Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
FinAddictAngler, ATXNoobFisher, Jamesg1211987, whunt, R Ham
105892 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 86309
hopalong 78517
Pilothawk 75148
JDavis7873® 67382
John175 ® 65032
FattyMcButterpants 60793
Derek 🐝 58479
Tritonman 57641
LoneStarSon® 53397
SkeeterRonnie 53007
facebook
Forum Stats
105892 Members
60 Forums
854608 Topics
12171906 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Topic Options
#11522044 - 04/04/16 08:16 PM Lowrance problem!
TreeBass14 Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 02/11/15
Posts: 25
Loc: Gainesville, Tx
I have an HDS 12 gen 3, the down imaging has white dots on the screen. Almost look like a fish would but they're spread out and very white in color. Any ideas?
_________________________
Early to bed, Early to rise
Fish like hell, and make up lies!

Top
#11522360 - 04/04/16 10:11 PM Re: Lowrance problem! [Re: TreeBass14]
grout-scout Online   content
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 12/08/08
Posts: 6191
Loc: Boerne, Texas
Electrical interference. About all you can do is to start moving wires around and pray it clears up. I never had any until recently, I replaced my batteries, cleaned up some wiring that was sloppy, bought a new 2 bank charger and a small seperate charger for the cranking battery. Now I have a bad case of interference and I'll have to figure out which one caused it.

Top
#11525209 - 04/06/16 11:12 AM Re: Lowrance problem! [Re: TreeBass14]
TreeBass14 Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 02/11/15
Posts: 25
Loc: Gainesville, Tx
That's kind of what I figured. I had a grounding issue I just recently fixed and this problem just showed up. Oh the joys of fixing a BRAND NEW boat!
_________________________
Early to bed, Early to rise
Fish like hell, and make up lies!

Top
#11525218 - 04/06/16 11:18 AM Re: Lowrance problem! [Re: TreeBass14]
COHLMEYER Offline
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 10/21/08
Posts: 3769
Loc: Weatherford, TX
If it's brand new it sounds like warranty work.

Top
#11525318 - 04/06/16 12:02 PM Re: Lowrance problem! [Re: grout-scout]
propman Offline
Angler

Registered: 04/06/10
Posts: 442
Loc: Pilot Point, TX
I had a similar problem. Try removing the + from the charger to one of the batteries. That helped clear mine back up. Just re-hook it for charging times.

Top
#11526534 - 04/06/16 08:57 PM Re: Lowrance problem! [Re: TreeBass14]
TreeBass14 Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 02/11/15
Posts: 25
Loc: Gainesville, Tx
It is warranty work but I've had to take it in once already. Don't have time for that, I'm trying to be on the water! Thanks for the tips guys!
_________________________
Early to bed, Early to rise
Fish like hell, and make up lies!

Top
#11526785 - 04/06/16 11:15 PM Re: Lowrance problem! [Re: TreeBass14]
brewski Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 11/27/01
Posts: 1089
Loc: southlake, tx, u.s.
so it's not really a lowrance problem?

Top
#11526808 - 04/06/16 11:43 PM Re: Lowrance problem! [Re: TreeBass14]
Flippin-Out Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 02/25/15
Posts: 1822
Loc: Magnolia, TX
Originally Posted By: TreeBass14
I have an HDS 12 gen 3, the down imaging has white dots on the screen. Almost look like a fish would but they're spread out and very white in color. Any ideas?


grout-scout's educated guess is a good one. You really have to start eliminating sources to find out if it is interference or not. All the major brands do a decent job of putting filters on their power input, but they can only do so much. If a boat's electrical system is sub-par, issues can be seen.

For instance, do you know if the issue is all the time, or only when the outboard or some other devices are running? Try drifting with EVERYTHING else off and see if the dots are still there. Next, remove both connections for the charger on the starting battery (temporarily as a test, assuming HDS power is from that battery). Warning: do not tinker with battery connections while the outboard is running! I know you are on the water and the charger is not active, but the circuits are still connected.

Do you have a friend with an HDS setup? If your unit isn't flush mounted, could you move it to another boat for a test? Remember, for compatibility it can be Gen 2 or Gen 3, doesn't have to be Touch.


Edited by Flippin-Out (04/06/16 11:44 PM)

Top



© 1998-2017 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide