking at a Keepalive tank or possibly a Kodak. The price point is just right for me (around $300). I don't need to keep them alive for days, just for about 6 hours or so. Does anybody have any knowledge or experience about this tank? I've also heard of a tank called bait jacuzzi but I haven't heard much about them. Thanks for any advice!

Top
#11671155 - 06/16/16 10:42 AM Re: Bait tank for shad? [Re: Gonzo89]
Andrew Taylor Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 03/01/14
Posts: 747
Loc: Emory, TX
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0014454MU/ref=nav_timeline_asin?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1

i use this one. i run a 21' CC Skeeter and it keeps my bait alive all day and holds plenty. I can vouch for it, however im going to purchase a 40gal before too long.

Top
#11671236 - 06/16/16 11:27 AM Re: Bait tank for shad? [Re: Gonzo89]
G Love Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 06/03/10
Posts: 1653
Loc: Weatherford, TX
Originally Posted By: Andrew Taylor
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0014454MU/ref=nav_timeline_asin?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1

i use this one. i run a 21' CC Skeeter and it keeps my bait alive all day and holds plenty. I can vouch for it, however im going to purchase a 40gal before too long.


That holds shad Andrew?


Edited by G Love (06/16/16 11:28 AM)
_________________________

Top
#11671239 - 06/16/16 11:30 AM Re: Bait tank for shad? [Re: Gonzo89]
charlescox Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 05/14/02
Posts: 524
Loc: malakoff tx usa
filtration is an absolute necessity for keeping shad. Also there is a whole litany of tricks to the trade. I would look into one of the smaller gray line tanks. They have great support as well.

Top
#11671278 - 06/16/16 11:52 AM Re: Bait tank for shad? [Re: Gonzo89]
BrandoA Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 06/09/11
Posts: 2794
Loc: Marble Falls
That will keep a few Yellowtails alive but I don't think it would work for gizzards. For shad I would definitely checkout the smaller Graylines.

Top
#11671339 - 06/16/16 12:12 PM Re: Bait tank for shad? [Re: Gonzo89]
Gonzo89 Online   content
Outdoorsman

Registered: 05/12/15
Posts: 98
Loc: North Richland hills, TX
I stopped and picked one up at academy along with some shad keeper treatment on the way to work. I will use that and some frozen water bottles to try and keep the temperature down. I'm only trying to keep them alive and kicking for about 4-5 hours. If they start dying like crazy I will just return it. I'll also be sure to use another container and transfer them to the clean tank. I might use some salt as well

Top
#11671464 - 06/16/16 01:16 PM Re: Bait tank for shad? [Re: Gonzo89]
True Bass Offline
Angler

Registered: 06/09/03
Posts: 419
Loc: Godley, Texas
You need to be real careful using ice to cool the water down. Yes you can keep them alive in the tank longer but as soon as they hit the warm water it shocks them and they die. It is pointless to keep them alive in the tank if they die on your hook as soon as they hit the water. I built a home made 30 gallon tank and have been using it for 10 years. It took me a year long learning curve to figure everything out. I now can go catch my shad, threadfin and gizzard alike, up to 200 and keep them alive for 24 to 48 hours. The key is filtration, I am using a home made filter utilizing layered mediums of pillow stuffing, aquarium gravel, pillow stuffing, active carbon, more pillow stuffing so on and so on, then up some 1" pvc to a T spray bar which does 3 things. It cools the water by evaporation, aerates the water and creates flow. Add salt to the water and even a de-foaming agent if necessary. I do not use Ice anymore. I had a total of $50.00 invested in this tank when I built it. The biggest expense being the 500-600 gph bilge pump used.


