Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
RushtonGregory, Bulletman77, thereason11, Lady808, PReaux
102720 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 82868
hopalong 74393
Pilothawk 73431
JDavis7873® 67377
FattyMcButterpants 60518
John175 ® 59880
Tritonman 56824
Derek 56406
SkeeterRonnie 52453
LoneStarSon® 52223
facebook
Forum Stats
102720 Members
61 Forums
859066 Topics
11269753 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#11311787 - 12/30/15 09:39 AM GoPro Hero+ and HDS 12 GEN 3
Duck Hawkins Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 12/30/10
Posts: 233
Is there anyway to pair your GoPro with your HDS 12 or a cable hook up that will allow you to see underwater on your 12? My kids and Sweet Thang got me a GoPro for Christmas and I am on fire to use it! Look out in the future for "Duck Hawkins Outdoors". lol

Top
#11311832 - 12/30/15 10:04 AM Re: GoPro Hero+ and HDS 12 GEN 3 [Re: Duck Hawkins]
REick Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 06/24/14
Posts: 94
Loc: Lewisville, TX
http://www.cabelas.com/product/Lowrance-reg-HDS-Gen-Video-Adapter-Cable/1611727.uts

You use this between your power and the back of the unit. Then the Video in comes from the Go pro through a RCA video cord!

http://lowrance.com/Root/Lowrance-Documents/US/HDS_GEN2_TOUCH_IM_988-10317-002_w.pdf

Page 25 gives you the setup!

Hope this helps.
_________________________
Rich Eick

Top
#11312403 - 12/30/15 03:41 PM Re: GoPro Hero+ and HDS 12 GEN 3 [Re: Duck Hawkins]
BassBucknBeer Online   content
Angler

Registered: 08/24/13
Posts: 376
Loc: Rockwall,TX
I don't think this would work because there is no way to attach a cable to the gopro inside the waterproof case. Best you can do is record and review it later.

Top
#11312499 - 12/30/15 04:28 PM Re: GoPro Hero+ and HDS 12 GEN 3 [Re: Duck Hawkins]
BThomas Online   content
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 02/15/09
Posts: 7057
Loc: Rockwall,Tx
GoPro sells the housing's to allow cable connections.

Top
#11312818 - 12/30/15 06:49 PM Re: GoPro Hero+ and HDS 12 GEN 3 [Re: BThomas]
BassBucknBeer Online   content
Angler

Registered: 08/24/13
Posts: 376
Loc: Rockwall,TX
Originally Posted By: BThomas
GoPro sells the housing's to allow cable connections.

I haven't seen one that gopro sells that has a cable connection AND is waterproof.

There are 3rd party waterproof cases that are $280

Another this is to get a wifi extender, but that's $180.

If I'm wrong, heck show me, because I'd like one too.

Top
#11313191 - 12/30/15 09:12 PM Re: GoPro Hero+ and HDS 12 GEN 3 [Re: REick]
Duck Hawkins Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 12/30/10
Posts: 233
Thank you sir, but the GoPro does not have those connections. I can pair the GoPro with my Iphone (wifi), but the question is now whether the wifi will stay connected down in the water. Very good picture on the Iphone and I can control the camera. Thanks again.

Top
#11313197 - 12/30/15 09:14 PM Re: GoPro Hero+ and HDS 12 GEN 3 [Re: BassBucknBeer]
Duck Hawkins Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 12/30/10
Posts: 233
The big question is if the wifi will stay connected underwater to about 15'.

Top
#11313200 - 12/30/15 09:15 PM Re: GoPro Hero+ and HDS 12 GEN 3 [Re: Duck Hawkins]
John-Mark Offline
Angler

Registered: 04/13/13
Posts: 427
Loc: Kilgore Tx
This isn't an answer to your question.. but if you didn't already know just connect your go pro to your phone or iPad... view full screen and grab a mount and stick on inside of your console and bam have full use of your down or sidescan and a full screen on your iPad or any tablet...
just download the app and connect... works like a charm... and probably free if you have any type of tablet or smart phone...
the only downfall is that connected to wifi the go pro eats up batt... but a quick cheap extra batt purchase on amazon and you can solve that problem... i bought some off brand ones for a few bucks and have 9 hours of video recording time every time i go out...

hope this gives you another option that you may not have thought about... don't know of a way to connect the two ...
_________________________

Top
#11313231 - 12/30/15 09:25 PM Re: GoPro Hero+ and HDS 12 GEN 3 [Re: Duck Hawkins]
BassBucknBeer Online   content
Angler

Registered: 08/24/13
Posts: 376
Loc: Rockwall,TX
Originally Posted By: Duck Hawkins
The big question is if the wifi will stay connected underwater to about 15'.

The answer is NO. You will lose connection at about 1 ft down. I've tried it...

Top
#11313243 - 12/30/15 09:32 PM Re: GoPro Hero+ and HDS 12 GEN 3 [Re: John-Mark]
Duck Hawkins Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 12/30/10
Posts: 233
Sounds great John! I have the app on both, the Iphone and Ipad and it works great. I haven't tried underwater yet. Thanks

Top
#11313250 - 12/30/15 09:35 PM Re: GoPro Hero+ and HDS 12 GEN 3 [Re: Duck Hawkins]
Duck Hawkins Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 12/30/10
Posts: 233
Shoot!!!!!! I was wonder if the wifi will stay connected. Like the old school CB radio: I need a 100watt amp!!!!

Top
#11313277 - 12/30/15 09:47 PM Re: GoPro Hero+ and HDS 12 GEN 3 [Re: Duck Hawkins]
BassBucknBeer Online   content
Angler

Registered: 08/24/13
Posts: 376
Loc: Rockwall,TX
It's not to bad to just record for a couple of minutes and bring it back up to watch it on the ipad. You will enjoy seeing what's down there. I've seen some huge fish that won't bite. Funny thing is, the fish seem interested in the camera.
In pretty clear water you can see pretty good down 17-20ft as long as there is sunlight. Enjoy it

Top
#11313280 - 12/30/15 09:49 PM Re: GoPro Hero+ and HDS 12 GEN 3 [Re: Duck Hawkins]
ifeliciano Offline
Angler

Registered: 07/29/07
Posts: 415
Loc: Mansfield/Arlington, TX
The Hero+ is an "entry level" action camera and unfortunately does not have a video out connector (only a mini-usb). All these action cameras are made for quick point-and-shoot video recording. So having video cable connections does not seem like a "value added" feature.

As stated above, you will need to pair it via Wi-Fi or Bluetooth to an IOS or Android device to have an almost live action image. There is a slight amount of delay between the live motion and what is seen on the screen.

Also the wi-fi signal would be very attenuated under water.

This guy made a wire antenna, using RG174, for Wi-Fi (2.4Ghz) signal transmission between the GoPro and tablet - http://paulillsley.com/GoPro_Underwater_Wi-Fi_Cable_Setup/index.html


Edited by ifeliciano (12/30/15 09:52 PM)
_________________________

GO ARMY!

Top
#11313421 - 12/30/15 11:05 PM Re: GoPro Hero+ and HDS 12 GEN 3 [Re: Duck Hawkins]
Bass-N-Buck Master Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 02/16/13
Posts: 1961
Loc: Fort Worth, Texas
Originally Posted By: Duck Hawkins
The big question is if the wifi will stay connected underwater to about 15'.


I know Mark Pack made a underwater video illustrating his Mark Pack Structure Jig. Seems he filmed it in water less than 6-8' but may wanna check with him.

Top
#11313439 - 12/30/15 11:33 PM Re: GoPro Hero+ and HDS 12 GEN 3 [Re: Duck Hawkins]
John-Mark Offline
Angler

Registered: 04/13/13
Posts: 427
Loc: Kilgore Tx
Yes I'm sure it would loose connection at some point... but even still you can run the cam down take look for a minute or two in all directions and bring it to surface... connect then watch on iPad.... easy and free... I've done it.... like stated above a lot of bass are interested not even scared a bit .... i use it to look for cover and structure as much as anything... its cool to graph something then see it on camera...really helps you to interpret the graph images...then again I interpret 2d images for a living lol
_________________________

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >



© 1998-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide