Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Raggedycat, tnols, phay, Grant Miller, Tx Pitching
103150 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 83684
hopalong 74973
Pilothawk 73815
JDavis7873® 67378
John175 ® 61052
FattyMcButterpants 60592
Tritonman 57170
Derek 56843
SkeeterRonnie 52571
LoneStarSon® 52413
facebook
Forum Stats
103150 Members
62 Forums
865415 Topics
11360855 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Topic Options
#11647562 - 06/04/16 07:54 PM Manually entering waypoint coordinates on Lowrance?
coachmas Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 02/24/04
Posts: 2381
Loc: Back at Palestine
Had this issue come up with a buddy this weekend. We had a GPS coordinate for an offshore spot. The unit we got it from listed the degree and then a decimal point and then rest of numbers. On my buddies touch 7 and his gen 2 8, the coordinates were degrees, minutes and then decimal. Couldn't figure it out and no cell service. Example:

Coordinates we were trying to enter looked like:

N53.6725
W100.1234

Our unit wanted : N53' 30.345, W100' 01.123

It was a different format. Thanks for the help. Coach
_________________________
Wishin I was Fishin!!!


Top
#11647660 - 06/04/16 08:47 PM Re: Manually entering waypoint coordinates on Lowrance? [Re: coachmas]
grout-scout Offline
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 12/08/08
Posts: 5485
Loc: Boerne, Texas
Yes, there is 2 different formats for GPS coords. I don't recall if they are in the setup menu or chart menu; but if you go through enough menus you will find it (for next time).

I prefer the degree minute seconds setting and that's the ones your graph currently has programmed to use. I'm guessing the other option is more of a metric system.

Top
#11647808 - 06/04/16 09:53 PM Re: Manually entering waypoint coordinates on Lowrance? [Re: coachmas]
2015fordnut Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 06/24/09
Posts: 1724
Loc: Garland, TX
I use this converter for my LMS-522, it's the best one I have found.

http://www.earthpoint.us/Convert.aspx

Those will be
N32*40.350
W100*07.404


Edited by 2015fordnut (06/04/16 10:10 PM)
_________________________

Top
#11648107 - 06/05/16 07:41 AM Re: Manually entering waypoint coordinates on Lowrance? [Re: coachmas]
Bandit 53 Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 04/22/11
Posts: 29
You need to go into system settings and select the coordinate system format to match the format of the coordinates you desire to enter. I don't have access to either of my units, but I believe your choices are (1)degrees, minutes, seconds or (2) Degrees, decimal degrees. Whichever format you choose, the unit will convert all existing waypoints to that format.

Example:N53' 40' 21" (degrees, minutes seconds)

Example: N53.6725 (degrees, decimal degrees)



Edited by Bandit 53 (06/05/16 12:03 PM)

Top
#11648179 - 06/05/16 08:30 AM Re: Manually entering waypoint coordinates on Lowrance? [Re: coachmas]
Wayne P. Offline
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 11/16/10
Posts: 3493
Loc: Charlottesville, Va
There are THREE GPS formats.

DD.DDDDD which is Degrees, Decimal Degrees

DD MM.MMMM which is Degrees, Minutes, Decimal Minutes

DD MM SS which is Degrees, Minutes, Seconds and sometimes decimal seconds SS.SS

Just change the format in the unit settings and enter the format you have directly. Don't need to do any conversion.

Some maps have UTM coordinates using Easting and Northing numbers, you have to convert those to GPS coordinates.

Bandit 53, the first example you posted is Degrees Minutes Decimal Minutes.
_________________________
Humminbird Helix 12 CHIRP SI, 1198c SI, 1198c SI, ONIX 10 SI NT, Helix 7 CHIRP SI GPS G2, 360, RC-1

Top
#11648218 - 06/05/16 08:52 AM Re: Manually entering waypoint coordinates on Lowrance? [Re: coachmas]
Clouser Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 01/10/16
Posts: 227
How did you catch fish with out all the electronics, I don't use them and I still catch fish.

Top
#11648297 - 06/05/16 09:47 AM Re: Manually entering waypoint coordinates on Lowrance? [Re: Clouser]
grout-scout Offline
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 12/08/08
Posts: 5485
Loc: Boerne, Texas
Originally Posted By: Clouser
How did you catch fish with out all the electronics, I don't use them and I still catch fish.



Good for you, go read something else then.

Top
#11648300 - 06/05/16 09:48 AM Re: Manually entering waypoint coordinates on Lowrance? [Re: Wayne P.]
grout-scout Offline
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 12/08/08
Posts: 5485
Loc: Boerne, Texas
Originally Posted By: Wayne P.
There are THREE GPS formats.

DD.DDDDD which is Degrees, Decimal Degrees

DD MM.MMMM which is Degrees, Minutes, Decimal Minutes

DD MM SS which is Degrees, Minutes, Seconds and sometimes decimal seconds SS.SS

Just change the format in the unit settings and enter the format you have directly. Don't need to do any conversion.

Some maps have UTM coordinates using Easting and Northing numbers, you have to convert those to GPS coordinates.

Bandit 53, the first example you posted is Degrees Minutes Decimal Minutes.


Does Hbird give you the option to use all 3? I'm certain we only get 2.

Top
#11648497 - 06/05/16 12:04 PM Re: Manually entering waypoint coordinates on Lowrance? [Re: Wayne P.]
Bandit 53 Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 04/22/11
Posts: 29
Good catch Wayne! Have now corrected my post. I do not have my units available, so I couldn't remember how many formats were offered. I think your reply should help the OP out.


Edited by Bandit 53 (06/05/16 12:06 PM)

Top
#11648514 - 06/05/16 12:17 PM Re: Manually entering waypoint coordinates on Lowrance? [Re: grout-scout]
Wayne P. Offline
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 11/16/10
Posts: 3493
Loc: Charlottesville, Va
Originally Posted By: grout-scout
Originally Posted By: Wayne P.
There are THREE GPS formats.

DD.DDDDD which is Degrees, Decimal Degrees

DD MM.MMMM which is Degrees, Minutes, Decimal Minutes

DD MM SS which is Degrees, Minutes, Seconds and sometimes decimal seconds SS.SS

Just change the format in the unit settings and enter the format you have directly. Don't need to do any conversion.

Some maps have UTM coordinates using Easting and Northing numbers, you have to convert those to GPS coordinates.

Bandit 53, the first example you posted is Degrees Minutes Decimal Minutes.


Does Hbird give you the option to use all 3? I'm certain we only get 2.


Yes and so does Google Earth if you want to use that to establish waypoints.
My handheld Lowrance Endura has all three also.

The HDS Manual does not show the choices, just where the choices are located. Page 159 for the Gen3 units.


Edited by Wayne P. (06/05/16 12:27 PM)
_________________________
Humminbird Helix 12 CHIRP SI, 1198c SI, 1198c SI, ONIX 10 SI NT, Helix 7 CHIRP SI GPS G2, 360, RC-1

Top
#11653555 - 06/07/16 09:49 PM Re: Manually entering waypoint coordinates on Lowrance? [Re: coachmas]
coachmas Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 02/24/04
Posts: 2381
Loc: Back at Palestine
Thanks guys!! I knew there had to be a simple fix but couldn't figure it out in the water. Coach
_________________________
Wishin I was Fishin!!!


Top
#11653623 - 06/07/16 10:14 PM Re: Manually entering waypoint coordinates on Lowrance? [Re: coachmas]
grout-scout Offline
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 12/08/08
Posts: 5485
Loc: Boerne, Texas
I did find the menu the other day and it was a bit difficult to find. Here's what it looks like. Maybe Wayne can tell us what the 3 extra options mean??? I am obviously clueless.



Top
#11653858 - 06/08/16 07:18 AM Re: Manually entering waypoint coordinates on Lowrance? [Re: coachmas]
Wayne P. Offline
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 11/16/10
Posts: 3493
Loc: Charlottesville, Va
UTM is used a lot more worldwide than GPS co-ordinates. Lots of paper maps use that format. The numbers are Northings and Eastings.

Do a web search for those formats.
_________________________
Humminbird Helix 12 CHIRP SI, 1198c SI, 1198c SI, ONIX 10 SI NT, Helix 7 CHIRP SI GPS G2, 360, RC-1

Top



© 1998-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide