Main Menu
Newest Members
FEpic, Kroppie@Buchanan, Rwrshooter, thewupk, 1rock
107411 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 88136
Pilothawk 76201
JDavis7873® 67390
John175® 66823
FattyMcButterpants 60846
Derek 🐝 59781
Tritonman 57923
LoneStarSon® 54256
SkeeterRonnie 53303
Mark Perry 51827
Forum Stats
107411 Members
60 Forums
804610 Topics
10191929 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Topic Options
#11473885 - 03/12/16 08:50 PM Embarrassed to say.....
tbucket101 Offline

Registered: 03/19/13
Posts: 395
Loc: Saginaw
....but after owning my boat for a couple weeks, just realized it does not have a fuse box. Everything is wired with an inline fuse which seems odd. Coming from someone who has built a couple hotrods (tbuckets) and a strong automotive background, never thought the boat wouldnt have one.

I let BPS install the new Garmin because it was free, but they used a cheap 3A inline which Im sure will be "ok" but after relocating the HB 386 up front, I found no fuse panel to tie into. I piggiebacked off the Garmin but got me to thinking. I want to add things like radio, box and deck lights, etc and only feel that a fuse box is a must. Any thoughts on more experienced boat owners would be appreciated as this is my first "real" boat.

#11473940 - 03/12/16 09:08 PM Re: Embarrassed to say..... [Re: tbucket101]
smooth move Online   content
Extreme Angler

Registered: 10/14/12
Posts: 1237
Loc: bayou vista,tx
install a buss bar/fuse box and a ground buss bar under the console and reroute all your wiring to it, using heat shrink connectors. west marine or any boat store will have them. make sure your not killing any of your warranty by doing it though.

Edited by smooth move (03/12/16 09:08 PM)
es le bon ton roulet

#11474059 - 03/12/16 09:57 PM Re: Embarrassed to say..... [Re: tbucket101]
Bobby Milam Online   content
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 07/13/14
Posts: 3234
Loc: Arlington
Pretty standard atleast on the older boats that i have had. It will be fine with the inline fuse but the battery compartment gets pretty messy with all the wires.

I plan on adding one myself at some point

#11474151 - 03/12/16 11:12 PM Re: Embarrassed to say..... [Re: tbucket101]
psycho0819 Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 03/27/05
Posts: 1541
Loc: Kaufman
I installed a second switch panel with built in fuses on my Xpress for accessories similar to what you speak of. I powered it with a dedicated circuit back to the battery. Mine too has the inline fuse setup you speak of on the factory switches. 3yrs now and no problems with it yet.
If you're not living on the edge, you're taking up too much space!

#11474156 - 03/12/16 11:17 PM Re: Embarrassed to say..... [Re: tbucket101]
tbucket101 Offline

Registered: 03/19/13
Posts: 395
Loc: Saginaw
Yeah, I can definitely see a winter project of running some wiring/fuse box being planned.

#11478133 - 03/14/16 11:29 PM Re: Embarrassed to say..... [Re: tbucket101]
Kid2watch Offline
Green Horn

Registered: 01/11/15
Posts: 3
Loc: East Texas
I just installed a fuse box in my 17' Express last weekend to add some accessories. It went well with a 12' piece of metal electrical Fish tape and my 12 year old sons help..

#11482332 - 03/16/16 08:41 PM Re: Embarrassed to say..... [Re: tbucket101]
Capt. Andrew Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 07/28/11
Posts: 1159
Loc: Port Isabel/SPI
Blueseas fuse box is pretty simple to install.
Snook,Redfish,Trout Fishing South Padre Island, Texas.
Shallow Sport Mod V 24
South Texas Boat Outfitters (owner)
Unfair Lures Pro Team

#11487175 - 03/19/16 05:48 AM Re: Embarrassed to say..... [Re: tbucket101]
John175® Online   happy
Super Freak

Registered: 10/21/05
Posts: 66824
Loc: Realville
I just bought one of these to organize some of the additional things I've put on the boat.
I'm 90% sure Matt is Kylo Ren.


© 1998-2017 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide