facebook
Forum Stats
102734 Members
61 Forums
859346 Topics
11273867 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Topic Options
#11577739 - 05/02/16 08:43 AM Spinning set up?
texasAUtiger Offline
Outdoorsman

Loc: Waco, TX
I am trying to put together two good (in terms of price/performance ratio) spinning rod/reel combos for bass fishing. I was looking at a Duckett Micro Magic Pro 7' medium heavy with fast tip ($150) or Duckett Ghost 7' MH fast ($100) or Shakespeare Ugly Stick GX2 one piece 7' (or maybe it was 6'9" I forget) MH fast ($40).

I was looking at pairing some of those with Lew's Tournament Pro high speed ($99 - $20 rebate from Gander Mtn), or Penn Battle II 2000 ($99) or Lew's GX2 ($59). All are spinning reels. Lew's are 6.2:1 with 10 bearings while then Penn is 5.8:1 with 6 bearings. I'd probably be putting 20lb braid on it.

I am new to fishing and just beginning to build my equipment up from Zebco 33 level stuff. I listed these based on input from friends and some internet homework but am open to this or other suggestions based on your experience. This should give you the range (hi med low) that I'm looking at.

Thanks for your help.

Edited by texasAUtiger (05/02/16 08:44 AM)

#11577971 - 05/02/16 10:23 AM Re: Spinning set up? [Re: texasAUtiger]
6.5BR Offline
Green Horn

I would consider Pflueger President 6930 and Shimano Sedona in a 2500 for your budget. Had a Battle 3000, good smooth reel, but perhaps a tad heavier than the other models mentioned. The 2000 is lighter as you know than the 3k. Good luck.

#11578049 - 05/02/16 11:05 AM Re: Spinning set up? [Re: texasAUtiger]
Bois d'arc Offline
Extreme Angler