Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
stevesdvm, mikewash1517, skmcm, Trisbell, knox city knocker
104499 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 84530
hopalong 76654
Pilothawk 74380
JDavis7873® 67382
John175 ® 62549
FattyMcButterpants 60660
Tritonman 57371
Derek 57368
SkeeterRonnie 52816
LoneStarSon® 52663
facebook
Forum Stats
104499 Members
60 Forums
837504 Topics
11956066 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#11618377 - 05/22/16 02:52 PM Graph shuts off when moving at speed?
Jkrez Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 01/19/14
Posts: 241
Loc: Kingwood, TX
I have a 2012 Z520 with an hds12 at the console and an hds9 at the bow. When fishing the hds9 is perfect. When I'm moving across the lake, the hds9 at the bow will start flickering and shut off, and I'll have to power it up each time I stop to fish.

I admit it doesn't happen 100% of the time, but easily 90%. And I find it odd because my front graphs did the same on my 2010 Z520.

I checked the cables and they are snug and the tap into the power seems to be good. I have a feeling it's a voltage issue, but I'm the first to admit that I don't quite understand voltage and how it effects certain things.

Anyone have an idea what my problem could be?

Top
#11618429 - 05/22/16 03:12 PM Re: Graph shuts off when moving at speed? [Re: Jkrez]
MV Offline
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 09/19/03
Posts: 3775
Loc: richardson tx usa
In line fuse ? loose inside

Top
#11618461 - 05/22/16 03:33 PM Re: Graph shuts off when moving at speed? [Re: Jkrez]
javelin150 Online   content
Pro Angler

Registered: 03/19/06
Posts: 778
Loc: Waco, TX
I would try to power the front graph directly to the starting battery. This eliminates the issue the majority of the time.

Top
#11618464 - 05/22/16 03:35 PM Re: Graph shuts off when moving at speed? [Re: Jkrez]
Der Vorsteher™ Offline
TFF Guru

Registered: 02/11/11
Posts: 21516
Loc: The 903
I had the same problem and found that the wire that brought power had been cut and was cutting in and out. Replaced wire and everything is good.
_________________________

Top
#11618563 - 05/22/16 04:52 PM Re: Graph shuts off when moving at speed? [Re: Jkrez]
Mike_Soriano™ Offline
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 06/08/08
Posts: 5434
Loc: FORK
I/E=R
_________________________
www.XciteBaits.com
www.Daiwa.com


Top
#11618848 - 05/22/16 07:16 PM Re: Graph shuts off when moving at speed? [Re: Jkrez]
bbassfishes Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 09/30/12
Posts: 555
Loc: Granbury, TX
Had the same issue. Had a loose wire. I would check your connections.
_________________________

Youtube Channel:
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCuYpZA2hNTEObCBAgcqCE2A

Top
#11618896 - 05/22/16 07:36 PM Re: Graph shuts off when moving at speed? [Re: Jkrez]
WCGunns Online   content
Angler

Registered: 02/06/11
Posts: 390
Loc: Northern DFW, Texas
Had a similar problem and it was my batteries.

Top
#11619027 - 05/22/16 08:35 PM Re: Graph shuts off when moving at speed? [Re: Jkrez]
southtexascracker Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 08/05/07
Posts: 1310
Loc: Portland, TX
Sautered my connections and never had the problem again.

Top
#11619407 - 05/23/16 03:15 AM Re: Graph shuts off when moving at speed? [Re: southtexascracker]
Flippin-Out Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 02/25/15
Posts: 1642
Loc: Magnolia, TX
Originally Posted By: southtexascracker
Sautered Soldered my connections and never had the problem again.


Soldered connections (without other mechanical constraint) aren't even allowed by ABYC standards. A crimped terminal connections is actually better.

The OP needs to look at the clues. The bow unit works fine when floating around, but starts getting flakey when he's moving on plane. About 99 out of 100 times, that says there is a connection issue that is affected by the movement and vibration of the boat on the water. When an outboard is running at RPM above idle, the boat's electrical system voltage is at its highest because the charging system has it jacked up. What he almost certainly has is a continuity problem (loose/bad connection or broken wire), not a "voltage" problem.

How to find the offending problem? Park the boat, run the bow unit, gain access to the wiring, start moving and wiggling the wire harness at the bow. When you get to a problem area, you'll cause the unit to do like it did on the water. Sometimes it's a crimp where the power is tapped that's not tight, as an example. Sometimes a wire that can flop in rough conditions that has moved back and forth so much that the strands of wire are broken but still touching inside the insulation, though not as common.

One last possibility: Have you considered that the HDS9 has an issue with an internal loose connection? It could be that the G forces from vibration when you run across the lake are causing the unit itself to have an issue. Do you have access to a different HDS 9 to try on your bow? An alternative is to take yours out of the bracket and bump it on the deck while running to see if it flakes out. Don't slam it, just give it some bumps like it might get out on the lake.

Top
#11619490 - 05/23/16 07:03 AM Re: Graph shuts off when moving at speed? [Re: Jkrez]
John P085 Offline
Angler

Registered: 07/19/12
Posts: 255
Loc: La Grange,TX
I had the same problem, The screen would flicker then shut off while running and would power back up fine when stopped. It ended up being 2 screws on one of the boards (that also act as a ground) inside the unit had come loose. Put the screws back in and tightened, haven't had a problem since.
_________________________
Fayette County and Lake Somerville Guide

http://www.nativesonfishingguide.com

Top
#11619501 - 05/23/16 07:14 AM Re: Graph shuts off when moving at speed? [Re: Jkrez]
ezbassin Online   content
TFF Guru

Registered: 01/15/04
Posts: 12529
Loc: Mansfield, Tx.
I had that same problem even while fishing the front graph would go out. I had a voltage drop to the front from loose wires in the back. Check the connection from the battery to the bus bar on the transom, at least that is where mine is located.

Top
#11619554 - 05/23/16 07:38 AM Re: Graph shuts off when moving at speed? [Re: Jkrez]
gary purdy Offline
TFF Guru

Registered: 05/24/03
Posts: 10907
Loc: Littlefield Tx & Lake A. H. US...
All I can say is that a copper wire with an aluminum wire end is destined to fail if crimped.
_________________________
“The world will not be destroyed by those who do evil, but by those who watch them without doing anything” Remember what He has done and remember that He is not done yet! GOD IS GOOD

Top
#11619763 - 05/23/16 09:13 AM Re: Graph shuts off when moving at speed? [Re: Jkrez]
elkhunter7x6 Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 01/20/07
Posts: 899
Loc: panola county
I had the same problem and it ended up being my rocker switch was bad.

Top
#11619779 - 05/23/16 09:20 AM Re: Graph shuts off when moving at speed? [Re: javelin150]
T Bird Offline
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 03/07/10
Posts: 4220
Loc: Temple, Texas USA
Originally Posted By: javelin150
I would try to power the front graph directly to the starting battery. This eliminates the issue the majority of the time.


This!
_________________________

High Speed, Low Drag

Top
#11619785 - 05/23/16 09:22 AM Re: Graph shuts off when moving at speed? [Re: Jkrez]
Bass N Beer Online   content
Pro Angler

Registered: 09/18/11
Posts: 671
Loc: Springtown, Texas
I rewired both my graphs straight to the battery and it solved my problem. It was voltage drop.

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >



© 1998-2017 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide