Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Jlaffity5, JustinStokesOutdoors, Gary D Watters, Don Dison, loop
102736 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 82895
hopalong 74407
Pilothawk 73447
JDavis7873® 67377
FattyMcButterpants 60518
John175 ® 59930
Tritonman 56842
Derek 56447
SkeeterRonnie 52466
LoneStarSon® 52228
facebook
Forum Stats
102736 Members
61 Forums
859386 Topics
11274515 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#11325734 - 01/05/16 09:48 PM Navionics map not loading
LSM Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 07/29/15
Posts: 221
Navionics Plus for Helix 7

Per Navionics instructions for viewing maps while not on the water, I put the unit in simulation mode and installed chip. It indicates that it is downloading the chart, but then gives a message that there is no chart.
Please help.

Top
#11326377 - 01/06/16 09:51 AM Re: Navionics map not loading [Re: LSM]
wallyandre Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 11/18/15
Posts: 35
Do you have the new Navionics+ Canada & USA 16gig? or it's the older 2Gig card? If it's the 2 Gig you need to download the region you intend to fish.

Top
#11326397 - 01/06/16 09:58 AM Re: Navionics map not loading [Re: LSM]
LSM Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 07/29/15
Posts: 221
New 16G

Top
#11326465 - 01/06/16 10:34 AM Re: Navionics map not loading [Re: LSM]
wallyandre Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 11/18/15
Posts: 35
Accordingly to that compatibility doc. the Helix7 is suppose to read the 16Gig. I'm a Lowrance guy so I don't know if you have something special to do in the menu to choose Navionics. Try it without the simulator on my Lowrance I don't have to use the simulator mode to be able to see my card, add waypoints, create routes etc...

http://www.navionics.com/sites/default/files/documents/americas_compatibility_guide_jan16.pdf

Top
#11326763 - 01/06/16 12:40 PM Re: Navionics map not loading [Re: LSM]
Corey Stanley Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 10/26/09
Posts: 815
Loc: Tx
Do you have another unit to try the card on? Have you done anything with that card before inserting into unit?
_________________________
www.navionics.com

Top
#11326793 - 01/06/16 01:01 PM Re: Navionics map not loading [Re: Corey Stanley]
LSM Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 07/29/15
Posts: 221
Originally Posted By: Corey Stanley
Do you have another unit to try the card on? Have you done anything with that card before inserting into unit?


No other unit. I updated sonar for one lake before inserting card.

Top
#11327831 - 01/06/16 08:28 PM Re: Navionics map not loading [Re: LSM]
wallyandre Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 11/18/15
Posts: 35
You also need to register the card to be able to use it.

Top
#11328239 - 01/06/16 11:41 PM Re: Navionics map not loading [Re: wallyandre]
LSM Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 07/29/15
Posts: 221
Originally Posted By: wallyandre
You also need to register the card to be able to use it.


I did that too.

Top
#11328375 - 01/07/16 06:15 AM Re: Navionics map not loading [Re: LSM]
wallyandre Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 11/18/15
Posts: 35
Originally Posted By: LSM
Originally Posted By: Corey Stanley
Do you have another unit to try the card on? Have you done anything with that card before inserting into unit?


No other unit. I updated sonar for one lake before inserting card.


What do you mean by: I update sonar for one lake before inserting card?
Did you try it without silmulator mode?

Top
#11328534 - 01/07/16 08:07 AM Re: Navionics map not loading [Re: wallyandre]
LSM Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 07/29/15
Posts: 221
Originally Posted By: wallyandre
Originally Posted By: LSM
Originally Posted By: Corey Stanley
Do you have another unit to try the card on? Have you done anything with that card before inserting into unit?


No other unit. I updated sonar for one lake before inserting card.


What do you mean by: I update sonar for one lake before inserting card?
Did you try it without silmulator mode?


Preloaded chip must be updated to get Sonar view and you can highlight specific areas to update. I simply updated one lake. I initially tried it in regular operating mode. When it wouldn't recognize it, I searched for a solution and found the instructions for using the chip in simulator mode.

Top
#11328688 - 01/07/16 09:15 AM Re: Navionics map not loading [Re: LSM]
Wayne P. Offline
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 11/16/10
Posts: 3444
Loc: Charlottesville, Va
Originally Posted By: LSM
Originally Posted By: wallyandre
Originally Posted By: LSM
Originally Posted By: Corey Stanley
Do you have another unit to try the card on? Have you done anything with that card before inserting into unit?


No other unit. I updated sonar for one lake before inserting card.


What do you mean by: I update sonar for one lake before inserting card?
Did you try it without silmulator mode?


Preloaded chip must be updated to get Sonar view and you can highlight specific areas to update. I simply updated one lake. I initially tried it in regular operating mode. When it wouldn't recognize it, I searched for a solution and found the instructions for using the chip in simulator mode.


It's SONAR CHARTS that you add the extra map layer. You have to set the unit menu Chart Select to FishNChip to view the Sonar Charts map layer.


Edited by Wayne P. (01/07/16 09:16 AM)
_________________________
Humminbird Helix 12 CHIRP SI, 1198c SI, 1198c SI, ONIX 10 SI NT, Helix 7 CHIRP SI GPS G2, 360, RC-1

Top
#11328800 - 01/07/16 10:10 AM Re: Navionics map not loading [Re: LSM]
wallyandre Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 11/18/15
Posts: 35
Originally Posted By: LSM
Originally Posted By: wallyandre
Originally Posted By: LSM
Originally Posted By: Corey Stanley
Do you have another unit to try the card on? Have you done anything with that card before inserting into unit?


No other unit. I updated sonar for one lake before inserting card.


What do you mean by: I update sonar for one lake before inserting card?
Did you try it without silmulator mode?


Preloaded chip must be updated to get Sonar view and you can highlight specific areas to update. I simply updated one lake. I initially tried it in regular operating mode. When it wouldn't recognize it, I searched for a solution and found the instructions for using the chip in simulator mode.


I know that and to be able to see the sonarchart you need to choose: Fish nChip in you're Menu. On HB I don't where because I am a Lowrance user.

Top
#11328839 - 01/07/16 10:25 AM Re: Navionics map not loading [Re: Wayne P.]
LSM Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 07/29/15
Posts: 221
@ Wayne P.

Okay, "added", not "updated". Either way, that's what I did, along with selecting FishNChip....nothing.

Top
#11329016 - 01/07/16 11:09 AM Re: Navionics map not loading [Re: LSM]
Wayne P. Offline
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 11/16/10
Posts: 3444
Loc: Charlottesville, Va
Originally Posted By: LSM
@ Wayne P.

Okay, "added", not "updated". Either way, that's what I did, along with selecting FishNChip....nothing.


Did you have Nautical Charts and Sonar Charts checked for the download when you added the Sonar Charts map/s?

Check the files on the card. Nautical Charts is .nv2 and Sonar Charts is .nv3. See if every state and parts of states plus territories are listed. You will have to figure out the letter code for each coverage. Some are just states and some are like W or E of states.
_________________________
Humminbird Helix 12 CHIRP SI, 1198c SI, 1198c SI, ONIX 10 SI NT, Helix 7 CHIRP SI GPS G2, 360, RC-1

Top
#11329182 - 01/07/16 12:21 PM Re: Navionics map not loading [Re: LSM]
LSM Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 07/29/15
Posts: 221
It appears there was a software update for the Helix on 1/5, which I installed. All is good now.
Thanks Wayne and Wally.

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >



© 1998-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide