Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
TillerBC, I do what I want, Wetmyhook, FrontierMan, RiverMann
103529 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 84002
hopalong 75451
Pilothawk 74021
JDavis7873® 67380
John175 ® 61807
FattyMcButterpants 60637
Tritonman 57277
Derek 57011
SkeeterRonnie 52606
LoneStarSon® 52530
facebook
Forum Stats
103529 Members
61 Forums
868942 Topics
11402208 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Topic Options
#11418357 - 02/16/16 04:38 PM Garmin GPS coordinates?
Dbranch3 Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 02/08/15
Posts: 198
I got some coordinates from google earth that I wanted to try and fish, but when I manually put coordinates in gps they seemed to be off, some was even showing on land, could it be I have wrong setting on gps? I know there are a couple of different types of coordinates used, anyone know what I should have my settings on gps set for to match google earth?
Thanks for the help

Top
#11418387 - 02/16/16 04:53 PM Re: Garmin GPS coordinates? [Re: Dbranch3]
206champion Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 02/12/04
Posts: 1694
Loc: Decatur
You will have to have them formated to fit your garmin , find out what format you need and then you can go online and convert it to your garmin format and then put it in your unit manually or with a sd card if it uses one.
_________________________
www.westforkbassclub.com

Top
#11418401 - 02/16/16 04:59 PM Re: Garmin GPS coordinates? [Re: Dbranch3]
Skeeterbrain Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 07/31/07
Posts: 1156
Loc: Cut and Shoot, TX
Google Earth files are .klm files. You will have to convert them to .gpx files.
gpsbable is what I use.

Top
#11418519 - 02/16/16 05:59 PM Re: Garmin GPS coordinates? [Re: Dbranch3]
Rob Lay Offline
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 02/21/10
Posts: 5103
Loc: Southlake, TX
one of two ways, I have done both lately.

1) Garmin's waypoint coordinates when manually entering are 99.999999 or similar, there are no online conversion tools using this format I could find, so i had to manually figure the minutes etc and convert them to the Garmin format.

2) Simply save My Places with your waypoints (tracks work too) in Google Earth in the KML/KMZ format, then use gpsvisualizer.com to convert that to GPX.

Waypoints work perfect, Garmin is really bad about wanting to connect track segment ends though.
_________________________
Videos: 12 LB Bass | 44.34 Best 5 | Costa Rica Sailfish | Fork Sight Fishing

Top
#11418957 - 02/16/16 08:55 PM Re: Garmin GPS coordinates? [Re: Dbranch3]
Mike2718 Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 05/05/10
Posts: 116
Loc: Seabrook, TX
You can also download Ride Leader by Trail Tech(it's free). It will open gpx and Google Earth(kml) files. Save your Google Earth file as a kml and NOT kmz file. Open this file with Ride Leader then just save it in gpx format. When you open the file with Ride Leader you can see your points and trails in Google Earth within the Ride Leader software. Ride Leader works with track segments too.


Edited by Mike2718 (02/16/16 08:56 PM)
_________________________
Have a Blessed Day,
Mike

Top
#11419083 - 02/16/16 09:51 PM Re: Garmin GPS coordinates? [Re: Dbranch3]
Dbranch3 Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 02/08/15
Posts: 198
Thanks guys I think I got it, once you convert it is it pretty accurate, what I am marking is stumps and brush so not really big targets?

Top



© 1998-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide