Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
owv, BigBoy1975, lurenthewind, feedthemlead, JoshD
103495 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 83982
hopalong 75406
Pilothawk 74017
JDavis7873® 67380
John175 ® 61789
FattyMcButterpants 60637
Tritonman 57269
Derek 57004
SkeeterRonnie 52603
LoneStarSon® 52516
facebook
Forum Stats
103495 Members
61 Forums
868657 Topics
11398584 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Topic Options
#11581535 - 05/03/16 08:44 PM HDS 8 gen1 with HDS gen2 touch?
GLB53 Offline
Green Horn

Registered: 01/11/14
Posts: 13
I am not too familiar with the wiring of the units or the proper transducer setups,but I have a gen1 8 and 5 console and bow that work well. I recently bought a used gen 2 touch 9 and was wondering if I can move the 8 up to the bow and the 5 to the dash, adding the 9 at the console on a ram mount. Can I move the gen 1 transducer to the trolling motor and put the gen 2 transducer where the old one was? Would this work? I would mainly use the 5 for mapping. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Top
#11581854 - 05/03/16 09:59 PM Re: HDS 8 gen1 with HDS gen2 touch? [Re: GLB53]
Cigga Offline
Angler

Registered: 06/04/10
Posts: 268
Loc: Frisco, TX
You can hook up the 8 and the 9 with the Lowrance Ethernet cable. Both will share one transducer. That way you don't have to have one on the trolling motor and wont get any sonar interferences. That's what I just did with my HDS8 in my console to a Lowrance LMS 520c at the bow. My LMS 520c is actually ethernet to my structure scan transducer. I haven't been able to test it out on the water yet, but when I turn on the units on land, it is getting feedback from the transducer. Now I just need to figure out how to get them to share the GPS antenna.


Edited by Cigga (05/03/16 10:03 PM)
_________________________

Top
#11582144 - 05/04/16 07:04 AM Re: HDS 8 gen1 with HDS gen2 touch? [Re: GLB53]
GLB53 Offline
Green Horn

Registered: 01/11/14
Posts: 13
I will try this. Thanks so much.

Top
#11604337 - 05/15/16 04:52 PM Re: HDS 8 gen1 with HDS gen2 touch? [Re: GLB53]
JakeRG Offline
Green Horn

Registered: 02/15/14
Posts: 9
Loc: Humble, TX
Did you get the structure scan transducer with the gen2? If so, the positioning maybe different depending upon the location of the original.

Top



© 1998-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide