Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
RushtonGregory, Bulletman77, thereason11, Lady808, PReaux
102720 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 82868
hopalong 74393
Pilothawk 73431
JDavis7873® 67377
FattyMcButterpants 60518
John175 ® 59880
Tritonman 56824
Derek 56406
SkeeterRonnie 52453
LoneStarSon® 52223
facebook
Forum Stats
102720 Members
61 Forums
859066 Topics
11269753 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Topic Options
#11445560 - 02/28/16 05:00 PM Maps chip and compatibility (navionics chip and hds gen 1 unit)
joho5 Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 07/03/08
Posts: 2578
Loc: Abbott, TX
When I put this chip in, it just shows very bland...no depth contours. Is it not compatible?

I have a hds 5 gen 1

the chip says:

Hotmaps Premium
South
SD/PREM-S2
V03.18


thanks for any help

Top
#11445586 - 02/28/16 05:14 PM Re: Maps chip and compatibility (navionics chip and hds gen 1 unit) [Re: joho5]
grout-scout Offline
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 12/08/08
Posts: 5415
Loc: Boerne, Texas
That's a old card but I don't see any reason why it wouldn't work. There's a member by the name of Wayne P that post in the Humminbird thread. If nobody else responds shoot him a PM about it, he's one of the most versed in Navionics on here. (There's a few others but they aren't on here as much as Wayne)

Top
#11445634 - 02/28/16 05:43 PM Re: Maps chip and compatibility (navionics chip and hds gen 1 unit) [Re: joho5]
wallyandre Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 11/18/15
Posts: 34
Are you sure the card is unlock?

If so, his you're HDS run the latest software version?

On the map page menu did you choose Navionics instead of Lowrance?

Are you sure the MSD (mini card) is inside the SD?

Top
#11445648 - 02/28/16 05:51 PM Re: Maps chip and compatibility (navionics chip and hds gen 1 unit) [Re: joho5]
joho5 Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 07/03/08
Posts: 2578
Loc: Abbott, TX
Yes its on latest firmware

I chose both and when I choose navionics, thats when it goes really bland and no contours.

It doesnt have a mini-sd...its an older full size chip

does it have to be on unlock? I just thought that meant nothing could be written to it.

Top
#11445796 - 02/28/16 07:27 PM Re: Maps chip and compatibility (navionics chip and hds gen 1 unit) [Re: joho5]
Wayne P. Online   content
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 11/16/10
Posts: 3441
Loc: Charlottesville, Va
Answered your PM about your 2006 512MB card.
_________________________
Humminbird Helix 12 CHIRP SI, 1198c SI, 1198c SI, ONIX 10 SI NT, Helix 7 CHIRP SI GPS G2, 360, RC-1

Top
#11445965 - 02/28/16 08:36 PM Re: Maps chip and compatibility (navionics chip and hds gen 1 unit) [Re: joho5]
joho5 Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 07/03/08
Posts: 2578
Loc: Abbott, TX
Thanks...I need to boot it back up and scroll around to a bigger lake and see if maybe just the lake I was looking at wasnt covered.

Top
#11462978 - 03/08/16 08:57 AM Re: Maps chip and compatibility (navionics chip and hds gen 1 unit) [Re: joho5]
Corey Stanley Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 10/26/09
Posts: 815
Loc: Tx
What lake were you trying to look at? I would check out the Webapp to see if the lake is covered, but just because it is on there now does not mean it was back when that card was made. If it is now on the webapp, you can buy an updates card for $99(new card at half price since you already own a Navionics Card) and use your old premium to unlock the update and have the latest mapping that is on the webapp.

http://webapp.navionics.com/#@6&key=omvvDnjx%7DP
_________________________
www.navionics.com

Top
#11463544 - 03/08/16 12:18 PM Re: Maps chip and compatibility (navionics chip and hds gen 1 unit) [Re: Corey Stanley]
joho5 Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 07/03/08
Posts: 2578
Loc: Abbott, TX
Originally Posted By: Corey Stanley
What lake were you trying to look at? I would check out the Webapp to see if the lake is covered, but just because it is on there now does not mean it was back when that card was made. If it is now on the webapp, you can buy an updates card for $99(new card at half price since you already own a Navionics Card) and use your old premium to unlock the update and have the latest mapping that is on the webapp.

http://webapp.navionics.com/#@6&key=omvvDnjx%7DP


I think it may be older than 2010 chip. If thats the case, the update wont work right?

Top
#11465488 - 03/09/16 08:39 AM Re: Maps chip and compatibility (navionics chip and hds gen 1 unit) [Re: joho5]
Corey Stanley Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 10/26/09
Posts: 815
Loc: Tx
No, if it is a Premium card, the updates card will work. It is differnet than just doing the update online. It is actually a whole new card that comes to you as a blank card. When you go to Navionics.com and sign in, it will ask you to insert the update card. Once it reads that it is an update card, it will then ask you to remove and insert your existing premium card, just to verify that you have one and it will ear mark the Premium card that is has already been used to activate an updates card. You will then be prompted to remove the premium and re-insert the updates card. The update card will then be unlocked and will now become a blank Nav+ card for you to be able to go into and draw boxes around the bodies of water you like to fish and download to that card for a complete customizable to you mapping card, without boundaries. Your premium card will be perfectly functional to do with whatever you wish, can even still use it in another unit.
_________________________
www.navionics.com

Top



© 1998-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide