Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
John garrison, TSquared, mikemc877, ND fishin, CapAmerFisher42
104505 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 84540
hopalong 76666
Pilothawk 74396
JDavis7873® 67382
John175 ® 62570
FattyMcButterpants 60661
Derek 57380
Tritonman 57374
SkeeterRonnie 52820
LoneStarSon® 52664
facebook
Forum Stats
104505 Members
60 Forums
787592 Topics
9957471 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Topic Options
#11445560 - 02/28/16 05:00 PM Maps chip and compatibility (navionics chip and hds gen 1 unit)
joho5 Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 07/03/08
Posts: 2593
Loc: Abbott, TX
When I put this chip in, it just shows very bland...no depth contours. Is it not compatible?

I have a hds 5 gen 1

the chip says:

Hotmaps Premium
South
SD/PREM-S2
V03.18


thanks for any help

Top
#11445586 - 02/28/16 05:14 PM Re: Maps chip and compatibility (navionics chip and hds gen 1 unit) [Re: joho5]
grout-scout Offline
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 12/08/08
Posts: 5785
Loc: Boerne, Texas
That's a old card but I don't see any reason why it wouldn't work. There's a member by the name of Wayne P that post in the Humminbird thread. If nobody else responds shoot him a PM about it, he's one of the most versed in Navionics on here. (There's a few others but they aren't on here as much as Wayne)

Top
#11445634 - 02/28/16 05:43 PM Re: Maps chip and compatibility (navionics chip and hds gen 1 unit) [Re: joho5]
wallyandre Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 11/18/15
Posts: 42
Are you sure the card is unlock?

If so, his you're HDS run the latest software version?

On the map page menu did you choose Navionics instead of Lowrance?

Are you sure the MSD (mini card) is inside the SD?

Top
#11445648 - 02/28/16 05:51 PM Re: Maps chip and compatibility (navionics chip and hds gen 1 unit) [Re: joho5]
joho5 Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 07/03/08
Posts: 2593
Loc: Abbott, TX
Yes its on latest firmware

I chose both and when I choose navionics, thats when it goes really bland and no contours.

It doesnt have a mini-sd...its an older full size chip

does it have to be on unlock? I just thought that meant nothing could be written to it.

Top
#11445796 - 02/28/16 07:27 PM Re: Maps chip and compatibility (navionics chip and hds gen 1 unit) [Re: joho5]
Wayne P. Offline
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 11/16/10
Posts: 3591
Loc: Charlottesville, Va
Answered your PM about your 2006 512MB card.
_________________________
Humminbird Helix 12 CHIRP SI, 1198c SI, 1198c SI, ONIX 10 SI NT, Helix 7 CHIRP SI GPS G2, SOLIX 12 SI, 360, RC-1

Top
#11445965 - 02/28/16 08:36 PM Re: Maps chip and compatibility (navionics chip and hds gen 1 unit) [Re: joho5]
joho5 Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 07/03/08
Posts: 2593
Loc: Abbott, TX
Thanks...I need to boot it back up and scroll around to a bigger lake and see if maybe just the lake I was looking at wasnt covered.

Top
#11462978 - 03/08/16 08:57 AM Re: Maps chip and compatibility (navionics chip and hds gen 1 unit) [Re: joho5]
Corey Stanley Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 10/26/09
Posts: 870
Loc: Tx
What lake were you trying to look at? I would check out the Webapp to see if the lake is covered, but just because it is on there now does not mean it was back when that card was made. If it is now on the webapp, you can buy an updates card for $99(new card at half price since you already own a Navionics Card) and use your old premium to unlock the update and have the latest mapping that is on the webapp.

http://webapp.navionics.com/#@6&key=omvvDnjx%7DP
_________________________
www.navionics.com

Top
#11463544 - 03/08/16 12:18 PM Re: Maps chip and compatibility (navionics chip and hds gen 1 unit) [Re: Corey Stanley]
joho5 Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 07/03/08
Posts: 2593
Loc: Abbott, TX
Originally Posted By: Corey Stanley
What lake were you trying to look at? I would check out the Webapp to see if the lake is covered, but just because it is on there now does not mean it was back when that card was made. If it is now on the webapp, you can buy an updates card for $99(new card at half price since you already own a Navionics Card) and use your old premium to unlock the update and have the latest mapping that is on the webapp.

http://webapp.navionics.com/#@6&key=omvvDnjx%7DP


I think it may be older than 2010 chip. If thats the case, the update wont work right?

Top
#11465488 - 03/09/16 08:39 AM Re: Maps chip and compatibility (navionics chip and hds gen 1 unit) [Re: joho5]
Corey Stanley Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 10/26/09
Posts: 870
Loc: Tx
No, if it is a Premium card, the updates card will work. It is differnet than just doing the update online. It is actually a whole new card that comes to you as a blank card. When you go to Navionics.com and sign in, it will ask you to insert the update card. Once it reads that it is an update card, it will then ask you to remove and insert your existing premium card, just to verify that you have one and it will ear mark the Premium card that is has already been used to activate an updates card. You will then be prompted to remove the premium and re-insert the updates card. The update card will then be unlocked and will now become a blank Nav+ card for you to be able to go into and draw boxes around the bodies of water you like to fish and download to that card for a complete customizable to you mapping card, without boundaries. Your premium card will be perfectly functional to do with whatever you wish, can even still use it in another unit.
_________________________
www.navionics.com

Top



© 1998-2017 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide