Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Mason777, RealCamSmith, Ol' Swamp Badd, Redneckcrappiedude, Djbfishing
103981 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 84216
hopalong 75951
Pilothawk 74193
JDavis7873® 67380
John175 ® 62192
FattyMcButterpants 60645
Tritonman 57318
Derek 57168
SkeeterRonnie 52704
LoneStarSon® 52586
facebook
Forum Stats
103981 Members
61 Forums
833055 Topics
11901300 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Topic Options
#11333148 - 01/09/16 02:20 AM power cable question
Tx_ThumpAddict Online   content
Extreme Angler

Registered: 03/01/13
Posts: 1031
Loc: burleson
Im moving my elite 5 to the trolling motor since I upgraded my console unit and the power cable isnt long enough, what size wire am I supposed to use to connect the two? thanks in advance im a newby when it comes to installing.
_________________________


Top
#11333150 - 01/09/16 02:32 AM Re: power cable question [Re: Tx_ThumpAddict]
Flippin-Out Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 02/25/15
Posts: 1627
Loc: Magnolia, TX
I would prefer to see you use 14 gauge wire, but I usually think over-kill in that respect. By the numbers, given the low amperage, you should be able to use 16 gauge. I prefer 14 partly because it is more mechanically robust and therefore less likely to get damaged badly enough (by accident) to hurt anything. I assume you will run from the bow to the console to get power (where it should be on no less than 14 ga. I hope).

No matter what gauge wire is used, the greatest risk is the integrity of the splice and other connectors. Be sure you know what you are doing and seal it properly to protect from corrosion. The fuse should always be closest to the source of power, not closest to the unit. A fuse near the unit on the power cord leaves the added wire unprotected. A short circuit on that added wire (via chaff damage for instance) could potentially destroy the boat unless a fuse is also placed near the power source end of that wire. That fuse could be 5 amps; that way, the wire is protected, but no electronics unit you would likely use would ever blow it.

Top
#11333568 - 01/09/16 09:59 AM Re: power cable question [Re: Tx_ThumpAddict]
Gamblinman Online   content
Extreme Angler

Registered: 11/26/02
Posts: 2300
Loc: Yantis, TX
Be sure to use tinned, marine grade wire. It sure saves a lot of headaches years down the road due to corroded wires inside the sheath.
_________________________


Top



© 1998-2017 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide