Forum Stats
102726 Members
61 Forums
859239 Topics
11272288 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#11639876 - 06/01/16 10:29 AM Ray Hubbard Crappie (lack of)
BubbaToon Offline
Outdoorsman

Loc: Garland Texas
I've been fishing RH for almost 2 years now since the wife and I retired. I have my boat in a marina and I fish as often as I can, but I can't consistently find crappie! When I do find them, they are really small ones and I get a keeper for about every 15 under size fish. I've placed some "condos" and natural brush in 8 areas on the lake and still don't do well at all. I've fished the north trees, the south side main lake, every cove in the lake, and all over my piles and a few others that folks have suggested, I've even tried fishing on top of the levies without success. I have an 18 foot pontoon with a iPilot (80#), and a good Hummingbird with side and down image, so I have the tools, just not the results.

Here on the TFF, I really don't see a lot of folks posting about the RH crappie fishing. I can catch whites and hybrids, and can generally find them without issue, are there just not many crappie in this lake? I'm considering moving my boat to Lavon...

Maybe it's like my pappy used to tell me, maybe i'm just not holding my mouth right.

Any suggesstions from the old timers that have been on this lake a while?

#11639893 - 06/01/16 10:38 AM Re: Ray Hubbard Crappie (lack of) [Re: BubbaToon]
txtider Offline
Extreme Angler

You need to go out with tommy ezell . He will speed up the learning curve . It is a good crappie lake!

#11639913 - 06/01/16 10:46 AM Re: Ray Hubbard Crappie (lack of) [Re: BubbaToon]
Soft Tap Offline
Extreme Angler

Loc: Garland
I thought it was just me, I have the same problem

#11639960 - 06/01/16 11:10 AM Re: Ray Hubbard Crappie (lack of) [Re: txtider]
REDGUN Offline
Pro Angler

Loc: DFW Metromess
Originally Posted By: txtider