Edited by True Bass (06/16/16 02:27 PM)
_________________________


John
Ballistics Technologist

Top
#11671554 - 06/16/16 01:52 PM Re: Bait tank for shad? [Re: True Bass]
BrandoA Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 06/09/11
Posts: 2794
Loc: Marble Falls
Originally Posted By: True Bass
You need to be real careful using ice to cool the water down. Yes you can keep them alive in the tank longer but as soon as they hit the warm water it shocks them and they die. It is pointless to keep them alive in the tank if they die on your hook as soon as they hit the water. I built a home made 30 gallon tank and have been using it for 10 years. It took me a year long learning curve to figure everything out. I now can go catch my shad, threadfin and gizzard alike, up to 200 and keep them alive for 24 to 48 hours. The key is filtration, I am using a home made filter utilizing layered mediums of pillow stuffing, aquarium gravel, pillow stuffing, active carbon, more pillow stuffing so on and so on, then up some 1" pvc to a T spray bar which does 2 things. It cools the water by evaporation and also aerates the water and creates flow. Add salt to the water and even a de-foaming agent if necessary. I do not use Ice anymore. I had a total of $50.00 invested in this tank when I built it. The biggest expense being the 500-600 gph bilge pump used.


My experience is most of the time they come back around. Something else that will cool the water is pumping pure Oxygen in threw a stone. The spray bar defiantly works.

Top
#11671555 - 06/16/16 01:52 PM Re: Bait tank for shad? [Re: Gonzo89]
SALLYSUE Offline
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 02/26/05
Posts: 3486
Loc: BELTON TEXAS
Greyline are super good

Top
#11671604 - 06/16/16 02:12 PM Re: Bait tank for shad? [Re: Gonzo89]
CypertJ Offline
Angler

Registered: 11/22/08
Posts: 263
Loc: Canton, Tx
http://www.academy.com/shop/pdp/rite-hite-bait--fillet-cooler#repChildCatid=515102

I bought this one last year from academy, works fine for me, I did add a second aerator and use a little ice in the summer. I don't fish with shad very often but when I do they go in this tank and do just fine for a few hours.
_________________________
You can kill a fly with a sledgehammer,
But do you really need to son???

Top
#11671606 - 06/16/16 02:13 PM Re: Bait tank for shad? [Re: Gonzo89]
tgravley aka lewisvillecatfish Online   content
TFF Guru

Registered: 02/06/09
Posts: 12724
Loc: highland village/lake Lewisvil...
Add a handful of water softener salt per ten gallons
_________________________
I live with Fear everyday but sometimes she lets me go fishin
Lewisvillecatfish.com

PB 65#
www.lewisvillecatfish.com
Facebook.com/Tom Gravley
www.youtube.com/gravleybrats

Top
#11671640 - 06/16/16 02:25 PM Re: Bait tank for shad? [Re: Gonzo89]
Cast Online   content
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 07/31/12
Posts: 4773
Loc: North Texas - God's Country
Water softener salt is just salt, unless you grab Potassium Chloride, which is also 'Water Softener Salt', and very expensive. Don't do that.
_________________________
Cast



Top
#11671645 - 06/16/16 02:26 PM Re: Bait tank for shad? [Re: Gonzo89]
beltonbill Offline
Angler

Registered: 01/23/13
Posts: 309
Salt is one of the keys to survival.

Top
#11671715 - 06/16/16 03:02 PM Re: Bait tank for shad? [Re: Gonzo89]
captaincam3 Offline
Angler

Registered: 12/30/08
Posts: 305
Loc: FTW
Some of the brands like the Kodiak, don't have plumbing or pumps included, so you have to be careful. I ordered a Kodiak a couple of years ago because of the size, and it didn't have any plumbing. I had to make a bunch of modifications. It worked well, until it blew out of my boat in Arkansas. I ordered another one from a fake company and never received it. That is another thing to watch out with ordering bait tanks. Of course, most people do more research than I do. Those Thin wall academy jobs wont work very well in Texas summers.
_________________________
2012 Nautic Star 2200 Sport

Top
#11671997 - 06/16/16 05:05 PM Re: Bait tank for shad? [Re: Gonzo89]
okienotfrommuskogee Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 06/12/13
Posts: 41
I tried a ton of different mods to the bait tank that came standard on my Blue Wave, $300 later I still had dead shad. Got so mad after the upteenth trip with dead shad that I pulled boat out of water went straight to local dealer and bought a grayline. Now I can usually catch bait friday evenings when I get to lake and fish em' till sunday when I leave.

Other option, catch the fish so fast that the shad don't have time to die...yet to figure that one out though.

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >



© 1998-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide