Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Megan Ann, triton0917, John garrison, TSquared, mikemc877
104507 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 84547
hopalong 76674
Pilothawk 74396
JDavis7873® 67382
John175 ® 62583
FattyMcButterpants 60661
Derek 57382
Tritonman 57374
SkeeterRonnie 52820
LoneStarSon® 52666
facebook
Forum Stats
104507 Members
60 Forums
787660 Topics
9958382 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#11380805 - 01/30/16 12:33 PM What's the best anchor to use?
Spencer J. Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 01/12/16
Posts: 39
I got blown around too much on eagle mountain. Does anyone have any recommendations on anchoring? My little mushroom anchor couldn't perform under the 20mph gusts.

Top
#11380817 - 01/30/16 12:43 PM Re: What's the best anchor to use? [Re: Spencer J.]
skeeter22 Online   content
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 10/02/03
Posts: 7565
Loc: Lake Highlands, Brady
Fluke style anchors work very well. Make sure you let out plenty of rope.

Top
#11380826 - 01/30/16 12:57 PM Re: What's the best anchor to use? [Re: Spencer J.]
rlfisher Offline
Angler

Registered: 04/02/12
Posts: 360
Loc: Valley View Texas
Box anchors

Top
#11381084 - 01/30/16 05:04 PM Re: What's the best anchor to use? [Re: Spencer J.]
jbobo Online   content
Extreme Angler

Registered: 02/26/13
Posts: 1969
Loc: springtown,tx.
I have a fluke style on my 22 ft. deep vee cc. It works very well. get at least 3 ft. of anchor chain and enough rope to let out 3 ft. of rope for every 1 ft. of depth.
_________________________
22 ft. Wellcraft Deep V CC
817-220-2312
Bridgeport/Eagle Mountain/Possum Kingdom/ Lake Texoma
www.bobosguideservice.com
www.bobosthumper.com
www.nekidtackle.com Home of the RonRig!

Top
#11381091 - 01/30/16 05:12 PM Re: What's the best anchor to use? [Re: jbobo]
Uncle Zeek Online   content
"Good News, Everyone!"

Registered: 09/26/05
Posts: 18027
Loc: Lewisville
Originally Posted By: jbobo
I have a fluke style on my 22 ft. deep vee cc. It works very well. get at least 3 ft. of anchor chain and enough rope to let out 3 ft. of rope for every 1 ft. of depth.


+1 on anchor chain. I use 6' of chain on my 18' center console; the more chain you use, the less anchor you need.
_________________________

Top
#11381170 - 01/30/16 06:21 PM Re: What's the best anchor to use? [Re: Spencer J.]
Striper Sniper Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 11/28/04
Posts: 946
Loc: Fayetteville TX
I pilot with anchor lock. I used an anchor with my 22 ft bay boat and will never go back. If you have to use an anchor I would defiantly have about 4 foot of chain.
_________________________


"Re livin the glory days!"

Top
#11381187 - 01/30/16 06:29 PM Re: What's the best anchor to use? [Re: Spencer J.]
jbobo Online   content
Extreme Angler

Registered: 02/26/13
Posts: 1969
Loc: springtown,tx.
well, actually I have 20 ft. of chain. I think he has a smaller boat, so he doesn't need that much. lol 6 to 8 ft. would be best though.
_________________________
22 ft. Wellcraft Deep V CC
817-220-2312
Bridgeport/Eagle Mountain/Possum Kingdom/ Lake Texoma
www.bobosguideservice.com
www.bobosthumper.com
www.nekidtackle.com Home of the RonRig!

Top
#11381301 - 01/30/16 07:47 PM Re: What's the best anchor to use? [Re: jbobo]
Spencer J. Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 01/12/16
Posts: 39
I have a 17 foot alumacraft. It's not huge.

Top
#11381306 - 01/30/16 07:51 PM Re: What's the best anchor to use? [Re: Spencer J.]
jbobo Online   content
Extreme Angler

Registered: 02/26/13
Posts: 1969
Loc: springtown,tx.
academy has fluke style anchors and rode(chain). I believe the label will tell what size you need for your size boat.
_________________________
22 ft. Wellcraft Deep V CC
817-220-2312
Bridgeport/Eagle Mountain/Possum Kingdom/ Lake Texoma
www.bobosguideservice.com
www.bobosthumper.com
www.nekidtackle.com Home of the RonRig!

Top
#11381312 - 01/30/16 07:53 PM Re: What's the best anchor to use? [Re: Spencer J.]
kerh2o Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 07/24/15
Posts: 116
Loc: Dallas
Same. Works for me.
_________________________
Kelly

Top
#11381322 - 01/30/16 07:56 PM Re: What's the best anchor to use? [Re: Spencer J.]
Txmedic033 Online   content
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 08/13/13
Posts: 3971
Loc: Longview, Tx
I use 2 box anchors and 6' of chain per anchor. I let out 3x the depth in rope and stay rock solid when tight lining for catfish. I use just the anchor feature on my trolling motor when fishing humps for scaly fish.

Top
#11381563 - 01/30/16 09:53 PM Re: What's the best anchor to use? [Re: Spencer J.]
Spencer J. Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 01/12/16
Posts: 39
Thanks a ton. I'll go get a fluke anchor with chain and lots of rope. The wind will have nothing on me!

Top
#11381600 - 01/30/16 10:14 PM Re: What's the best anchor to use? [Re: Spencer J.]
kerh2o Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 07/24/15
Posts: 116
Loc: Dallas
Chain is a must.
_________________________
Kelly

Top
#11381696 - 01/31/16 12:18 AM Re: What's the best anchor to use? [Re: Spencer J.]
doctorxring Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 11/04/03
Posts: 628
Loc: The Republic of Texas
Ditto on BOX ANCHORS. I have found these to be much easier to use
than a fluke anchor and very reliable. All you need is 2 feet of rope for every 1 foot of depth.
And thats only if the wind is blowing hard, otherwise you can use less rope than that.

They are expensive to buy from Slide Anchor, the company that came out
with them. But there are guys that weld them up much cheaper. I've seen a guy's advert on
the TFF For Sale forum for them. Lots of guys on TFF catfish forum use them, including
guide Chad Ferguson who is pretty picky about his gear.


Edited by doctorxring (01/31/16 12:26 AM)
_________________________
Sharp Hooks Catch Fish

Top
#11382237 - 01/31/16 01:21 PM Re: What's the best anchor to use? [Re: Spencer J.]
Fritz423 Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 04/25/12
Posts: 514
_________________________
Wishin' I was fishin', and dreaming of beer

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >



© 1998-2017 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide