Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Thomas101, liprippen, C. Walker, ronws67, Leftridge
102711 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 82860
hopalong 74385
Pilothawk 73425
JDavis7873® 67377
FattyMcButterpants 60518
John175 ® 59871
Tritonman 56823
Derek 56400
SkeeterRonnie 52453
LoneStarSon® 52219
facebook
Forum Stats
102711 Members
61 Forums
858915 Topics
11267559 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Topic Options
#11372496 - 01/26/16 07:34 PM Transducer mounting question
shut-up-and-fish Online   content
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 02/08/10
Posts: 9095
Loc: Coppell Tx.

I have a Ocean Tetra 10 angler kayak. Can anyone share with me what you have used to mount a Humminbird HDSI (side image) transom transducer.

Thank you
_________________________


It's all coming together and we have you covered @ Shut-Up-And-Fish LLC
for all your Humminbird, Minn Kota & Motorguide needs.
We do Installs!!! 972 737 8161


Top
#11372696 - 01/26/16 08:56 PM Re: Transducer mounting question [Re: shut-up-and-fish]
pelican Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 08/27/11
Posts: 2399
Loc: Grapevine

I don't have that kayak but if you get one of their rudder brackets or make a mount you could do this.
If you plan to install a rudder I use a slightly different design.

_________________________

I've never been good, But I've been Lucky!
I don't Lie or Exaggerate, but sometimes I remember BIG!

Top
#11373005 - 01/26/16 11:20 PM Re: Transducer mounting question [Re: shut-up-and-fish]
Federale Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 02/22/05
Posts: 736
Loc: Fort Worth
Pelican is right on. Use your rudder and or skid plate mounts. Here is a pic of mine once upon a time but Pelicans spring design is genius.

_________________________

Top
#11373701 - 01/27/16 10:22 AM Re: Transducer mounting question [Re: shut-up-and-fish]
Todd™ Offline
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 01/21/11
Posts: 3359
Loc: On my kayak
If there is room to mount a gear track then you could use the swing arm method. Make sure if using Side Image that the transducer is below the kayak.



_________________________

http://www.mariner-kayaks.com/

Top
#11373772 - 01/27/16 10:48 AM Re: Transducer mounting question [Re: shut-up-and-fish]
Stripedguy Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 03/06/09
Posts: 1452
Loc: Melissa, TX
I use a Mad Frog Transducer Deployment Arm (TDA) I bought at Mariner Sails for the transducer. No plate, just the arm. I use a RAM 1.5" ball mount for the head. Works well. The XDCR and TDA stay on the boat, the head goes in the truck and it's a quick install at the ramp. I like the TDA because it allows me to pull the XDCR up easily and keep it out of harms way. Plus it's a little further forward on the yak vs. the rear mount.
_________________________
Jonah 4:2
I knew that You are a gracious and compassionate God, slow to anger and abundant in lovingkindness, and one who relents concerning calamity.

Top
#11373982 - 01/27/16 12:06 PM Re: Transducer mounting question [Re: shut-up-and-fish]
bert Online   content
Extreme Angler

Registered: 07/20/01
Posts: 2141
Loc: Garland, TX, USA
You can also do a scupper mount on it just make sure it is below the kayak enough to clear everything for SI. You can make your own with pvc caps and bar stock with some nuts and washers to fit.
_________________________
Bert

"Ipsa scientia potestas est"-Knowledge in itself is power - Sir Francis Bacon

"Beware the lolipop of mediocrity, one lick and you could suck forever" - unknown author

Top
#11382403 - 01/31/16 04:01 PM Re: Transducer mounting question [Re: shut-up-and-fish]
Nutrarat Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 03/26/11
Posts: 567
Loc: Tyler / Jasper
If you want an easy quick method, get you a piece of foam and cut it to fit your scupper hole. Cut a notch and slide the transducer in and drop it down. I drop it down when I use it and reach over and pull it up before I go to the bank. It doesn't leak and works great.




Top



© 1998-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide