Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
agflytyer, pattjjee, nt_yaker, Jiggin E, FishingFever2424
105473 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 85647
hopalong 78097
Pilothawk 74958
JDavis7873® 67382
John175 ® 64410
FattyMcButterpants 60667
Derek 🐝 58047
Tritonman 57517
LoneStarSon® 53070
SkeeterRonnie 52941
facebook
Forum Stats
105473 Members
60 Forums
798594 Topics
10094404 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Topic Options
#11409614 - 02/12/16 09:05 AM Two Boats Question
Pilothawk Offline
Super Freak

Registered: 01/14/03
Posts: 74958
Loc: Kentucky Lake

I really need to upgrade my electronics. I have a bass boat and a pontoon from which I fish a fair amount. The bass boat has to be launched but the 'toon stays in the water from April thru October.

I have a helix five inch with side imaging on the bass boat trolling motor. I also have a couple of five inch lowrance 5, and a lms522C. They were given to me...but I need transducers for them.

What I am wondering is how practical it would be to get the Helix 10, buy an extra transducer. Mount the HD version on the bass boat, the out of the box ducer on the pontoon. Then depending which boat I was taking out I could switch out the Helix unit to use? Would that be at all practical?

Thanks in advance for your thoughts.
_________________________
KANSAS JAYHAWK BASKETBALL - Where tradition comes from
2008 NATIONAL BASKETBALL CHAMPIONS-ORANGE BOWL CHAMPIONS 2008
52 Conf Champs /5 Nat'l Champs

Top
#11409671 - 02/12/16 09:26 AM Re: Two Boats Question [Re: Pilothawk]
Wayne P. Offline
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 11/16/10
Posts: 3679
Loc: Charlottesville, Va
The Helix 10 SI GPS comes with the HDSI transducer.

Practical is better than purchasing two units. Just need a transducer and power cord.
XHS 9 HDSI 180 T and PC-11 plus the cable collector.

Then you would have to duplicate how it is mounted. A RAM or similar mount would be easier than another gimbal mount.
_________________________
Humminbird Helix 12 CHIRP SI, 1198c SI, 1198c SI, ONIX 10 SI NT, Helix 7 CHIRP SI GPS G2, SOLIX 12 SI, 360, RC-1

Top
#11409736 - 02/12/16 09:48 AM Re: Two Boats Question [Re: Pilothawk]
44 Diesel Online   content
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 12/25/12
Posts: 4390
Loc: Burleson,TX
I Have two boat setup as well and switch em from boat to boat is the best way to go.

Top
#11410803 - 02/12/16 07:05 PM Re: Two Boats Question [Re: Pilothawk]
Bobby Milam Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 07/13/14
Posts: 2613
Loc: Arlington
If I had two boats, that is exactly what I would do. It's a 2 or 3 minute swap that saves a ton of money.

Top
#11410829 - 02/12/16 07:18 PM Re: Two Boats Question [Re: Pilothawk]
Capt Jerry Online   content
Angler

Registered: 12/22/13
Posts: 291
Loc: Cedar Creek Lake
I swap my console unit between two boats. I like it because my waypoints move with it.

Ram mount, power cord and a transducer does it for my Lowrance unit.
_________________________
________________________________________

I fish because the voices in my head tell me to.

Top
#11414949 - 02/15/16 09:00 AM Re: Two Boats Question [Re: Pilothawk]
Mike @ Fishing Specialties Offline
Green Horn

Registered: 09/08/15
Posts: 3
Loc: Colorado
If you were to use a removable transducer mount assembly from Fishingspecialties.com you could easily mount the transducer on each boat. Just get the removable baseplate option (1 for each of the 2 boats) and move your transducer with just 4 thumbscrews. System works really well.

Top
#11415249 - 02/15/16 11:02 AM Re: Two Boats Question [Re: Pilothawk]
Pilothawk Offline
Super Freak

Registered: 01/14/03
Posts: 74958
Loc: Kentucky Lake

Mike...how would that work?

The pontoon stays in the lake all season except for one mid season pontoon scrubbing.
_________________________
KANSAS JAYHAWK BASKETBALL - Where tradition comes from
2008 NATIONAL BASKETBALL CHAMPIONS-ORANGE BOWL CHAMPIONS 2008
52 Conf Champs /5 Nat'l Champs

Top



© 1998-2017 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide