Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Mark Stanton, MJT, Bremondhighschoolfishingteam, ShawnV, Keepfishingweird
107737 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 88369
hopalong 78895
Pilothawk 76321
JDavis7873® 67390
John175® 67200
FattyMcButterpants 60846
Derek 🐝 60034
Tritonman 57951
LoneStarSon® 54314
SkeeterRonnie 53336
facebook
Forum Stats
107737 Members
60 Forums
857725 Topics
12231076 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Topic Options
#11333148 - 01/09/16 02:20 AM power cable question
DavisGuideService Online   content
Extreme Angler

Registered: 03/01/13
Posts: 1179
Loc: burleson
Im moving my elite 5 to the trolling motor since I upgraded my console unit and the power cable isnt long enough, what size wire am I supposed to use to connect the two? thanks in advance im a newby when it comes to installing.
_________________________
Davis Guide Service
www.DavisGuide.com
817-983-8750
James Davis

Top
#11333150 - 01/09/16 02:32 AM Re: power cable question [Re: DavisGuideService]
Flippin-Out Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 02/25/15
Posts: 2167
Loc: Magnolia, TX
I would prefer to see you use 14 gauge wire, but I usually think over-kill in that respect. By the numbers, given the low amperage, you should be able to use 16 gauge. I prefer 14 partly because it is more mechanically robust and therefore less likely to get damaged badly enough (by accident) to hurt anything. I assume you will run from the bow to the console to get power (where it should be on no less than 14 ga. I hope).

No matter what gauge wire is used, the greatest risk is the integrity of the splice and other connectors. Be sure you know what you are doing and seal it properly to protect from corrosion. The fuse should always be closest to the source of power, not closest to the unit. A fuse near the unit on the power cord leaves the added wire unprotected. A short circuit on that added wire (via chaff damage for instance) could potentially destroy the boat unless a fuse is also placed near the power source end of that wire. That fuse could be 5 amps; that way, the wire is protected, but no electronics unit you would likely use would ever blow it.

Top
#11333568 - 01/09/16 09:59 AM Re: power cable question [Re: DavisGuideService]
Gamblinman Offline
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 11/26/02
Posts: 3412
Loc: Yantis, TX
Be sure to use tinned, marine grade wire. It sure saves a lot of headaches years down the road due to corroded wires inside the sheath.

Top



© 1998-2018 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide