Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Gary Roberts, Granbry, Gman.1218, Gkirk842, William Garcia
102693 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 82831
hopalong 74334
Pilothawk 73389
JDavis7873® 67377
FattyMcButterpants 60518
John175 ® 59850
Tritonman 56789
Derek 56400
SkeeterRonnie 52444
LoneStarSon® 52199
facebook
Forum Stats
102693 Members
61 Forums
858483 Topics
11261970 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
#11585723 - 05/05/16 05:16 PM How do you add weight to your flukes?
kirbydog Online   content
Pro Angler

Registered: 02/18/06
Posts: 633
Loc: Colorado/Conroe
Love throwing a fluke but there are times when I want it to track lower in the water
column. I've been experimenting with nail weights and weighted hooks.

Like the nail weights because I can add the weight to the front or the rear of the bait and this alters the action.

Just wondered what others do and how they add weight to a fluke or fluke type bait. I want to add weight but
not kill the action.
_________________________
Triton TR 186
Mercury 150 EFI
MK 101 Fortrex

Top
#11585729 - 05/05/16 05:20 PM Re: How do you add weight to your flukes? [Re: kirbydog]
Chet Online   content
Extreme Angler

Registered: 02/03/06
Posts: 1316
Loc: Ft Worth
Tie a swivel about 10-12 inches above the fluke. If that's not enough pinch a small weight above the swivel.
_________________________

Retirement is what I always thought it would be! Except considerably better.

Top
#11585740 - 05/05/16 05:27 PM Re: How do you add weight to your flukes? [Re: kirbydog]
the skipper Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 07/04/11
Posts: 1828
Loc: nederland, TX
Either a split shot about a foot in front of the bait or a piece of a nail in the head. You can also go with a heavy wire hook but that usually effects my hook ups in a negative way.

Top
#11585753 - 05/05/16 05:39 PM Re: How do you add weight to your flukes? [Re: kirbydog]
Kerry Richards Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 02/10/11
Posts: 193
try small stainless steel nuts on the belly of the hook, try several sizes, makes a little noise also...

Top
#11585759 - 05/05/16 05:42 PM Re: How do you add weight to your flukes? [Re: kirbydog]
Mike_Soriano™ Online   content
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 06/08/08
Posts: 5411
Loc: FORK
Get some t-stops and a 1/16oz bullet weight. Rig the fluke just like a t rig worm, and use the t-stop to peg the weight about 14" above the bait. Weightless fluke presentation at any depth. Basically a fixed-weight crig
_________________________
www.XciteBaits.com
www.Daiwa.com


Top
#11585792 - 05/05/16 06:11 PM Re: How do you add weight to your flukes? [Re: kirbydog]
ezbassin Online   content
TFF Guru

Registered: 01/15/04
Posts: 12204
Loc: Mansfield, Tx.
Spread out the line keeper on a drop shot weight and put it on the hook. It will make the bait wiggle as it sinks.


Edited by ezbassin (05/05/16 06:11 PM)

Top
#11585865 - 05/05/16 06:56 PM Re: How do you add weight to your flukes? [Re: kirbydog]
BrudBass Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 10/18/12
Posts: 120
Loc: Buda, Texas
I've had good success with weighted hooks that allow you to move the weight to any position along the hook shaft.
_________________________
Jason Brudnicki

EMAIL:Texas Realtor - Ultima Real Estate

Kistler Rods


Top
#11585876 - 05/05/16 07:03 PM Re: How do you add weight to your flukes? [Re: kirbydog]
Txduckhunter Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 02/19/02
Posts: 1348
Loc: Lake Fork
I just slow down and let them sink longer...

Top
#11585881 - 05/05/16 07:05 PM Re: How do you add weight to your flukes? [Re: kirbydog]
Big Swimbait Offline
Angler

Registered: 02/01/14
Posts: 381
Loc: Irving
To mix it up sometimes, I use the Dangleberry Rig. The weight is free & slides back & forth on the hook, giving very erratic action when you twitch your rod. Also works great with the Zoom Fluke Sticks.


Edited by Big Swimbait (05/05/16 07:07 PM)

Top
#11585886 - 05/05/16 07:09 PM Re: How do you add weight to your flukes? [Re: kirbydog]
M Wyatt Offline
Angler

Registered: 06/09/15
Posts: 286
Loc: North Texas
Mojo rig with a tiny weight.
_________________________

Top
#11585893 - 05/05/16 07:11 PM Re: How do you add weight to your flukes? [Re: kirbydog]
lamoon78 Offline
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 05/05/10
Posts: 4330
Loc: Livingston Tx
Splitshot about a foot up.

Top
#11585926 - 05/05/16 07:34 PM Re: How do you add weight to your flukes? [Re: kirbydog]
Allison1 Online   sleepy
TFF Guru

Registered: 12/14/03
Posts: 16298
Loc: Grand Prairie, Tx
Different wire size on the hook. A 5/0 superline wide gap hook will act way different than a regular wide gap.

Top
#11586181 - 05/05/16 09:22 PM Re: How do you add weight to your flukes? [Re: kirbydog]
Accutrigger33 Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 06/17/07
Posts: 683
Loc: DFW/Lake Fork
water gremlin bull shot weight works awesome
_________________________

Top
#11586202 - 05/05/16 09:30 PM Re: How do you add weight to your flukes? [Re: kirbydog]
bradnitro175 Online   content
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 07/11/08
Posts: 3767
Loc: Dallas,tx
Belly weighted screwlock hook or nail

Top
#11586229 - 05/05/16 09:39 PM Re: How do you add weight to your flukes? [Re: kirbydog]
RedEar12 Online   content
Angler

Registered: 11/30/15
Posts: 254
Buy some 1 1/4" brads at Walmart. .96 cents a box, and put them in the nose of the fluke. You can cut them down or add more brads depending on wind and depth.

Top
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >



© 1998-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide