Main Menu
Newest Members
Clark225, neal shaffer jr, errold, 1 Papa D, GabeBatson
102324 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 82168
hopalong 73414
Pilothawk 72806
JDavis7873® 67374
FattyMcButterpants 60428
John175 ® 59617
Tritonman 56538
Derek 56119
SkeeterRonnie 52392
LoneStarSon® 51978
Forum Stats
102324 Members
60 Forums
853306 Topics
11190739 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Topic Options
#11473885 - 03/12/16 08:50 PM Embarrassed to say.....
tbucket101 Offline

Registered: 03/19/13
Posts: 346
Loc: Saginaw
....but after owning my boat for a couple weeks, just realized it does not have a fuse box. Everything is wired with an inline fuse which seems odd. Coming from someone who has built a couple hotrods (tbuckets) and a strong automotive background, never thought the boat wouldnt have one.

I let BPS install the new Garmin because it was free, but they used a cheap 3A inline which Im sure will be "ok" but after relocating the HB 386 up front, I found no fuse panel to tie into. I piggiebacked off the Garmin but got me to thinking. I want to add things like radio, box and deck lights, etc and only feel that a fuse box is a must. Any thoughts on more experienced boat owners would be appreciated as this is my first "real" boat.

#11473940 - 03/12/16 09:08 PM Re: Embarrassed to say..... [Re: tbucket101]
smooth move Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 10/14/12
Posts: 856
Loc: bayou vista,tx
install a buss bar/fuse box and a ground buss bar under the console and reroute all your wiring to it, using heat shrink connectors. west marine or any boat store will have them. make sure your not killing any of your warranty by doing it though.

Edited by smooth move (03/12/16 09:08 PM)
es le bon ton roulet

#11474059 - 03/12/16 09:57 PM Re: Embarrassed to say..... [Re: tbucket101]
Bobby Milam Online   content
Extreme Angler

Registered: 07/13/14
Posts: 1855
Loc: Arlington
Pretty standard atleast on the older boats that i have had. It will be fine with the inline fuse but the battery compartment gets pretty messy with all the wires.

I plan on adding one myself at some point

#11474151 - 03/12/16 11:12 PM Re: Embarrassed to say..... [Re: tbucket101]
psycho0819 Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 03/27/05
Posts: 1273
Loc: Kaufman
I installed a second switch panel with built in fuses on my Xpress for accessories similar to what you speak of. I powered it with a dedicated circuit back to the battery. Mine too has the inline fuse setup you speak of on the factory switches. 3yrs now and no problems with it yet.
If you're not living on the edge, you're taking up too much space!

#11474156 - 03/12/16 11:17 PM Re: Embarrassed to say..... [Re: tbucket101]
tbucket101 Offline

Registered: 03/19/13
Posts: 346
Loc: Saginaw
Yeah, I can definitely see a winter project of running some wiring/fuse box being planned.

#11478133 - 03/14/16 11:29 PM Re: Embarrassed to say..... [Re: tbucket101]
Kid2watch Offline
Green Horn

Registered: 01/11/15
Posts: 3
Loc: East Texas
I just installed a fuse box in my 17' Express last weekend to add some accessories. It went well with a 12' piece of metal electrical Fish tape and my 12 year old sons help..

#11482332 - 03/16/16 08:41 PM Re: Embarrassed to say..... [Re: tbucket101]
Capt. Andrew Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 07/28/11
Posts: 1104
Loc: Port Isabel/SPI
Blueseas fuse box is pretty simple to install.
Snook,Redfish,Trout Fishing South Padre Island, Texas.
Shallow Sport Boats Pro Staff
Mercury Marine Pro Team
Unfair Lures Pro Team

#11487175 - 03/19/16 05:48 AM Re: Embarrassed to say..... [Re: tbucket101]
John175 ® Offline
Super Freak

Registered: 10/21/05
Posts: 59617
Loc: Computer
I just bought one of these to organize some of the additional things I've put on the boat.


© 1998-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide