Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Jlaffity5, JustinStokesOutdoors, Gary D Watters, Don Dison, loop
102736 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 82899
hopalong 74407
Pilothawk 73452
JDavis7873® 67377
FattyMcButterpants 60518
John175 ® 59935
Tritonman 56843
Derek 56448
SkeeterRonnie 52466
LoneStarSon® 52228
facebook
Forum Stats
102736 Members
61 Forums
859390 Topics
11274631 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Topic Options
#11363469 - 01/22/16 01:56 PM How to Spool braid on a spinning reel?
ftwfishing Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 10/15/15
Posts: 94
Loc: Fort Worth TX Eagle Mtn Lake
Picked up a new spinning reel. I have a mechanical spooling machine could you use that to spool braid or do you have to do it a certain way?
_________________________
Make America Great Again!
-crappie

Top
#11363518 - 01/22/16 02:18 PM Re: How to Spool braid on a spinning reel? [Re: ftwfishing]
Chris_K Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 01/14/15
Posts: 863
Loc: TX
Just make super sure that it's right or it will slip

Top
#11363527 - 01/22/16 02:22 PM Re: How to Spool braid on a spinning reel? [Re: ftwfishing]
JIM SR. Offline
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 09/25/06
Posts: 6141
Loc: NRH/Fork again ! GET THE NET
the knot at the spool has to be very tight, so the line will not free turn after you get it spooled.
There are several tricks that can be used, some wrap tape on the spool to give the knot something to hang on to.
Sports wrap for handles is ok, like you use for a tennis racket or a bat. I use a 3/4 inch double sided tape that
works good. jim

Top
#11364115 - 01/22/16 06:39 PM Re: How to Spool braid on a spinning reel? [Re: ftwfishing]
GROD Online   content
Pro Angler

Registered: 09/12/10
Posts: 777
Loc: Eagle Mountain
Spool it on really tight so it doesn't slip. I'll have to try the sports wrap myself, good idea.

Top
#11364168 - 01/22/16 07:11 PM Re: How to Spool braid on a spinning reel? [Re: ftwfishing]
1farmer Offline
Green Horn

Registered: 03/13/14
Posts: 2
Use 20 to 30 feet of mono , tie braid to this.

Top
#11364536 - 01/22/16 10:41 PM Re: How to Spool braid on a spinning reel? [Re: 1farmer]
Marooned Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 08/16/05
Posts: 1387
Loc: Fort Worth, Texas
Originally Posted By: 1farmer
Use 20 to 30 feet of mono , tie braid to this.

+1
_________________________
There is certainly something in angling that tends to produce a serenity of the mind - Washington Irving

Top
#11364707 - 01/23/16 04:07 AM Re: How to Spool braid on a spinning reel? [Re: ftwfishing]
Finesse Master Online   content
Pro Angler

Registered: 12/18/15
Posts: 693
Loc: Wichita Falls/DFW
I always put a Piece of duct tape and put it over the line when it makes contact to the spool and have never had a single problem ever with it since I started doing it that way!

Top
#11364826 - 01/23/16 08:01 AM Re: How to Spool braid on a spinning reel? [Re: ftwfishing]
Brad R Online   content
Pro Angler

Registered: 03/09/15
Posts: 792
Loc: Texas
This is not so important with braid but it is a good habit to form if you switch to fluorocarbon or monofilament: the line spool you are pulling line off of should come off the bottom, analogous to say and underhanded softball pitch; casting reels are the opposite and it should roll off the top like an overhand pitch. If your feed spool lies on its side, just make the mental adjustment to abide by this.

This puts the line on the reel with the same bias, if any, developed on the spool. Think of your garden hose here and its bias when you roll it up after use.

I don't use tape, I just use monofilament for a backer leaving enough room on my reel to then reel on way more braid than I'll ever cast out. Then, usually a short fluorocarbon leader.

If you are going to get "spooled" owing to the kind of fishing you do, I'd just use a bit more braid.

Brad


Edited by Brad R (01/23/16 08:03 AM)

Top
#11366352 - 01/24/16 07:28 AM Re: How to Spool braid on a spinning reel? [Re: Finesse Master]
redskeeter190 Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 05/02/09
Posts: 1401
Loc: Knoxville, TN
Originally Posted By: Finesse Master
I always put a Piece of duct tape and put it over the line when it makes contact to the spool and have never had a single problem ever with it since I started doing it that way!

I do this, too....but, wrap the tape completely around the spool a couple of times...then....tie the knot....then get a small piece of tape and tape the knot to the spool....the braided line will "dig" into the tape and prevent it from slipping..this technique has never failed me....

Top
#11372377 - 01/26/16 06:45 PM Re: How to Spool braid on a spinning reel? [Re: redskeeter190]
prospec1 Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 09/17/13
Posts: 31
I always back fill with some cheap mono about 1/3 of the way up the spool on all of my reels.

Top



© 1998-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide