Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
liprippen, C. Walker, ronws67, Leftridge, Panhandleag18
102710 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 82858
hopalong 74380
Pilothawk 73424
JDavis7873® 67377
FattyMcButterpants 60518
John175 ® 59868
Tritonman 56822
Derek 56400
SkeeterRonnie 52453
LoneStarSon® 52218
facebook
Forum Stats
102710 Members
61 Forums
858880 Topics
11267116 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Topic Options
#11461929 - 03/07/16 05:39 PM Navionics chip with Lowrance HDS Gen 2 problem
FLW_01 Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 01/22/16
Posts: 27
Has anyone else had any issues with the Navionics Premium chip in the Lowrance Gen 2s?

I have no depths, and there are small brown squres everywhere on the screen. It still gives a semi-accurate outline of the body of water that I'm on, but that's about it. It's nowhere near as detailed as the Lowrance chart that came in the unit. What could be going on here?

Top
#11462000 - 03/07/16 06:15 PM Re: Navionics chip with Lowrance HDS Gen 2 problem [Re: FLW_01]
jfdawson Online   happy
Pro Angler

Registered: 06/21/05
Posts: 848
Loc: Frisco, Texas
Bad chip? Did the chip get wet? Can you read other SSD Cards in that same slot. Can you insert the Navionics in your computer/laptop and see files on it?

I'd test all the options I mentioned above. call Navionics if it's still under warranty. They are very fair and will take care of you If it's still under support.

Top
#11462191 - 03/07/16 07:37 PM Re: Navionics chip with Lowrance HDS Gen 2 problem [Re: FLW_01]
grout-scout Online   content
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 12/08/08
Posts: 5415
Loc: Boerne, Texas
Did you update it first? They come blank or at least mine came blank, total BS to me.


You did zoom in, right?


Edited by grout-scout (03/07/16 07:38 PM)

Top
#11462906 - 03/08/16 08:31 AM Re: Navionics chip with Lowrance HDS Gen 2 problem [Re: FLW_01]
FLW_01 Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 01/22/16
Posts: 27
The chip itself has never gotten wet. I haven't updated it, and wasn't even aware that I needed to, so that's definitely a possibility. I guess there's a walkthrough on the Navionics site on how to update them?

Thank y'all for the help


Edited by FLW_01 (03/08/16 08:31 AM)

Top
#11462912 - 03/08/16 08:33 AM Re: Navionics chip with Lowrance HDS Gen 2 problem [Re: FLW_01]
Corey Stanley Online   content
Pro Angler

Registered: 10/26/09
Posts: 815
Loc: Tx
FLW_01....did the card work in another unit or was it recently purchased? Any more info you could give me would help. Also, what Premium is it? North, South, East or West and what body of water?

Grout Scout- He can update the card but on the Premium or Platinum they are region based cards, where the Nav+ was the one that used to come blank and you had to download the areas you fish. This does 2 things, it allows guys who travel to not have to have a card for every region they go to and also allows guys that have older legacy units still be able to access the Sonar Chart layer. Now the Nav+ comes preloaded with Premium level data for the entire US so that is can also be a plug & play card and you only have to purge and draw the boxes around the areas you fish if you want the Sonar Chart layer added to that card.
_________________________
www.navionics.com

Top
#11463083 - 03/08/16 09:42 AM Re: Navionics chip with Lowrance HDS Gen 2 problem [Re: FLW_01]
FLW_01 Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 01/22/16
Posts: 27
Yes the card worked fine in the previous unit (HDS 7 insight). It's a South Region card. All I want to do is be able to see the contours and find flats, ledges, etc.


Edited by FLW_01 (03/08/16 09:45 AM)

Top
#11463996 - 03/08/16 03:00 PM Re: Navionics chip with Lowrance HDS Gen 2 problem [Re: FLW_01]
T Bird Online   content
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 03/07/10
Posts: 3918
Loc: Temple, Texas USA
You need to ZOOM In with your + icon on bottom of map screen.


Edited by T Bird (03/08/16 03:07 PM)
_________________________

Top
#11464884 - 03/08/16 09:02 PM Re: Navionics chip with Lowrance HDS Gen 2 problem [Re: FLW_01]
grout-scout Online   content
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 12/08/08
Posts: 5415
Loc: Boerne, Texas
Odd, when I purchased my card (platinum) it would only show white lake maps with red borders. Zoomed into nothing, updated it and all of a sudden it had maps. I think I got a jinxed card from the get go, didn't even get 5 months from it before they expired my updates. (No I never called them)

Top
#11465501 - 03/09/16 08:44 AM Re: Navionics chip with Lowrance HDS Gen 2 problem [Re: FLW_01]
Corey Stanley Online   content
Pro Angler

Registered: 10/26/09
Posts: 815
Loc: Tx
Originally Posted By: FLW_01
Yes the card worked fine in the previous unit (HDS 7 insight). It's a South Region card. All I want to do is be able to see the contours and find flats, ledges, etc.


Have you tried Zooming in? Do you have another unit still on the boat, maybe a bow unit that you could try the card in to see if it works there?
_________________________
www.navionics.com

Top
#11465523 - 03/09/16 08:51 AM Re: Navionics chip with Lowrance HDS Gen 2 problem [Re: FLW_01]
FLW_01 Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 01/22/16
Posts: 27
LOL, yes I have tried zooming in. I will get a screenshot loaded up this evening of what it looks like.


Yes I have another unit on the bow, same thing. How do you update these chips?

Top
#11465767 - 03/09/16 10:30 AM Re: Navionics chip with Lowrance HDS Gen 2 problem [Re: FLW_01]
Corey Stanley Online   content
Pro Angler

Registered: 10/26/09
Posts: 815
Loc: Tx
With the Premium card your best bet is to buy the updates chip for $99. It is actually a whole new card that comes to you as a blank card. Once you purchase the updates card you will then need to go to Navionics.com and sign in, it will ask you to insert the update card. Once it reads that it is an update card, it will then ask you to remove and insert your existing premium card, just to verify that you have one. It will only ear mark the Premium card that is has already been used to activate an updates card. You will then be prompted to remove the premium and re-insert the updates card. The update card will then be unlocked and will now become a blank Nav+ card for you to be able to go into and draw boxes around the bodies of water you like to fish and download to that card for a complete customizable to you mapping card, without boundaries.

IF this sounds confusing please let me know if you need any help on it, it is really an easy process that you are walked through step by step on the website. From then on, you will simple be able to update your card online. By doing this, your mapping will improve by leaps and bounds as you will then have the sonar chart layer, which is user recordings that have been submitted to add to or improve mapping. This was not an option on the premium cards as they were too small to handle this info.

http://www.navionics.com/en/navionics-updates
_________________________
www.navionics.com

Top



© 1998-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide