Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
rosapien, I'llbecoastin, LSL, mike464, Ranger522
105415 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 85602
hopalong 78097
Pilothawk 74927
JDavis7873® 67382
John175 ® 64264
FattyMcButterpants 60667
Derek 🐝 58015
Tritonman 57516
LoneStarSon® 53045
SkeeterRonnie 52940
facebook
Forum Stats
105415 Members
60 Forums
847978 Topics
12086792 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Topic Options
#11466672 - 03/09/16 04:34 PM Sonar Interference Question
tbates Offline
Angler

Registered: 03/18/12
Posts: 301
Loc: Lubbock
I bought my first real graph the other day, it was a 899ci HD SI on clearance for $600. I'm stoked, except I cant get the images to get as clear as I would like. I want to upgrade next year so I didn't trade in for the HD transducer. My 01 Skeeter has an old analog depth finder in the dash that always runs when the dash has power (I forget what its called.) I like to run it as it lets me know how deep I am when I get on step where as the 889ci doesn't. Does anyone here think the chirp from it may cause some disturbances? I heard you can get feedback if your fishing too close to someone who is also running their graph on the same frequency. Thoughts?

Top
#11466700 - 03/09/16 04:42 PM Re: Sonar Interference Question [Re: tbates]
jwatts77 Offline
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 11/03/06
Posts: 3155
Loc: Texas
You'll be able to tell if you're getting interference from the dash unit by the lines constantly on the screen of the front unit. If you turn off the dash unit and the lines go away, ta-da!!!

I'd get the dash unit fixed so you can shut it off while leaving your power on.

Top
#11466713 - 03/09/16 04:47 PM Re: Sonar Interference Question [Re: tbates]
tbates Offline
Angler

Registered: 03/18/12
Posts: 301
Loc: Lubbock
I don't have it wired so I can turn it off. Ill put a toggle on it.....why didnt I think of that? hammer

Top
#11466937 - 03/09/16 06:13 PM Re: Sonar Interference Question [Re: tbates]
Chris_K Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 01/14/15
Posts: 1141
Loc: TX
So are you using an old transducer?

Top
#11466998 - 03/09/16 06:44 PM Re: Sonar Interference Question [Re: tbates]
tbates Offline
Angler

Registered: 03/18/12
Posts: 301
Loc: Lubbock
Not an old one just the one that came with the 899ci. Its not HD. You have to send it in with $85 to get the HD transducer. I had a trip to Fork in two weeks so I didn't want to risk it.

Top
#11467268 - 03/09/16 08:37 PM Re: Sonar Interference Question [Re: tbates]
grout-scout Offline
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 12/08/08
Posts: 6013
Loc: Boerne, Texas
Originally Posted By: tbates
I don't have it wired so I can turn it off. Ill put a toggle on it.....why didnt I think of that? hammer


No power button? The odds are slim that it's running on the same freq's as the bird. Have you looked behind it to see if the transducer will unplug from it?

Is it a Zercom flasher or a different brand?

Top
#11469249 - 03/10/16 04:43 PM Re: Sonar Interference Question [Re: tbates]
tbates Offline
Angler

Registered: 03/18/12
Posts: 301
Loc: Lubbock
It's a Lowrance...

Top
#11469896 - 03/10/16 09:09 PM Re: Sonar Interference Question [Re: tbates]
buggsboy Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 07/22/11
Posts: 242
Loc: Carthage, Tx/Lake Fork
Is the power for the 899 coming from the cranking battery?
_________________________
PB. 10 lb 12 oz

Top



© 1998-2017 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide