Print Thread
Hot Water Lakes - Questions #11332428 01/08/16 10:52 PM
T
tin man 55 Offline OP
Angler
OP Offline
Angler
T
OK, I'm a newbie for these hot water lakes (squaw creek, Monticello, Welsh, etc). I went to Welsh last weekend, and that's the only time I've been on a power plant lake. after reading a lot of good information on here, I have some questions that I'm sure some of you guys can answer:

1. when do the bass spawn? I'm guessing at the coldest part of the winter which would be late January and into February. I guess it would be when the water temp is at it's lowest?

2. why are there no really big bass in these lakes? I think someone said in a prior post that because of the extreme hot water in the summer, that the bass don't live long enough to get really big; but, if that's the case, then do you see a lot of big bass floating dead during the summer? what happens to them? I would think that, just like us, the bass tend to slow down when the water gets really cold (below 50) or really hot (above 95); but is the stress so bad that it kills them?

3. why are there so many 2.5 to 3.5 pound bass in welsh? that's all I caught in my one day, and that appears to be most of what everyone is catching based on posts in this forum and youtube videos. was there a tremendous spawn 2-3 years ago (like the one at fork this past spring)? was there a fish kill prior to that? anybody got a theory?

thanks for the info on these items; I'm trying to learn about these lakes, and this forum seems to have some very knowledgeable folks.

2014 Ranger RT-188
115 Mercury Pro-XS
Lowrance Gen-3 units
Ultrex
Moritz Chevrolet - 9101 Camp Bowie W Blvd, Fort Worth, TX - Monte Coon (817) 696-2003
Re: Hot Water Lakes - Questions [Re: tin man 55] #11332639 01/09/16 01:07 AM
K
Kyle405 Offline
Outdoorsman
Outdoorsman
K
There is big fish on squaw creek. I've never fished the other power lakes. But trust me, they are there on squaw.