Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
hillcountrybass, Linda Robert, Gnhattien, Robert black, Calexander
102726 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 82877
hopalong 74397
Pilothawk 73441
JDavis7873® 67377
FattyMcButterpants 60518
John175 ® 59900
Tritonman 56835
Derek 56429
SkeeterRonnie 52463
LoneStarSon® 52225
facebook
Forum Stats
102726 Members
61 Forums
859199 Topics
11271630 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Topic Options
#11643001 - 06/02/16 03:03 PM shoot through VS transom mount transducer for lowrance hook 9
reel believer Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 05/27/16
Posts: 24
Just bought lowrance Hook 9 and need info on mounting transducer. 19ft promaster V hull. currently has shoot through on older lowrance unit. will transom mount be better for DI or will shoot through be OK? Transom has slight well so I'm not sure about where to mount if transom is best. Thanks for replys.

Top
#11643184 - 06/02/16 04:12 PM Re: shoot through VS transom mount transducer for lowrance hook 9 [Re: reel believer]
Stump jumper Online   content
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 04/19/04
Posts: 6983
Loc: Rockwall
I was told that downscan does not work with shoot trough hull. Do a search on it.

Top
#11643191 - 06/02/16 04:14 PM Re: shoot through VS transom mount transducer for lowrance hook 9 [Re: reel believer]
Capt Craig Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 08/25/09
Posts: 1045
Loc: Richland-Chambers
DI will not work through the hull. Your unit will function better all around with a transom mount.
_________________________
Capt. Craig Copeland

2013 Nautic Star 2110 Shallow Bay Boat

Nautic Star Boats Pro Staff (nauticstarboats.com)
Redneck Fish'n Jigs Pro Staff (redneckfishn.com)

Top
#11643471 - 06/02/16 06:51 PM Re: shoot through VS transom mount transducer for lowrance hook 9 [Re: Capt Craig]
Flippin-Out Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 02/25/15
Posts: 1564
Loc: Magnolia, TX
Originally Posted By: Capt Craig
DI will not work through the hull. Your unit will function better all around with a transom mount.


He's correct. The transducer must be in the water....

Top
#11643590 - 06/02/16 07:52 PM Re: shoot through VS transom mount transducer for lowrance hook 9 [Re: Flippin-Out]
reel believer Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 05/27/16
Posts: 24
thanks for the info fellas, now I just got to find the right spot. My boat has a small cut out like a tunnel in the transom. need to figure out if there is always going to be water in the spot that looks like the obvious place to mount it. anybody have any experience with mounting on a Promaster 19 ?

Top
#11654358 - 06/08/16 11:10 AM Re: shoot through VS transom mount transducer for lowrance hook 9 [Re: reel believer]
Baylor1970 Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 12/08/15
Posts: 29
From what I understand DI and SI only work if the transducer is in the water and the boat is moving less than 10MPH.
_________________________
Rick

www.LakeForkElectronics.com

Top
#11654407 - 06/08/16 11:25 AM Re: shoot through VS transom mount transducer for lowrance hook 9 [Re: reel believer]
Wayne P. Online   content
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 11/16/10
Posts: 3443
Loc: Charlottesville, Va
The down looking imaging WILL work as shoot-thru--same as 2D sonar.

Lowrance does not "recommend" Down Scan for shoot-thru.

Humminbird's Down Imaging transducer is suitable for shoot-thru and there is a model that comes with epoxy for that purpose.
_________________________
Humminbird Helix 12 CHIRP SI, 1198c SI, 1198c SI, ONIX 10 SI NT, Helix 7 CHIRP SI GPS G2, 360, RC-1

Top
#11657264 - 06/09/16 02:11 PM Re: shoot through VS transom mount transducer for lowrance hook 9 [Re: reel believer]
Jones Trolling Motor Offline
Angler

Registered: 05/01/11
Posts: 432
Loc: NE Texas/SW Arkansas
I have mounted several Lowrance DI transducers in the hull, and they will shoot through -- as long as it is a single layer fiberglass hull.
_________________________

www.jonestrollingmotor.com
texarkana, Ark/Tx

Top



© 1998-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide