Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Monica-Henin, RattlesnakeDan, Mapchief, WhateverFloatsYourBoat, Bigfishingman2008
108032 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 88655
hopalong 78895
Pilothawk 76397
John175® 67605
JDavis7873® 67390
FattyMcButterpants 60868
Derek 🐝 60292
Tritonman 57998
LoneStarSon® 54413
SkeeterRonnie 53367
facebook
Forum Stats
108032 Members
60 Forums
811542 Topics
10277964 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Topic Options
#11445560 - 02/28/16 05:00 PM Maps chip and compatibility (navionics chip and hds gen 1 unit)
joho5 Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 07/03/08
Posts: 2988
Loc: Abbott, TX
When I put this chip in, it just shows very bland...no depth contours. Is it not compatible?

I have a hds 5 gen 1

the chip says:

Hotmaps Premium
South
SD/PREM-S2
V03.18


thanks for any help

Top
#11445586 - 02/28/16 05:14 PM Re: Maps chip and compatibility (navionics chip and hds gen 1 unit) [Re: joho5]
grout-scout Online   content
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 12/08/08
Posts: 6898
Loc: Boerne, Texas
That's a old card but I don't see any reason why it wouldn't work. There's a member by the name of Wayne P that post in the Humminbird thread. If nobody else responds shoot him a PM about it, he's one of the most versed in Navionics on here. (There's a few others but they aren't on here as much as Wayne)

Top
#11445634 - 02/28/16 05:43 PM Re: Maps chip and compatibility (navionics chip and hds gen 1 unit) [Re: joho5]
wallyandre Online   content
Outdoorsman

Registered: 11/18/15
Posts: 55
Are you sure the card is unlock?

If so, his you're HDS run the latest software version?

On the map page menu did you choose Navionics instead of Lowrance?

Are you sure the MSD (mini card) is inside the SD?

Top
#11445648 - 02/28/16 05:51 PM Re: Maps chip and compatibility (navionics chip and hds gen 1 unit) [Re: joho5]
joho5 Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 07/03/08
Posts: 2988
Loc: Abbott, TX
Yes its on latest firmware

I chose both and when I choose navionics, thats when it goes really bland and no contours.

It doesnt have a mini-sd...its an older full size chip

does it have to be on unlock? I just thought that meant nothing could be written to it.

Top
#11445796 - 02/28/16 07:27 PM Re: Maps chip and compatibility (navionics chip and hds gen 1 unit) [Re: joho5]
Wayne P. Online   content
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 11/16/10
Posts: 4065
Loc: Charlottesville, Va
Answered your PM about your 2006 512MB card.
_________________________
Humminbird Helix 12 CHIRP SI, 1198c SI, 1198c SI, ONIX 10 SI NT, Helix 7 CHIRP SI GPS G2, SOLIX 12 SI, 360, RC-1

Top
#11445965 - 02/28/16 08:36 PM Re: Maps chip and compatibility (navionics chip and hds gen 1 unit) [Re: joho5]
joho5 Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 07/03/08
Posts: 2988
Loc: Abbott, TX
Thanks...I need to boot it back up and scroll around to a bigger lake and see if maybe just the lake I was looking at wasnt covered.

Top
#11462978 - 03/08/16 08:57 AM Re: Maps chip and compatibility (navionics chip and hds gen 1 unit) [Re: joho5]
Corey Stanley Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 10/26/09
Posts: 1012
Loc: Tx
What lake were you trying to look at? I would check out the Webapp to see if the lake is covered, but just because it is on there now does not mean it was back when that card was made. If it is now on the webapp, you can buy an updates card for $99(new card at half price since you already own a Navionics Card) and use your old premium to unlock the update and have the latest mapping that is on the webapp.

http://webapp.navionics.com/#@6&key=omvvDnjx%7DP
_________________________
www.navionics.com

Top
#11463544 - 03/08/16 12:18 PM Re: Maps chip and compatibility (navionics chip and hds gen 1 unit) [Re: Corey Stanley]
joho5 Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 07/03/08
Posts: 2988
Loc: Abbott, TX
Originally Posted By: Corey Stanley
What lake were you trying to look at? I would check out the Webapp to see if the lake is covered, but just because it is on there now does not mean it was back when that card was made. If it is now on the webapp, you can buy an updates card for $99(new card at half price since you already own a Navionics Card) and use your old premium to unlock the update and have the latest mapping that is on the webapp.

http://webapp.navionics.com/#@6&key=omvvDnjx%7DP


I think it may be older than 2010 chip. If thats the case, the update wont work right?

Top
#11465488 - 03/09/16 08:39 AM Re: Maps chip and compatibility (navionics chip and hds gen 1 unit) [Re: joho5]
Corey Stanley Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 10/26/09
Posts: 1012
Loc: Tx
No, if it is a Premium card, the updates card will work. It is differnet than just doing the update online. It is actually a whole new card that comes to you as a blank card. When you go to Navionics.com and sign in, it will ask you to insert the update card. Once it reads that it is an update card, it will then ask you to remove and insert your existing premium card, just to verify that you have one and it will ear mark the Premium card that is has already been used to activate an updates card. You will then be prompted to remove the premium and re-insert the updates card. The update card will then be unlocked and will now become a blank Nav+ card for you to be able to go into and draw boxes around the bodies of water you like to fish and download to that card for a complete customizable to you mapping card, without boundaries. Your premium card will be perfectly functional to do with whatever you wish, can even still use it in another unit.
_________________________
www.navionics.com

Top



© 1998-2018 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide