Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Hooter Magruder, modset, Sjenno15, KI Bassin, pjeffrey
104443 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 84494
hopalong 76587
Pilothawk 74348
JDavis7873® 67382
John175 ® 62508
FattyMcButterpants 60659
Tritonman 57363
Derek 57336
SkeeterRonnie 52787
LoneStarSon® 52658
facebook
Forum Stats
104443 Members
60 Forums
837043 Topics
11949955 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#11451589 - 03/02/16 11:09 AM Boat Lanes chip in HB
Basshole9 Offline
Angler

Registered: 07/17/07
Posts: 468
Loc: Fort Worth, TX
I purchased the boat lanes chip for Fork a couple of years ago from LFM and followed all instructions given, and was never able to get it to load on my HB. Last week, I installed the chip into my computer and deleted all of it's contents and re-downloaded the files from the boat lanes website. I installed the chip into my HB again this past saturday at Basschamps and never got the prompt to install the lanes. I even pulled the chip and placed it in my new HB at the bow and same thing.

Is there a way to manage the files that have been loaded into the HB? I feel like if I could delete the files from the first try, I should be able to load the new files and it would work.

I'm completely stumped. I never had this issue on my old Lowrance issues with the boat lanes chip.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
_________________________


"Brew Crew Bass Fishing"

Top
#11452043 - 03/02/16 02:36 PM Re: Boat Lanes chip in HB [Re: Basshole9]
BlueNitro Offline
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 06/08/10
Posts: 4454
Loc: Lewisville
Maybe it was how the chip was loaded. A friend and me were loading converted (from Lowrance to HB) waypoints to his HB and we tried to save the file from HB PC. Nothing would load. We then opened the file and copied and pasted all the waypoints from HB PC to the chip and it worked when we installed the chip into the FF.

Hope this helps.

Top
#11452051 - 03/02/16 02:38 PM Re: Boat Lanes chip in HB [Re: Basshole9]
BlueNitro Offline
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 06/08/10
Posts: 4454
Loc: Lewisville
Do you have HB PC? Try loading the chip and bring up what is on the card and see if there are individual waypoints.

Top
#11452074 - 03/02/16 02:48 PM Re: Boat Lanes chip in HB [Re: Basshole9]
BlueNitro Offline
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 06/08/10
Posts: 4454
Loc: Lewisville


Here is what I mean. If I was to just highlight the Lewisville folder and copy it to a SD card, no waypoints go with it. I have to open the Lewisville folder, click on waypoints and then select all the individual waypoints and copy those to the SD card. This worked for us on the HB when nothing else would.

And yes. I did hide all the Lat/Long information on purpose!!!!

Top
#11452112 - 03/02/16 03:07 PM Re: Boat Lanes chip in HB [Re: Basshole9]
Basshole9 Offline
Angler

Registered: 07/17/07
Posts: 468
Loc: Fort Worth, TX
Gotcha. I'll try the HB PC tonight when I get home. I have the CD but have never loaded it to the computer. It will be interesting to see if there are any waypoints loaded onto the Boat Lanes chip. Regardless, I was confused as to why I never got a prompt on my HB screen when I entered to chip.

I'll mess with the chip tonight and see what I come up with.
_________________________


"Brew Crew Bass Fishing"

Top
#11452118 - 03/02/16 03:11 PM Re: Boat Lanes chip in HB [Re: Basshole9]
BlueNitro Offline
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 06/08/10
Posts: 4454
Loc: Lewisville
That's what got us. Each time we put the chip into the FF, it would not prompt us. Once we copied the waypoints, we got the prompt and it worked perfectly.

Top
#11452128 - 03/02/16 03:17 PM Re: Boat Lanes chip in HB [Re: Basshole9]
Basshole9 Offline
Angler

Registered: 07/17/07
Posts: 468
Loc: Fort Worth, TX
10-4. I appreciate the help!
_________________________


"Brew Crew Bass Fishing"

Top
#11452378 - 03/02/16 05:13 PM Re: Boat Lanes chip in HB [Re: Basshole9]
Happy Birthday Txmedic033 Online   content
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 08/13/13
Posts: 3966
Loc: Longview, Tx
I appreciate you hiding all of those waypoints, Ron. Do you need my email so that you can just email them to me?

Top
#11452399 - 03/02/16 05:21 PM Re: Boat Lanes chip in HB [Re: Basshole9]
Bobby Milam Online   content
Extreme Angler

Registered: 07/13/14
Posts: 2301
Loc: Arlington
I was under the impression that the chip was only for Lowrance. Now that I know they have one for HB, I'm going to have to look into it. I've never seen them in person before. Does it have lanes going into the creeks?

Top
#11452784 - 03/02/16 08:16 PM Re: Boat Lanes chip in HB [Re: Basshole9]
Basshole9 Offline
Angler

Registered: 07/17/07
Posts: 468
Loc: Fort Worth, TX
The chip I had in my last depth finder had tons of lanes. Definitely worth the purchase. Now if I could just get this one to load.

BlueNitro,

I loaded the chip onto HB PC and there are definitely tracks on it. Now I just need to figure out how to get them onto my graph. I'll have to mess with it this weekend while I'm on the water.
_________________________


"Brew Crew Bass Fishing"

Top
#11453433 - 03/03/16 08:14 AM Re: Boat Lanes chip in HB [Re: Txmedic033]
BlueNitro Offline
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 06/08/10
Posts: 4454
Loc: Lewisville
Originally Posted By: Txmedic033
I appreciate you hiding all of those waypoints, Ron. Do you need my email so that you can just email them to me?


I got Lewisville (available after CAT State), Grapevine, Cedar Creek, Ray Roberts, Texoma and Lavon. If you got some for Fork, LOP, Palestine or any other East TX Lakes I'm sure we could work something out.

Top
#11453458 - 03/03/16 08:22 AM Re: Boat Lanes chip in HB [Re: Bobby Milam]
BlueNitro Offline
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 06/08/10
Posts: 4454
Loc: Lewisville
Originally Posted By: Bobby Milam
I was under the impression that the chip was only for Lowrance. Now that I know they have one for HB, I'm going to have to look into it. I've never seen them in person before. Does it have lanes going into the creeks?


You can take Lowrance waypoints and convert them HB and load into your FF. Just convert to a .gpx (I use EasyGPS) and then load the .gpx points into HB PC and load to a SD Card and insert into your FF (read above about how to save them). Easy to do.

Top
#11453582 - 03/03/16 08:59 AM Re: Boat Lanes chip in HB [Re: Basshole9]
LittleGazoo Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 10/22/10
Posts: 816
Loc: Big Sandy, TX
You will download a ZIP file from the Boatlanes website.

I'll assume you have a HB legacy unit(1198, 1198, 998, etc) and I believe the Helix's are the same.
You need to copy the MATRIX folder contained in the ZIP to your SD-card.

Then power up your HB unit. If you have not already done so, under the HB Nav tab, select and change your Saved Tracks Default to a bold line and choice of color, then insert the SD-card. You should be prompted.

You can do this in your garage before you go to the lake. What lake do you have?


Edited by LittleGazoo (03/03/16 09:24 AM)

Top
#11453631 - 03/03/16 09:16 AM Re: Boat Lanes chip in HB [Re: Basshole9]
LittleGazoo Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 10/22/10
Posts: 816
Loc: Big Sandy, TX
HumminbirdPC contains its data in GPX files. HBPC can OPEN, SAVE or SAVE AS these GPX files.
The HB legacy units import and export their data(waypoints, routes, tracks) into files in the MATRIX folder.
HBPC can download and upload the MATRIX folder files and create its GPX file.

HB Legacy units and Helix utilize the MATRIX folder to import & export.
HB ONIX units utilize GPX files to import & export. But I was told Onix's can import from the MATRIX's DATA.HWR if needed.


Edited by LittleGazoo (03/03/16 09:22 AM)

Top
#11454128 - 03/03/16 12:36 PM Re: Boat Lanes chip in HB [Re: LittleGazoo]
Wayne P. Offline
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 11/16/10
Posts: 3591
Loc: Charlottesville, Va
Originally Posted By: LittleGazoo
HumminbirdPC contains its data in GPX files. HBPC can OPEN, SAVE or SAVE AS these GPX files.
The HB legacy units import and export their data(waypoints, routes, tracks) into files in the MATRIX folder.
HBPC can download and upload the MATRIX folder files and create its GPX file.

HB Legacy units and Helix utilize the MATRIX folder to import & export.
HB ONIX units utilize GPX files to import & export. But I was told Onix's can import from the MATRIX's DATA.HWR if needed.


Don't think so. You have to separate the files as GPX to load them to the ONIX.
You save as GPX from HumminbirdPC to a memory card to load to the ONIX.
You cannot go through the card symbol loading process that creates the Matrix folder with the data in that folder. I have only done it a dozen or so times.

http://www.humminbird.com/Category/Support/FAQ/Convert2GPX/

The ONIX will load GPX data from other brands directly without going through HBPC.
_________________________
Humminbird Helix 12 CHIRP SI, 1198c SI, 1198c SI, ONIX 10 SI NT, Helix 7 CHIRP SI GPS G2, SOLIX 12 SI, 360, RC-1

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >



© 1998-2017 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide