Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
MoJoMorris, suhil has, Jr baiter, cjbles, catchemall911
106514 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 87120
hopalong 78812
Pilothawk 75776
JDavis7873® 67386
John175 ® 65885
FattyMcButterpants 60793
Derek 🐝 59021
Tritonman 57762
LoneStarSon® 53816
SkeeterRonnie 53123
facebook
Forum Stats
106514 Members
61 Forums
813904 Topics
10277133 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Topic Options
#11333148 - 01/09/16 02:20 AM power cable question
Tx_ThumpAddict Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 03/01/13
Posts: 1137
Loc: burleson
Im moving my elite 5 to the trolling motor since I upgraded my console unit and the power cable isnt long enough, what size wire am I supposed to use to connect the two? thanks in advance im a newby when it comes to installing.
_________________________


Top
#11333150 - 01/09/16 02:32 AM Re: power cable question [Re: Tx_ThumpAddict]
Flippin-Out Online   content
Extreme Angler

Registered: 02/25/15
Posts: 2072
Loc: Magnolia, TX
I would prefer to see you use 14 gauge wire, but I usually think over-kill in that respect. By the numbers, given the low amperage, you should be able to use 16 gauge. I prefer 14 partly because it is more mechanically robust and therefore less likely to get damaged badly enough (by accident) to hurt anything. I assume you will run from the bow to the console to get power (where it should be on no less than 14 ga. I hope).

No matter what gauge wire is used, the greatest risk is the integrity of the splice and other connectors. Be sure you know what you are doing and seal it properly to protect from corrosion. The fuse should always be closest to the source of power, not closest to the unit. A fuse near the unit on the power cord leaves the added wire unprotected. A short circuit on that added wire (via chaff damage for instance) could potentially destroy the boat unless a fuse is also placed near the power source end of that wire. That fuse could be 5 amps; that way, the wire is protected, but no electronics unit you would likely use would ever blow it.

Top
#11333568 - 01/09/16 09:59 AM Re: power cable question [Re: Tx_ThumpAddict]
Gamblinman Online   content
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 11/26/02
Posts: 3047
Loc: Yantis, TX
Be sure to use tinned, marine grade wire. It sure saves a lot of headaches years down the road due to corroded wires inside the sheath.
_________________________
Texas Crappie Posse

Top



© 1998-2017 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide