Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
onecoolguyhere, killerfishcustom, Kidswift, ReidGoff, Gary Roberts
102697 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 82836
hopalong 74347
Pilothawk 73398
JDavis7873® 67377
FattyMcButterpants 60518
John175 ® 59853
Tritonman 56789
Derek 56400
SkeeterRonnie 52444
LoneStarSon® 52203
facebook
Forum Stats
102697 Members
61 Forums
858583 Topics
11263275 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Topic Options
#11466672 - 03/09/16 04:34 PM Sonar Interference Question
tbates Offline
Angler

Registered: 03/18/12
Posts: 266
Loc: Lubbock
I bought my first real graph the other day, it was a 899ci HD SI on clearance for $600. I'm stoked, except I cant get the images to get as clear as I would like. I want to upgrade next year so I didn't trade in for the HD transducer. My 01 Skeeter has an old analog depth finder in the dash that always runs when the dash has power (I forget what its called.) I like to run it as it lets me know how deep I am when I get on step where as the 889ci doesn't. Does anyone here think the chirp from it may cause some disturbances? I heard you can get feedback if your fishing too close to someone who is also running their graph on the same frequency. Thoughts?

Top
#11466700 - 03/09/16 04:42 PM Re: Sonar Interference Question [Re: tbates]
C.A.S.T. Offline
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 11/03/06
Posts: 3148
Loc: Texas
You'll be able to tell if you're getting interference from the dash unit by the lines constantly on the screen of the front unit. If you turn off the dash unit and the lines go away, ta-da!!!

I'd get the dash unit fixed so you can shut it off while leaving your power on.
_________________________
C.A.S.T.
www.fishcast.com


Top
#11466713 - 03/09/16 04:47 PM Re: Sonar Interference Question [Re: tbates]
tbates Offline
Angler

Registered: 03/18/12
Posts: 266
Loc: Lubbock
I don't have it wired so I can turn it off. Ill put a toggle on it.....why didnt I think of that? hammer

Top
#11466937 - 03/09/16 06:13 PM Re: Sonar Interference Question [Re: tbates]
Chris_K Online   content
Pro Angler

Registered: 01/14/15
Posts: 855
Loc: TX
So are you using an old transducer?

Top
#11466998 - 03/09/16 06:44 PM Re: Sonar Interference Question [Re: tbates]
tbates Offline
Angler

Registered: 03/18/12
Posts: 266
Loc: Lubbock
Not an old one just the one that came with the 899ci. Its not HD. You have to send it in with $85 to get the HD transducer. I had a trip to Fork in two weeks so I didn't want to risk it.

Top
#11467268 - 03/09/16 08:37 PM Re: Sonar Interference Question [Re: tbates]
grout-scout Online   content
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 12/08/08
Posts: 5414
Loc: Boerne, Texas
Originally Posted By: tbates
I don't have it wired so I can turn it off. Ill put a toggle on it.....why didnt I think of that? hammer


No power button? The odds are slim that it's running on the same freq's as the bird. Have you looked behind it to see if the transducer will unplug from it?

Is it a Zercom flasher or a different brand?

Top
#11469249 - 03/10/16 04:43 PM Re: Sonar Interference Question [Re: tbates]
tbates Offline
Angler

Registered: 03/18/12
Posts: 266
Loc: Lubbock
It's a Lowrance...

Top
#11469896 - 03/10/16 09:09 PM Re: Sonar Interference Question [Re: tbates]
buggsboy Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 07/22/11
Posts: 195
Loc: Carthage, Tx/Lake Fork
Is the power for the 899 coming from the cranking battery?

Top



© 1998-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide