60 Forums
854155 Topics
11203662 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Topic Options
#11329089 - 01/07/16 11:41 AM Lake Fork and Lake Welsh fishing report
John Tanner Lake Fork Guide Offline

Loc: Texas
Happy new year everyone. As I posted last month,I am going to post some fishing reports and keep everyone up to date on what the bite has been like for us as well as some of the patterns. Hopefully this will help you guys out this year.

I haven't spent much time on the TFF in the last few years so here we go.
For those of you who don't know me, allow me to introduce myself. I am a full time guide on Fork and other area lakes. I have been fishing Lake Fork since the early 80's. I look forward to what each new year brings here on Lake Fork. I am also a retired tournament professional. I have participated in several pro circuits and also on the local level when I was younger. I spent a good number of years fishing the Everstart Series, which is now the Rayovac. I also spent several years competing on the FLW Tour. Due to family obligations and going back to school at the ripe ole age of 50, I retired from the tourney scene. I attend classes on Monday ONLY at Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary and still able to guide 6 days a week, Tuesday through Saturday. Anyway, enough about me, let's talk about what has been happening on Fork and Welsh.

We have been dealing with high water due to all of the recent flooding. Both Fork and Welsh went up a few feet over full pool which made the fishing actually pretty good. Now the water has dropped back down to just about normal and the bite has gotten slower and has changed a bit as far as patterns. We are still catching some nice ones, just not having the numbers we were when the water was high.