Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Big Cook, Coveinlet, tylerwhofishes, Best Kayak Labs, mpavlas
106522 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 87131
hopalong 78821
Pilothawk 75799
JDavis7873® 67386
John175 ® 65901
FattyMcButterpants 60793
Derek 🐝 59028
Tritonman 57763
LoneStarSon® 53818
SkeeterRonnie 53123
facebook
Forum Stats
106522 Members
61 Forums
864023 Topics
12278673 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
#11433669 - 02/23/16 02:02 PM Does anyone spool their baitcaster with 10 lb line?
howie1968 Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 07/14/10
Posts: 51
i love fishing with zoom super flukes ive found the best test line for me is 10 lb big game on a 3/0 worm hook. i normally use spinning equipment for this. ive gotten alot better at using baitcasters and i like the combo of 10 lb line and the 3/0 worm hook or should i go up to 12 lbs line. how much action will i lose from going up to 12 lb. this is my biggest bass on 10 lb line caught 2 weeks ago on a watermelon seed super fluke with a 3/0 worm hook

Top
#11433677 - 02/23/16 02:05 PM Re: Does anyone spool their baitcaster with 10 lb line? [Re: howie1968]
fouzman Offline
Methuselah

Registered: 01/20/09
Posts: 45888
Loc: Houston, TX
I do but that's typically for jerkbaits and DD crank baits.
_________________________
"Things turn out best for those who make the best of the way things turn out" - Zachary Troy Schrah - a young man with vision far beyond his years.

Top
#11433682 - 02/23/16 02:08 PM Re: Does anyone spool their baitcaster with 10 lb line? [Re: howie1968]
howie1968 Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 07/14/10
Posts: 51
this reel will be my designated super fluke reel thanks for the response

Top
#11433702 - 02/23/16 02:18 PM Re: Does anyone spool their baitcaster with 10 lb line? [Re: howie1968]
charlieecho Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 08/25/11
Posts: 578
Loc: Lbk,TX
I've always heard to fish with the lightest line you can get by with. That being said I usually fish with 15-20 lbs fc haha
_________________________
If you ain't first you're last.

Top
#11433709 - 02/23/16 02:21 PM Re: Does anyone spool their baitcaster with 10 lb line? [Re: fouzman]
kellisag Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 12/08/06
Posts: 1636
Loc: SETX
Originally Posted By: fouzman
I do but that's typically for jerkbaits and DD crank baits.

Top
#11433714 - 02/23/16 02:22 PM Re: Does anyone spool their baitcaster with 10 lb line? [Re: charlieecho]
Mantase Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 06/04/09
Posts: 68
Yes,

I have been using 10lb Invizx for years on a bait caster. I call it my "weightless rig". I use it for flukes, senkos or anything else i want to throw weightless. When you get into any kind of cover just check your line with every fish and retie often.

Good Luck!
_________________________
Go Fish!!

lonestarbaitco

customizable fishing log

Top
#11433721 - 02/23/16 02:24 PM Re: Does anyone spool their baitcaster with 10 lb line? [Re: howie1968]
TxRanger1 Offline
Angler

Registered: 12/31/15
Posts: 288
Loc: Humble,Tx
From the looks of that picture, I would not change a thing. banana

Top
#11433769 - 02/23/16 02:44 PM Re: Does anyone spool their baitcaster with 10 lb line? [Re: TxRanger1]
danwill12 Offline
Angler

Registered: 05/30/14
Posts: 333
Loc: Florida
What TxRanger1 said. + 1

Top
#11433822 - 02/23/16 03:10 PM Re: Does anyone spool their baitcaster with 10 lb line? [Re: howie1968]
howie1968 Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 07/14/10
Posts: 51
Thank you men, just spooled up my mettle with 10 lb big game. she casts great. i wanted a a reel set up that was lighter and less bulky then my spinning rod set ups. i caught that bass 2 weeks ago out of my kayak. i realized after catching her i wanted a slimmer profile set up as kayaks dont have alot of room.

Top
#11433853 - 02/23/16 03:19 PM Re: Does anyone spool their baitcaster with 10 lb line? [Re: howie1968]
TwoLakes Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 08/04/09
Posts: 864
Loc: Texarkana, AR
If you are fishing in open water, you can get away with 10 pound test. If there is anything for a bigger fish to get around in the area, you're going to have a hard time getting them turned.

Top
#11433900 - 02/23/16 03:34 PM Re: Does anyone spool their baitcaster with 10 lb line? [Re: howie1968]
Austin710 Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 04/28/14
Posts: 90
Loc: Dallas, Texas
I have 10lb test on a rod for flukes too actually lol

Top
#11433902 - 02/23/16 03:35 PM Re: Does anyone spool their baitcaster with 10 lb line? [Re: howie1968]
Curtbass Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 04/17/15
Posts: 1204
Loc: Grand Prairie, Tx
I wouldn't change a thing.. 10# Big Game will DEFINATELY work. Always remember, ya gotta git em on before you can lose em. If you're getting quality fish like that with it you should stick with what's working. Congratulations on a very nice fish.
_________________________
'98 Tr20 Triton
'94 Merc 200Xri
HydroDynamics 10" JP
Tempest Plus 25P-B&B @Steves Custom Props-Josh Edwards
HB999HDSI
HB899HDSI

92' ChampioN 201DCR Elite
13' Yamaha250SHO
HB Helix12 G2N
HB Helix10 G2N

Top
#11433980 - 02/23/16 04:07 PM Re: Does anyone spool their baitcaster with 10 lb line? [Re: howie1968]
howie1968 Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 07/14/10
Posts: 51
Thank you men, the !0 lb is on we will see how it goes, this setup is alot lighter then my spinning set up less bulky as well

Top
#11433990 - 02/23/16 04:11 PM Re: Does anyone spool their baitcaster with 10 lb line? [Re: howie1968]
Kidde Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 02/15/16
Posts: 203
I do 12 LB line

Top
#11434011 - 02/23/16 04:19 PM Re: Does anyone spool their baitcaster with 10 lb line? [Re: howie1968]
Rhino68W Offline
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 11/06/14
Posts: 6626
Loc: Benbrook, TX
If your drag is set right then go with what has been working for you!
_________________________
Facebook | Kayak Fishing Military Veterans

Top
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >



© 1998-2017 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide