Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
JustinStokesOutdoors, Gary D Watters, Don Dison, loop, Gadawgs
102735 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 82895
hopalong 74407
Pilothawk 73446
JDavis7873® 67377
FattyMcButterpants 60518
John175 ® 59917
Tritonman 56837
Derek 56446
SkeeterRonnie 52463
LoneStarSon® 52227
facebook
Forum Stats
102735 Members
61 Forums
859352 Topics
11274028 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#11560657 - 04/23/16 09:16 AM HDS8 Down/side scan help
parttime Offline
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 01/10/09
Posts: 5615
Loc: San Antonio
Hey guys/gals, looking for a little help. I've been using this graph (Gen1) for a while and learning how to read it pretty good, but my last time out the down and side imaging didn't look right. It was all streaky? In the photo below we were in anchor mode, so the boat wasn't really moving, you can see the difference between the 2d and down imaging. What would cause this to suddenly be streaky like this? The side imaging is the same way.

Thanks

_________________________
Parttime (John)

Top
#11562548 - 04/24/16 05:00 PM Re: HDS8 Down/side scan help [Re: parttime]
parttime Offline
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 01/10/09
Posts: 5615
Loc: San Antonio
No one?
_________________________
Parttime (John)

Top
#11562787 - 04/24/16 06:56 PM Re: HDS8 Down/side scan help [Re: parttime]
TCK73 Online   content
Extreme Angler

Registered: 03/26/15
Posts: 1884
Loc: Jack County
Did you have another graph on at the same time using 455khz?
_________________________


Top
#11562899 - 04/24/16 07:59 PM Re: HDS8 Down/side scan help [Re: parttime]
Flippin-Out Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 02/25/15
Posts: 1564
Loc: Magnolia, TX
Pull up the anchor and begin moving - an ideal speed is about 3mph. The streaks will go away then. You are observing a characteristic of how DI/SI works. This is totally expected in "anchor mode" for DI/SI.

Top
#11562953 - 04/24/16 08:23 PM Re: HDS8 Down/side scan help [Re: Flippin-Out]
TCK73 Online   content
Extreme Angler

Registered: 03/26/15
Posts: 1884
Loc: Jack County
My guess is interference. My graphs don't do that in anchor mode, granted they are a different brand. I have fished with guys with Lowrance equipment that didn't do it either. I'm no expert, but have seen this type of interference from something else before.
_________________________


Top
#11563342 - 04/25/16 05:28 AM Re: HDS8 Down/side scan help [Re: parttime]
parttime Offline
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 01/10/09
Posts: 5615
Loc: San Antonio
No other graph, in anchor mode with the trolling motor, boat moves some, but it still looked this way when moving. In the past it looked good even anchored up. Only difference is the new trolling motor but it is on its own batteries, and the old trolling motor didn't cause any issues.
_________________________
Parttime (John)

Top
#11563391 - 04/25/16 06:23 AM Re: HDS8 Down/side scan help [Re: parttime]
Flippin-Out Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 02/25/15
Posts: 1564
Loc: Magnolia, TX
Where is the transducer located? If it's on the TM, you could be getting proximity-coupled interference (when the TM and sonar are powered from separate batteries). Does it do that even if you turn the trolling motor completely OFF?

Top
#11563837 - 04/25/16 10:01 AM Re: HDS8 Down/side scan help [Re: Flippin-Out]
parttime Offline
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 01/10/09
Posts: 5615
Loc: San Antonio
Originally Posted By: Flippin-Out
Where is the transducer located? If it's on the TM, you could be getting proximity-coupled interference (when the TM and sonar are powered from separate batteries). Does it do that even if you turn the trolling motor completely OFF?

Transducer is at transom, that is why I didn't think it was interference from the TM. But, the only change from the last time I used it was the new tm. Next time out I'll check it with tm off and tm on and see if there is a difference. Thanks.
_________________________
Parttime (John)

Top
#11563925 - 04/25/16 10:47 AM Re: HDS8 Down/side scan help [Re: parttime]
Flippin-Out Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 02/25/15
Posts: 1564
Loc: Magnolia, TX
Since you use separate power systems, and the transducer is on the transom, I agree there's no likely explanation to make this issue due to interference. Turning off the TM is unlikely to make any difference now that I know your transducer is at the transom. Is the sonar wiring on the starboard side of the boat and the TM power cables on the port side? The only way for this to be due to the TM would be if the transducer cable ran along-side the TM power cables for an appreciable distance, such as if all that stuff ran up the port side of the boat.


Edited by Flippin-Out (04/25/16 10:48 AM)

Top
#11565744 - 04/26/16 06:28 AM Re: HDS8 Down/side scan help [Re: parttime]
parttime Offline
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 01/10/09
Posts: 5615
Loc: San Antonio
It is a center console, the trolling motor batteries are in the center console and the graph is mounted on the center console.
_________________________
Parttime (John)

Top
#11565753 - 04/26/16 06:37 AM Re: HDS8 Down/side scan help [Re: parttime]
Flippin-Out Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 02/25/15
Posts: 1564
Loc: Magnolia, TX
You're making this a tough one! Since the TM power heads forward, and the transducer cable heads back, my latest concern gets tossed out.

One thing these units sometimes do is get in a funky mode that seems to be miraculously resolved by a unit reset. I haven't done one in a good while, so you'd have to refer to the manual. Be sure to save all your data (such as waypoints and trails if you have any) onto an SD card and remove it before you do the reset. Doing a reset may not accomplish a thing, but I will say I've been surprised numerous other times when one of the other Lowrance guys suggested it as a fix, and out of the blue that took care of the issue. That's why I mention this at this point.

Another fast track way to check that your transducer hasn't failed is to borrow any HDS unit from a friend and connect that to your unit. Since yours is Gen 1, that still doesn't rule out the LSS module, but if you have a friend with an HDS, it could be a good thing to try as an experiment. The cables are all compatible.

Top
#11565958 - 04/26/16 08:30 AM Re: HDS8 Down/side scan help [Re: parttime]
grout-scout Online   content
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 12/08/08
Posts: 5417
Loc: Boerne, Texas
Where is the anchor mode option? For the life of me I don't recall ever seeing it.

Top
#11565968 - 04/26/16 08:33 AM Re: HDS8 Down/side scan help [Re: parttime]
Flippin-Out Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 02/25/15
Posts: 1564
Loc: Magnolia, TX
He's talking about using the anchor-mode of his new TM (internal GPS on the TM locks the TM on a spot). He was in that mode when he first saw the stretched line issue, but also told me it does it when moving now also. So, it really wasn't anything to do with anchor-mode of the trolling motor. It does it all the time now, but didn't in the past - if I understand correctly.


Edited by Flippin-Out (04/26/16 08:36 AM)

Top
#11566254 - 04/26/16 10:20 AM Re: HDS8 Down/side scan help [Re: Flippin-Out]
parttime Offline
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 01/10/09
Posts: 5615
Loc: San Antonio
Originally Posted By: Flippin-Out
You're making this a tough one! Since the TM power heads forward, and the transducer cable heads back, my latest concern gets tossed out.

One thing these units sometimes do is get in a funky mode that seems to be miraculously resolved by a unit reset. I haven't done one in a good while, so you'd have to refer to the manual. Be sure to save all your data (such as waypoints and trails if you have any) onto an SD card and remove it before you do the reset. Doing a reset may not accomplish a thing, but I will say I've been surprised numerous other times when one of the other Lowrance guys suggested it as a fix, and out of the blue that took care of the issue. That's why I mention this at this point.

Another fast track way to check that your transducer hasn't failed is to borrow any HDS unit from a friend and connect that to your unit. Since yours is Gen 1, that still doesn't rule out the LSS module, but if you have a friend with an HDS, it could be a good thing to try as an experiment. The cables are all compatible.

Great points, and I really appreciate all your input!It just so happens that I have another HDS unit on the console beside this one that I use for Mapping. I can plug it in to the transducer (or LSS1 I guess) and see if it looks the same. Not sure why I hadn't thought of that!
_________________________
Parttime (John)

Top
#11566259 - 04/26/16 10:21 AM Re: HDS8 Down/side scan help [Re: Flippin-Out]
parttime Offline
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 01/10/09
Posts: 5615
Loc: San Antonio
Originally Posted By: Flippin-Out
He's talking about using the anchor-mode of his new TM (internal GPS on the TM locks the TM on a spot). He was in that mode when he first saw the stretched line issue, but also told me it does it when moving now also. So, it really wasn't anything to do with anchor-mode of the trolling motor. It does it all the time now, but didn't in the past - if I understand correctly.


Correct, it is a feature on my new trolling motor.
_________________________
Parttime (John)

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >



© 1998-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide