Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
mudely, Smellslikefish2me, sbets, India 3/7, sw69
103134 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 83658
hopalong 74934
Pilothawk 73803
JDavis7873® 67378
John175 ® 60960
FattyMcButterpants 60592
Tritonman 57163
Derek 56830
SkeeterRonnie 52571
LoneStarSon® 52405
facebook
Forum Stats
103134 Members
61 Forums
864545 Topics
11347568 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
#11433669 - 02/23/16 02:02 PM Does anyone spool their baitcaster with 10 lb line?
howie1968 Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 07/14/10
Posts: 51
i love fishing with zoom super flukes ive found the best test line for me is 10 lb big game on a 3/0 worm hook. i normally use spinning equipment for this. ive gotten alot better at using baitcasters and i like the combo of 10 lb line and the 3/0 worm hook or should i go up to 12 lbs line. how much action will i lose from going up to 12 lb. this is my biggest bass on 10 lb line caught 2 weeks ago on a watermelon seed super fluke with a 3/0 worm hook

Top
#11433677 - 02/23/16 02:05 PM Re: Does anyone spool their baitcaster with 10 lb line? [Re: howie1968]
fouzman Offline
Methuselah

Registered: 01/20/09
Posts: 43296
Loc: Houston, TX
I do but that's typically for jerkbaits and DD crank baits.
_________________________
"Things turn out best for those who make the best of the way things turn out" - Zachary Troy Schrah - a young man with vision far beyond his years.

Top
#11433682 - 02/23/16 02:08 PM Re: Does anyone spool their baitcaster with 10 lb line? [Re: howie1968]
howie1968 Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 07/14/10
Posts: 51
this reel will be my designated super fluke reel thanks for the response

Top
#11433702 - 02/23/16 02:18 PM Re: Does anyone spool their baitcaster with 10 lb line? [Re: howie1968]
charlieecho Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 08/25/11
Posts: 569
Loc: Lbk,TX
I've always heard to fish with the lightest line you can get by with. That being said I usually fish with 15-20 lbs fc haha
_________________________
If you ain't first you're last.

Top
#11433709 - 02/23/16 02:21 PM Re: Does anyone spool their baitcaster with 10 lb line? [Re: fouzman]
kellisag Online   content
Extreme Angler

Registered: 12/08/06
Posts: 1422
Loc: SETX
Originally Posted By: fouzman
I do but that's typically for jerkbaits and DD crank baits.

Top
#11433714 - 02/23/16 02:22 PM Re: Does anyone spool their baitcaster with 10 lb line? [Re: charlieecho]
Mantase Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 06/04/09
Posts: 68
Yes,

I have been using 10lb Invizx for years on a bait caster. I call it my "weightless rig". I use it for flukes, senkos or anything else i want to throw weightless. When you get into any kind of cover just check your line with every fish and retie often.

Good Luck!
_________________________
Go Fish!!

lonestarbaitco

customizable fishing log

Top
#11433721 - 02/23/16 02:24 PM Re: Does anyone spool their baitcaster with 10 lb line? [Re: howie1968]
TxRanger1 Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 12/31/15
Posts: 240
Loc: Humble,Tx
From the looks of that picture, I would not change a thing. banana

Top
#11433769 - 02/23/16 02:44 PM Re: Does anyone spool their baitcaster with 10 lb line? [Re: TxRanger1]
danwill12 Offline
Angler

Registered: 05/30/14
Posts: 333
Loc: Florida
What TxRanger1 said. + 1

Top
#11433822 - 02/23/16 03:10 PM Re: Does anyone spool their baitcaster with 10 lb line? [Re: howie1968]
howie1968 Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 07/14/10
Posts: 51
Thank you men, just spooled up my mettle with 10 lb big game. she casts great. i wanted a a reel set up that was lighter and less bulky then my spinning rod set ups. i caught that bass 2 weeks ago out of my kayak. i realized after catching her i wanted a slimmer profile set up as kayaks dont have alot of room.

Top
#11433853 - 02/23/16 03:19 PM Re: Does anyone spool their baitcaster with 10 lb line? [Re: howie1968]
TwoLakes Online   content
Pro Angler

Registered: 08/04/09
Posts: 683
Loc: Texarkana, AR
If you are fishing in open water, you can get away with 10 pound test. If there is anything for a bigger fish to get around in the area, you're going to have a hard time getting them turned.

Top
#11433900 - 02/23/16 03:34 PM Re: Does anyone spool their baitcaster with 10 lb line? [Re: howie1968]
Austin710 Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 04/28/14
Posts: 90
Loc: Dallas, Texas
I have 10lb test on a rod for flukes too actually lol

Top
#11433902 - 02/23/16 03:35 PM Re: Does anyone spool their baitcaster with 10 lb line? [Re: howie1968]
Curtbass Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 04/17/15
Posts: 532
Loc: Grand Prairie, Tx
I wouldn't change a thing.. 10# Big Game will DEFINATELY work. Always remember, ya gotta git em on before you can lose em. If you're getting quality fish like that with it you should stick with what's working. Congratulations on a very nice fish.

Top
#11433980 - 02/23/16 04:07 PM Re: Does anyone spool their baitcaster with 10 lb line? [Re: howie1968]
howie1968 Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 07/14/10
Posts: 51
Thank you men, the !0 lb is on we will see how it goes, this setup is alot lighter then my spinning set up less bulky as well

Top
#11433990 - 02/23/16 04:11 PM Re: Does anyone spool their baitcaster with 10 lb line? [Re: howie1968]
Kidde Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 02/15/16
Posts: 203
I do 12 LB line

Top
#11434011 - 02/23/16 04:19 PM Re: Does anyone spool their baitcaster with 10 lb line? [Re: howie1968]
Rhino68W Online   content
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 11/06/14
Posts: 5884
Loc: Benbrook, TX
If your drag is set right then go with what has been working for you!
_________________________
I am Rhino68W, and I approve of this message.

Top
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >



© 1998-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide