Forum Statistics
Forums59
Topics1,038,949
Posts13,956,253
Members144,183
Most Online39,925
Dec 30th, 2023
Print Thread
Mirrored Sunglass Lenses- Good or Bad Idea for Freshwater? #11663985 06/13/16 03:53 PM
W
winchester44 Offline OP
Pro Angler
OP Offline
Pro Angler
W
Hey All,

Was currently looking for some new fishing shades and was wondering what other's experiences were with mirrored lenses in Freshwater. I do understand the mirror layer is more than just an aesthetic and does serve a purpose (in the higher end polarized glasses anyway). My understanding is that it further reduces light transmission in especially bright environments like you might find on the ocean. Anyhow, I've been chasing carp for a few years now and had an interesting experience after I handed my sling pack to a buddy one day lat year out on the flats at Ray Roberts. We were working our way across the flats and were separated by perhaps a hundred yards and I noticed a quite brilliant flash coming off the strap of my sling pack. I immediately realized what it was. It was a barely 1" wide cheap zinger I used for forceps to keep them handy. It had a chrome finish like this one: http://www.lelandfly.com/Red-Truck-Nipper-Zinger-image.jpg

The fact that a 1" piece of polished metal could flash that brightly like a signal mirror really left an impression on me. A quick hit with a rattle can of flat black solved the problem, but it got me thinking about light reflections and my preference for mirrored lenses might or might not have been responsible for at least some of the thousands of fish I've spooked over the years.