Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Jlaffity5, JustinStokesOutdoors, Gary D Watters, Don Dison, loop
102736 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 82899
hopalong 74407
Pilothawk 73452
JDavis7873® 67377
FattyMcButterpants 60518
John175 ® 59935
Tritonman 56843
Derek 56448
SkeeterRonnie 52466
LoneStarSon® 52228
facebook
Forum Stats
102736 Members
61 Forums
859390 Topics
11274631 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Topic Options
#11658418 - 06/10/16 07:17 AM power pole has a mind of it's own.
smooth move Online   content
Pro Angler

Registered: 10/14/12
Posts: 884
Loc: bayou vista,tx
yesterday my power pole went down while we were underway. i raised it up and a few minutes later it did it again. when we stopped, the motor was running, but not going down any farther. weird. i think the problem is in the remote control box. i had to cut the power wire to the motor to get it to stop. i'll investigate it today. we just tied it off and kept fishing yesterday. i'll post the results.
_________________________
es le bon ton roulet

Top
#11659138 - 06/10/16 12:56 PM Re: power pole has a mind of it's own. [Re: smooth move]
smooth move Online   content
Pro Angler

Registered: 10/14/12
Posts: 884
Loc: bayou vista,tx
i disconnected the remote box and the dash switch. when i hook it to the battery, the motor starts running and the pole is trying to go up even though it's already all the way up. the only thing left is the relay box. must be shorted out inside and it's a sealed box. trying to get their tech people now. weird that when i was running it was trying to go down, now it's trying to go up.
_________________________
es le bon ton roulet

Top
#11661733 - 06/11/16 10:47 PM Re: power pole has a mind of it's own. [Re: smooth move]
crankbait745 Online   content
Pro Angler

Registered: 06/02/12
Posts: 583
Loc: Forney
Mine was doing the same thing. Turns out it was the switch on the top of the actual pump motor was screwed up. Called power Pole and they sent a new one problem solved.

Top
#11661966 - 06/12/16 07:40 AM Re: power pole has a mind of it's own. [Re: crankbait745]
smooth move Online   content
Pro Angler

Registered: 10/14/12
Posts: 884
Loc: bayou vista,tx
Originally Posted By: crankbait745
Mine was doing the same thing. Turns out it was the switch on the top of the actual pump motor was screwed up. Called power Pole and they sent a new one problem solved.

thanks. mine is an older one and doesn't have a switch on top of the motor. i've got it narrowed down to the relay or the wire running from the relay to the dash switch. checking the wire for continuity today. PP's tech guy says maybe the wires wore through in the conduit and are touching each other somewhere. if not the wires, then it's got to be the relay---$120----could be worse.
_________________________
es le bon ton roulet

Top
#11662531 - 06/12/16 02:51 PM Re: power pole has a mind of it's own. [Re: smooth move]
smooth move Online   content
Pro Angler

Registered: 10/14/12
Posts: 884
Loc: bayou vista,tx
Bingo! the wires from the switch to the relay were squashed. they're in a jacket and separately insulated also. i guess after 10 years of being squashed up in the conduit they wore thru and touched. anyway, ran new 3 conductor wire and it works on the dash switch. ran out of gas today. will hook up the remote a try to sync it to see if it works also.
_________________________
es le bon ton roulet

Top
#11663485 - 06/13/16 06:50 AM Re: power pole has a mind of it's own. [Re: smooth move]
Flippin-Out Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 02/25/15
Posts: 1564
Loc: Magnolia, TX
Originally Posted By: smooth move
yesterday my power pole went down while we were underway. i raised it up and a few minutes later it did it again. when we stopped, the motor was running, but not going down any farther. weird. i think the problem is in the remote control box. i had to cut the power wire to the motor to get it to stop. i'll investigate it today. we just tied it off and kept fishing yesterday. i'll post the results.


Don't you have fuses? (You should, 30A I believe) Removing a fuse is a lot less messy than cutting your wiring!

Top
#11663816 - 06/13/16 09:53 AM Re: power pole has a mind of it's own. [Re: Flippin-Out]
smooth move Online   content
Pro Angler

Registered: 10/14/12
Posts: 884
Loc: bayou vista,tx
Originally Posted By: Flippin-Out
Originally Posted By: smooth move
yesterday my power pole went down while we were underway. i raised it up and a few minutes later it did it again. when we stopped, the motor was running, but not going down any farther. weird. i think the problem is in the remote control box. i had to cut the power wire to the motor to get it to stop. i'll investigate it today. we just tied it off and kept fishing yesterday. i'll post the results.


Don't you have fuses? (You should, 30A I believe) Removing a fuse is a lot less messy than cutting your wiring!

yeah, but the fuse is one of those little grey boxes with two terminals with nuts on em and the one side was pretty corroded. much easier to cut the wire while on the water. either way i'm glad it was just the wiring. saved $120.
_________________________
es le bon ton roulet

Top



© 1998-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide