Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
bass steve, Cohanky, Bryce Mitchell, beverage202, Flounder Grey
104052 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 84267
hopalong 76105
Pilothawk 74259
JDavis7873® 67381
John175 ® 62243
FattyMcButterpants 60649
Tritonman 57332
Derek 57214
SkeeterRonnie 52735
LoneStarSon® 52608
facebook
Forum Stats
104052 Members
61 Forums
783836 Topics
9911025 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Topic Options
#11519419 - 04/03/16 05:14 PM Lowrance HDS 9 and HDS 7 not sharing waypoints.
Der Vorsteher™ Offline
TFF Guru

Registered: 02/11/11
Posts: 21420
Loc: The 903
I did a soft reset on both units. nmea 2000 cords are plugged in to each other. I went to settings and made sure they send and receive waypoints were turned on. Still not sharing. Thoughts?
_________________________

Top
#11519864 - 04/03/16 09:14 PM Re: Lowrance HDS 9 and HDS 7 not sharing waypoints. [Re: Der Vorsteher™]
Txmedic033 Online   content
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 08/13/13
Posts: 3929
Loc: Longview, Tx
Run an ethernet cable between the two and they will share.

Top
#11521290 - 04/04/16 02:12 PM Re: Lowrance HDS 9 and HDS 7 not sharing waypoints. [Re: Der Vorsteher™]
MAK747 Offline
Angler

Registered: 05/08/09
Posts: 324
Loc: Ft Wth
As txmedic pointed out, connecting them via ethernet is the best way since it will give you full waypoint syncing. You can share waypoints via the NMEA-2000 network but to do so both units need to be turned on and connected to the NMEA network when you mark the waypoint. It will not update a unit that was turned off at the time the waypoint was marked when that unit is turned back on. Do you have other devices on your NMEA network such as a GPS puck that is working correctly to both of your HDS devices. Can you see the remote HDS unit from the local unit when you look at your NMEA status?


Edited by MAK747 (04/04/16 02:14 PM)

Top
#11524270 - 04/05/16 08:46 PM Re: Lowrance HDS 9 and HDS 7 not sharing waypoints. [Re: Der Vorsteher™]
COHLMEYER Offline
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 10/21/08
Posts: 3752
Loc: Weatherford, TX
May be a silly question but your NMEA network has power correct?

Top
#11524513 - 04/05/16 10:27 PM Re: Lowrance HDS 9 and HDS 7 not sharing waypoints. [Re: Der Vorsteher™]
Flippin-Out Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 02/25/15
Posts: 1627
Loc: Magnolia, TX
I agree that Ethernet gives the best solution. Your units will synch waypoints even if one unit has been off or in low-power mode, not son with NMEA 2000. NMEA 2000 also won't delete waypoints from the 2nd HDS unit if I understand operation correctly. But, if connected via Ethernet when you delete a waypoint, it will also get deleted on the other HDS.

A little tidbit for waypoint synchronization: If you want to delete a waypoint, make sure all the units are powered up and on the Ethernet network when you do the delete. That will get rid of it on all units. If you do NOT delete in such a manner, when the units are powered up, the one still with the waypoint will restore it on the HDS where you did the manual delete. You'll see the deleted waypoint reappear.

Top



© 1998-2017 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide